Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy 的评价和反馈

4.5
763 个评分
210 条评论

课程概述

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

热门审阅

SR
Nov 13, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

RR
May 13, 2017

Fine course, nice references for further reading, clear and nice instructors. Only two where a little odd: Statis Psillos, talking too fast, and Conor Cunningham, a bit too theatrical.

筛选依据:

151 - Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy 的 175 个评论(共 207 个)

创建者 Ivor C

Sep 8, 2017

A good gereral overview of the current areas of discussion and argument. I felt that the need to provide 'balance' gave too much importance to religious ideas but I had to confront my own bias more that I expected.

创建者 Joe M

Feb 23, 2017

Overall, the content was excellent. However, week 4 taught by Professor Conor Cunningham was rambling at best and made very little sense. The readings for week 4 were the only informative part.

创建者 akhil t

Aug 12, 2019

I expected that his course would deal with current role of religion and philosophy in this scientific world. Well, the course was strayed from my expectation but still was very erudite one

创建者 Sidney C

Jun 12, 2017

I do think it was very interesting and informative. I gave it four out of five stars, only because it could evolve given some time and improve somewhat. I have suggested it to others.

创建者 Park Y

Oct 20, 2017

I think this lecture was really good. I can get basic knowledge related to science and religion, and furthermore, I could learn about the perspective related to soical science

创建者 Mariano C

Jan 27, 2019

Great initial course to get a more profound insight on the subjects taken into account. Excellent explanation from all the teachers involved in each week's topic!

创建者 Valéry B

Mar 3, 2020

Really great. The last part about religion is a bit confusing - not so sure why this priest it talking about evolution. But otherwise really great. Thanks!

创建者 Daniel J M

Jan 16, 2018

I found some of the lecturers' hard to understand do to language accents. However, being able to follow along with the printed form solved any problems.

创建者 Nathan B

Apr 12, 2017

Very interesting course. I certainly learnt a lot about science and philosophy, especially relating it to religion, and the history behind each domain.

创建者 Claudio C

Nov 7, 2020

It is necessary to improve the subtitles. It seems to me that they are not correct in some situations.

Thank you!

创建者 Victor B

May 24, 2020

This course provides an interesting overview of the field. Serves very well as an introduction to the field.

创建者 Susan H

Feb 22, 2017

Have really enjoyed this course, very informative and fascinating. Opened my mind to many different ideas.

创建者 Roselle E O

Oct 30, 2020

Could have been fun to learn with more visual aids like video or animations.

创建者 Sergio S

Dec 5, 2020

Sometimes the lecture material were vague, but I really liked this course

创建者 Swen L

May 3, 2017

Interesting introduction with a good list of further reading material.

创建者 Hongfei C

Jul 10, 2017

It's a good foundation for further study in this area but just to

创建者 Lavinia W

Aug 1, 2017

Good critical overview of science, philosophy and religion

创建者 Stephen F

May 30, 2020

Good course, but only covered a small subset of topics.

创建者 Harvey B

Nov 19, 2018

Interesting and varied, if slightly basic at times.

创建者 Christopher W

Jun 10, 2018

A thought-provoking and informative course.

创建者 Keith P

Jul 10, 2019

Very enjoyable course! Highly recommended!

创建者 Aaron F A C

Apr 11, 2018

Very good. It was awesome, I learnt a lot.

创建者 A L G

Aug 13, 2020

It was an enlightening course, Thank you

创建者 kiran D

Jun 6, 2020

excellent.

创建者 Nikhil R

Mar 5, 2017

Week 1 of the course seemed very interesting. A lot of interesting questions were raised - enough to lead me to view the course in a rather positive light. As I progressed through the course however, I noticed that some rather contentious claims were made to seem to have more credibility than they in fact do. Take for example something that was said in week 4, lesson 3. It was insinuated that Lamarckism plays a significant role in evolutionary biology, something that is widely questioned by eminent specialists in evolutionary biology (for ex. Jerry Coyne).

Furthermore, it sometimes seemed that rather than presenting the facts for the learners to judge, the lecturers were presenting their own views (this was especially the case in week 4).

This course is being funded by Templeton Foundation, an organization that promotes religious apologetics. It seems that rather than presenting facts as they are, the course is disseminating material deeply influenced by a religious agenda.