Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy 的评价和反馈

4.4
639 个评分
175 条评论

课程概述

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

热门审阅

SR

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

DM

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

筛选依据:

51 - Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy 的 75 个评论(共 173 个)

创建者 Комаровская А С

Mar 22, 2017

Thank you so mush for providing such an interesting course on philosophy for free! The material was good!

创建者 Robert C C

Jul 30, 2019

Good course, though I think the instructors are rather condescending toward young earth creationism.

创建者 Peta A

Apr 04, 2019

Wonderful thank you, will definitely participate in the additional courses offered on this subject.

创建者 Rafael A T

Aug 10, 2017

Excelent course, all the topics are very interesting, great team of professors, congratulations.

创建者 Stacey M

Feb 25, 2018

Excellent material, very well presented and explained. Thoroughly interesting. Thank you so much.

创建者 Tapuwa L S

Feb 06, 2019

The course was very enlightening and now my understanding of the world has been aptly rectified

创建者 HELLEN D S S

Jul 09, 2020

Very good course! It inspired me and gave me tools to keep questioning life and the world.

创建者 Bruno P d C

May 12, 2020

Espetacular experiência e interdisciplinaridade para a Teologia e Ciências da Religião.

创建者 Antonia T B

Mar 16, 2020

Very interesting. Easy quizzes. Different points of view. I learnt a lot. Thanks a lot!

创建者 Rita d C A G O

Feb 19, 2017

Very interesting course. Help me increase my vocabulary and my power of argumentation.

创建者 Horacio M C

Mar 25, 2019

Excellent course I am waiting for the 2 courses that I need to complete the series.

创建者 Andrew M

Jan 22, 2018

A fantastic introduction, academically this had the right mix of depth and breadth.

创建者 Hugh H

Jun 02, 2017

I enjoyed this course. The content was excellent and lectures were well presented.

创建者 Diego A G U

Dec 14, 2019

I great learning with this course. Very clear content and very good teachers.

创建者 Mario B

Apr 28, 2020

Excellent course taught by an incredible team of top level professors.

创建者 Phillip C

Nov 22, 2017

Very informative, love the diverse and expansive approach to teaching.

创建者 Denis N F J

Jun 28, 2017

Great course! Really helps for a different perspective on the subject!

创建者 Sun Y K

Feb 14, 2017

Very good introduction to the popular debate on science and religion.

创建者 Leonidas T

Sep 11, 2017

New knowledge, new optic, new field of thinking. Very good course.

创建者 Álvaro M d M

Mar 24, 2020

It was my first course in coursera and now I want to do more :)

创建者 KABI C K

Feb 26, 2018

Totally worth it to lean about this course, highly recommended.

创建者 Dmitriy S

Jan 24, 2019

Great course showing modern branches of philosophy of science.

创建者 juana

May 02, 2017

Awesome course learned a lot from the videos and quizzes!!!

创建者 Jorge

Aug 11, 2020

Congratulations. Excellent course. Well done

Thanks a lot

创建者 Leonardo A

Jul 28, 2017

Es un excelente curso, muy bien explicado e interesante.