Chevron Left
返回到 哲学导论

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 哲学导论 的评价和反馈

4.7
8,352 个评分
1,943 条评论

课程概述

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

热门审阅

LT

Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 7, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

筛选依据:

351 - 哲学导论 的 375 个评论(共 1,943 个)

创建者 Pushpaja V

May 3, 2020

I am able to understand the content and whenever i am in doubt, I can refer to the videos that have the further discussion, so as to better grasp and comprehend the doubts that I have.

创建者 Anna Z

Jun 5, 2022

The course is a great introduction to various philosophical topics. The instructors are well informed and present an overview of the topics in a thoughtful and easy to understand way.

创建者 Shreyas K

Dec 28, 2020

This course gave me a nice basic introduction to what it is that these smart guys always talk about. I'll dig in more later on and do some thinking on these topics in my leisure time.

创建者 Walter A R M

Sep 27, 2020

I love this course, in specially about the moral, obey the law -is a obligation?-, several themes of epistemology and themes stranger like the logic of travel time. EXCELLENTE COURSE!

创建者 18BVC131_ N R

Aug 6, 2020

This philosophy course is very useful for my life beyond my career.There has been a beautiful understanding of life.Many important moments in life are very useful for decision making.

创建者 Conor M

Jan 2, 2022

A great course. Enjoyable, illuminating and educationally rewarding. Presented by talented, engaging and informed educators who transmitted their expertise and enthusiasm brilliantly

创建者 Recep E

Sep 5, 2015

A real philosophy course in the sense that it prompts you to do philosophy (along with the help of the history of philosophy) rather then just teaching you the history of philosophy.

创建者 Atul J

Aug 24, 2015

A wonderful course that makes you understand what it means to think. Provides you with new perspective altogether of looking at things in the world. I'm absolutely loving the course.

创建者 Samson B

Jun 15, 2019

Course was excellent, because of the skilled lecturers I quit animation school and I went on to further study. I am now almost finished double Ba degrees in Philosophy and Theology.

创建者 Tay J

Dec 7, 2016

It is a short course that covers fewer topics than what you would expect in a normal offline freshman philosophy course. However, the content is very interesting and well-organized.

创建者 Vicente G W

Oct 23, 2016

Tem sido muito instrutivo para mim, apesar de ser um conhecimento já estudado em sala de aula no ensino médio, é um excelente compilamento e instrução para novas pessoas no assunto.

创建者 Mamdouh M

Oct 17, 2021

Very helpful to get you starting with philosophy, start questioning things and thinking about how things are and what they are. Get a grip of the life and science around us so far

创建者 PAVITHRA H K

Aug 23, 2020

Highly Recommended course if you are new to philosophy but have interest in it. The simplicity and ease of learning is definitely encouraging, happy to have done this course! :)

创建者 Maxim T

Jul 14, 2020

I very much liked this course because it opened a whole possibility of critical thinking of fundamental principles which govern our understanding of the natural world and society.

创建者 Epshita J

Dec 1, 2016

The course was really interesting. The modules were taught by different professors. They were all very engaging. And I specially liked Professor Michela Massimi and Dr. Dave Ward.

创建者 Hamidreza F

Apr 6, 2020

Absolutely mesmerizing review of philosophy, with topics ranging from Free Will and Moral Philosophy to Time Travel! Recommended for everyone who want to know more about knowing.

创建者 Theo D

Jul 27, 2017

Good range of topics; appropriate level of difficulty and well structured and delivered. Gave a broad introduction, but also showed ways in which learning could be taken further.

创建者 x

Jan 16, 2016

Very interesting class with very competence professional!

Was a honor learn introduction to Philosophy offer by the university of Edinburg, see u guys in next courses!

Edvim Borges

创建者 Lian S

Sep 11, 2020

I like how the course divides different components in such a way that we will be able to understand topic by topic, bit by bit. The lecturers are great in delivering the course.

创建者 Harsh

Jun 17, 2021

Everyone should try it ! I can guarantee two things - 1. It will make your life easier 2. You will learn how to think out of the world ( box would have been an understatement).

创建者 J S

Aug 21, 2020

El curso describe una introducción a temas de gran importancia para la filosofía como lo es la filosofía de la mente, la filosofía del lenguaje, filosofía política entre otros.

创建者 Daniel N

Dec 18, 2018

The course is well designed to give a brief splash of topics related to philosophy. I enjoyed the system and all the professors were great and tried to be as clear as possible.

创建者 Guillermo R

Oct 31, 2018

Awesome introduction to philosophy and it's major concepts. Very thorough with great examples and a plethora of additional resources for further inquiry and study is provided.

创建者 Pankaj A D

Oct 6, 2016

This is absolutely fantastic course. Thank you very much for offering it! The course content is very good and there pointers to enormous amount of very enlightening literature!

创建者 Nayottama P S

Jul 30, 2020

This is an amazing course to gives general knowledge about philosophy and what they do in this subject. This course also allows me to grow an appetite for learning philosophy.