Chevron Left
返回到 Roman Art and Archaeology

学生对 亚利桑那大学 提供的 Roman Art and Archaeology 的评价和反馈

4.7
523 个评分
181 条评论

课程概述

The objective of this course is to provide an overview of the culture of ancient Rome beginning about 1000 BCE and ending with the so-called "Fall of Rome". We will look at some of the key people who played a role in Rome, from the time of the kings through the Roman Republic and the Roman Empire. We will also focus on the city of Rome itself, as well as Rome's expansion through Italy, the Mediterranean, and beyond....

热门审阅

LL
Apr 12, 2021

I learned a lot about Ancient Rome. The instructor was interesting and down to earth, and I really appreciated that he spelled out unfamiliar terms. I especially liked Lana, the canine assistant.

VJ
Jul 5, 2016

To me, it is the best structured course so far. Quiz after every lesson and written assignment after every week. Also, prof. Soren is reproducing it steadily and in comprehending fashion.

筛选依据:

126 - Roman Art and Archaeology 的 150 个评论(共 177 个)

创建者 Megan C

Jul 5, 2018

super engaging videos!

创建者 Ana S

May 31, 2016

Great course, superb!

创建者 Qie C

Aug 13, 2017

Wonderful experience

创建者 Francisco L

Feb 9, 2019

Un genial profesor.

创建者 Cheryl W

Apr 12, 2017

I Loved this class.

创建者 francisco v r

Sep 6, 2020

VERY COMPLETE

创建者 IGOR B M

Jul 14, 2020

Amei o curso!

创建者 TIFFANY O M B / / J / V / H N / V / T / B

Jul 19, 2020

TAi chi jedi

创建者 Laura H M

Mar 5, 2017

Excellent!!!

创建者 Bart S

Mar 18, 2016

outstanding

创建者 Carlos H

Aug 12, 2020

Thank You!

创建者 Susi A R

Apr 16, 2019

fantastic

创建者 Bugrin R

May 21, 2016

Perfect!

创建者 Asal A

Sep 11, 2020

Super!

创建者 BOUTI C

Sep 2, 2020

good

创建者 Rachel A

Jan 9, 2017

I

创建者 John

May 21, 2016

Q

创建者 georgina h b

Mar 30, 2016

W

创建者 Marie-Pierre B

Oct 16, 2017

The course is an introduction to Roman art but also to Roman history. It is good but I found it sometimes a bit disappointing. Most videos of the professor are very short and we spend more time with the dog Lana than with some monuments... The guests are very interesting, especially on dendrochronology, but why a whole long subject on the archaeology of Troy ? very interesting by the way, but a little far from the main subject even if Aeneas (from Troy) is supposed to be the ancestor of one of the main Roman family.

On the Mooc aspect, I liked the alternance of quizzes and peer assessment with 3 questions (not to difficult for people whose mother language isn't English).

创建者 Sami L

Dec 27, 2016

What's best in this course: the assignments. Requiring a short few paragraph essay answers to a few questions at the end of each week is so much better than just relying on multiple choice questionnaires. This encourages participants to do a little bit more, at least glimpse through a few relevant Wikipedia articles.

Of course there is plenty of multiple choice questionnaires and videos as well. Some of the videos are a bit dated, but that makes them even more interesting as an archaeological evidence. Besides, the subject matter isn't moving forward very fast, though new research reveals new things at a slow yet constant pace.

创建者 Janis F

Aug 9, 2016

I enjoyed the course. Lots of Roman history included. Lots of interesting videos from other experts in a particular area of study. But, I will never again take an on-line course with essay questions graded by other students. Out of frustration, I experimented by looking at the answers before taking the test so I knew I should have gotten a perfect score & still didn't get passing marks from my fellow students. I started just skipping them. Remove the essay questions & I would give this course 5 stars.

创建者 Jeffrey M

Nov 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed learning more about ancient Rome. The lectures are a great overview of the history of Rome with great insight from the archaeology. I'm an architect and I really appreciated the connection between architecture and the culture of Rome. I didn't realize how much of a Archaeology rockstar Dr. Soren was until I watched the BBC documentary! Thanks to the leaders of the course and Lana.

创建者 Yanisa L

Apr 21, 2020

If you want to know about history, art and archaeology of Roman from the beginning till the end, this course is suit for you. There will be one peer-graded assignment per week since week 2, so if you don't like writing essay maybe it would be difficult. And professor's accent is very easy to understand.

创建者 Alan G

Nov 22, 2020

I would have given this 5 but the transcripts for the lectures were fairly poor, I wonder why there is no spell or sense check on them?

Good course given a history of Rome from it's beginning to the decline and end of the Empire.

Not sure I was over impressed with the appearances of the dog though!

创建者 Cameron C

Jul 29, 2020

It was an excellent broad overview of Rome. If you're looking for a brief, light history of Rome and its art and archaeology, I recommend this course. Don't expect anything too advanced, but instead an interesting horizontal perspective.