Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,371 个评分
407 条评论

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV
Dec 12, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A
Mar 3, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

筛选依据:

51 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 75 个评论(共 403 个)

创建者 Freyja M

May 1, 2020

Doctor Chamovitz makes learning about the sensory functions of plants entertaining and informative. I felt engaged in the material throughout the entirety of the course videos and supplemental reading. I highly suggest anyone who is seriously interested in this course also acquire the text book to read into the materials even further.

创建者 Paul H

Sep 4, 2017

Interesting and thought provoking with lots of nice examples of experiments that reveal what we currently know about plant senses and why we know what we do.Subject of course to future revision in the light of new knowledge and further experimental evidence. "What a plant Knows" also explores the nature of scientific investigation

创建者 Binh A T

Jan 18, 2021

I knew very very little about plants before taking this course. I didn't even know how to properly care for an African violet indoor plant. The course has given me a lot of knowledge about plant biology. I have since become very respectful of plants and will use the acquired knowledge to tender to the plants in my garden.

创建者 Patrick D

Oct 24, 2016

This course provided insight into the basic function of a critical part of the world--plants--and gave me a deeper understanding of and a new outlook on this fascinating form of life. Prof. Chamovitz is engaging and entertaining, and his excitement and fascination for the field is contagious. Thanks for the great class.

创建者 Akhil M

Aug 23, 2018

Was very good. Liked how he whole teaching was rooted in experimental observations. The book that was suggested reading, also by the same instructor, was very helpful. It has really changed the way I look t the plants in my garden, and I hope I get to learn and research more on this topic in the future! Thanks a lot!

创建者 SOUMYA S

May 2, 2020

I’m just 14 years old and could complete this course Which is a big achievement for me . I want to be an astrobiologist in future and this course has inculcated a fresh wave of interest in me about plant biology.I would like to thank Prof Daniel for a fantastic deliberation . Really enjoyed it sir ...... Thank You!!

创建者 EVGENIYA V L

Jan 4, 2021

Professor Daniel Chamovitz, thank you for such an engaging learning experience. Botany will never be the same for me. I always was so distant from knowing anything enough about plants (as a bioengineer and bioinformatician I felt I have to). It was a pure pleasure to be your student. Looking forward, Evgeniya Lokes

创建者 Montserrat L

May 23, 2020

I had not study any biology related since secondary school, but I had always wanted to do some sort of study in botany, this course was great for me. The material is not too hard, specific enough and definitely will give you a new perspective and deeper understanding of plants and the magnificent beings they are.

创建者 Oriama S O

Sep 3, 2018

This course gives a better understanding of plants and gives me an idea of the research questions and type of information/data i might be looking for in an experiment. It gives me an understanding that cuts across both agricultural and biological disciplines and this will greatly impact my career. Thank you

创建者 Neeraj J

Aug 17, 2019

It was a wonderful experience learning from such a fine teacher & expert when time, money and distance do not permit to pursue your dream of Learning. every lecture was so informative, elaborately explained and to the mark. We are lucky to be students of such teachers. Thanks, Coursera to let this happen

创建者 Chantelle B

Jul 12, 2019

A good introduction to the basic senses of plants. This course broadens understanding of plants so that they aren't just seen as unsensing machines but are dynamic and adaptable, aware of and responding to changes in their environments. I recommend reading the book to get the most out of the course.

创建者 Olga C

Apr 4, 2018

Not only was the course informative, in depth and well-structured, it was excellently and eloquently presented, keeping my interest piqued at all times. I really had a great time attending and hugely appreciate all the effort that has been put to creating this. Congratulations and gratitude.

创建者 Juan A P A

Aug 28, 2020

This course was amazing. Dr. Chamovitz is such a great professor and the topics of this course were easy to follow. I loved the genetic approach given in this course about plants and the relation to some genes found in humans. The final exam is a bit long but taking the course is worth it.

创建者 Julie A P

Jun 2, 2017

I can only recommend this course! It is truly inspiring and informative - also for those, like me, who don't have a background in natural sciences. The professor is an efficient communicator and very engaging. I'm very grateful for having this wonderful world of the plants unfurled for me.

创建者 jean m

Sep 28, 2020

I was very pleased with this course. The instructor was engaged, informative and tailored his lectures to his audience and used lots of visuals. The multiple choice could be challenging at times but it was a good refresher on how to take tests - plus - the subject matter was interesting.

创建者 Catherine O

Nov 28, 2020

Fantastic course that's both challenging and informative! Dr. Chamovitz is outstanding in his video lectures and has a terrific sense of humor! I particularly enjoyed learning how much in common we, human animals, have with plants, and how important our plants are to our survival!

创建者 Isha S C

Aug 11, 2020

Thank You sir for giving us the wonderful e-learning experience. You have been amazing in terms of clarity of concept ,very engaging and enthusiastic . Thank you for making biology more interesting . This course will surly help me to explore more .

Respect and Regards from India

创建者 Fabián L

Nov 24, 2020

Now I understand better what the plant perceives, and I value its complexity even more. I am very grateful to them for this masterful and wonderful course. I am very anxious to begin the second part of your teaching Professor Daniel Ch. Greetings from South America. Ecuador!

创建者 Kit K

Jun 20, 2017

The instructor is enthusiastic, entertaining, and does an excellent job of structuring the lectures to include interesting experiments, big-picture overview, and enough detail to dig deeper. The quizzes supported my learning well, too. Would highly recommend this course.

创建者 Serhii S

Sep 21, 2017

Daniel Chamovitz is a great lecturer and the course is very interesting! I would recommend it for everyone: for mature persons - to better understand their plants, for youth - to wake up interest in botany (especially if school program is boring as it was at my school).

创建者 Melissa S

Sep 24, 2020

As a liberal arts person with almost no science knowledge, I found this course to be sometimes challenging, almost always interesting, and ultimately rewarding. Very well paced and structured. Packed with more info than the usual free online course. Would recommend!

创建者 Mohamed F F

Jul 3, 2018

Professor Daniel Chamovitz! Hewww..... This course is like a roller coaster in knowledge about plants. Everything is crisp and clear; gives an amazing learning experience. And with a special regard to Prof. Daniel, HE IS ABSOLUTELY NAILING THE TEACHING SKILLS!!!!!!!

创建者 Yan J

Oct 20, 2019

The class content is interesting and illuminating; the organization of the site is extremely well-thought through and helpful for learning! They deliver to you the right supplementary material at the right time. The best organization I've seen for online courses.

创建者 Duncan C

Jun 22, 2019

This course was absolutely wonderful and helped me remember how much I absolutely love plants and how they work. The professor was wonderful, very charismatic, and the lessons were an absolute joy to watch and engage in. I would absolutely recommend this course!

创建者 clairewing

Mar 23, 2020

Excellent opportunity to learn while being sequestered in home during COVID crisis. Thanks for this class!

Great it was free as well! Book dovetailed well with videos, which were a good length, succinct. Loved the bloopers and seeing the lab at the end. More!