Chevron Left
返回到 Roman Art and Archaeology

学生对 亚利桑那大学 提供的 Roman Art and Archaeology 的评价和反馈

4.7
stars
341 个评分
102 条评论

课程概述

The objective of this course is to provide an overview of the culture of ancient Rome beginning about 1000 BCE and ending with the so-called "Fall of Rome". We will look at some of the key people who played a role in Rome, from the time of the kings through the Roman Republic and the Roman Empire. We will also focus on the city of Rome itself, as well as Rome's expansion through Italy, the Mediterranean, and beyond....

热门审阅

VJ

Jul 06, 2016

To me, it is the best structured course so far. Quiz after every lesson and written assignment after every week. Also, prof. Soren is reproducing it steadily and in comprehending fashion.

RB

Feb 06, 2017

Very well structured course. interesting topics, good pace, nice video's, interesting guest lectures and not too easy test question made this an interesting learning experience.

筛选依据:

76 - Roman Art and Archaeology 的 98 个评论(共 98 个)

创建者 Sami L

Dec 27, 2016

What's best in this course: the assignments. Requiring a short few paragraph essay answers to a few questions at the end of each week is so much better than just relying on multiple choice questionnaires. This encourages participants to do a little bit more, at least glimpse through a few relevant Wikipedia articles.

Of course there is plenty of multiple choice questionnaires and videos as well. Some of the videos are a bit dated, but that makes them even more interesting as an archaeological evidence. Besides, the subject matter isn't moving forward very fast, though new research reveals new things at a slow yet constant pace.

创建者 Janis F

Aug 09, 2016

I enjoyed the course. Lots of Roman history included. Lots of interesting videos from other experts in a particular area of study. But, I will never again take an on-line course with essay questions graded by other students. Out of frustration, I experimented by looking at the answers before taking the test so I knew I should have gotten a perfect score & still didn't get passing marks from my fellow students. I started just skipping them. Remove the essay questions & I would give this course 5 stars.

创建者 Jeffrey M

Nov 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed learning more about ancient Rome. The lectures are a great overview of the history of Rome with great insight from the archaeology. I'm an architect and I really appreciated the connection between architecture and the culture of Rome. I didn't realize how much of a Archaeology rockstar Dr. Soren was until I watched the BBC documentary! Thanks to the leaders of the course and Lana.

创建者 Anil R

Feb 26, 2019

Solid course for those interested in Roman History. A little meandering at times with tangential diversions into stuff like Marine Archaeology and even studying history through Tree aging but interesting and well paced most of the time.

创建者 William M

Sep 14, 2017

This MOOC is much more than the course title suggests. It is a history of Rome from its beginning to its end. It's a good and clear introduction to Roman history. The lectures are very interesting and the assignments helpful.

创建者 Emily W

Aug 16, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Especially enjoyed the numerous guest interviews that covered many different areas of the Classics field. The addition of the professor's dog was a little odd.

创建者 Corinne S

Mar 25, 2016

I loved this class but the only reason I have to give it four stars is the over amount of peer review assignments that are extensive. Otherwise it's great but be prepared to work :)

创建者 kouassi n c

Sep 02, 2017

I am happy this course allowed me to know better this empire the only catch is that there is no transcrption for francophones otherwise there is nothing wrong

创建者 Francine

May 27, 2016

A very interesting and entertaining course!

However, the dog could have been left out . . . .

创建者 Kelly P W

Feb 29, 2016

Just started today and have already learned a lot!!! Looking forward to next weeks lesson!!!

创建者 Joy S

Jul 20, 2017

Good info, nice professor. Has peer review, which I hate and won't do

创建者 Shannon B

Aug 08, 2017

Loved this class. I'm a big history person and take any class I can.

创建者 Jp C

Oct 21, 2016

Pretty good class.

Dude, lose the dog, it's not cute, it's creepy.

创建者 Marisha W

Aug 15, 2016

Interesting and well presented. I enjoyed it very much!

创建者 Andrew C

Apr 27, 2016

Good content, but odd mashing of video presentations. B

创建者 David F

Sep 26, 2016

Interesting content. Engaging instructor.

创建者 Leticia L

Jun 12, 2017

great, interesting and complete course

创建者 miguel a g a

Oct 11, 2016

Quite a good resource

创建者 Ygor K B

Feb 19, 2019

good

创建者 Marta C B

Jun 06, 2016

I didn't find the speaker very engaging. And his habit of bringing the dog into the classes was supremely bizarre.

创建者 Jan K

Jul 20, 2017

Very disappointed with this course. Answers to quizzes are wrong, and although students reported this months ago, no corrections have been made.

Professor is on camera much more than necessary and many of the images provided are not the best. Significant errors-- e.g. professor says that the Roman colosseum seated 20,000 while most scholars put the number closer to 50,000. His dog gets more air time than the Pantheon. He shows clips from fictional films such as Gladiator that have only marginal relation to the course.

Very little about archaeology is presented-- although the underwater segment and the one on trees were good. But no mention of aerial surveillance or ground penetrating radar. Barely anything about the traditional "dig."

This course needs a major overhaul. Much better Coursera course is Roman Architecture by Prof. Diana Kleiner from Yale. It's harder. But so much better.

创建者 Wendi S

Jul 29, 2017

For a course on art and archaeology, there seemed to be little shown. More time was spent with Dr. Soren sitting behind a desk or standing at an empty site, usually reading off the teleprompter. This course lends itself to a lot of visuals, yet that part of the course was very skimpy. And why the old movie trailers? Why did we see a whole video on Troy? This isn't even Roman, beyond the fact that several emperors likened themselves to Alexander and some Hellenistic art influence. That's not what the video referenced. Again, it was just about the discovery of Troy, historical, with no attempt to make it relevant to the course itself. I know some historical background is needed to keep the work in context, but this was more of a history class than an art-based one. And as much as I love dogs, was that really necessary? Trying to be funny or cute didn't work.

创建者 Elizaveta A

Mar 14, 2017

Very superficial and inconclusive.

The course professor focuses more on himself than on the material.