Chevron Left
返回到 Databases and SQL for Data Science

学生对 IBM 提供的 Databases and SQL for Data Science 的评价和反馈

4.7
12,162 个评分
1,380 条评论

课程概述

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

热门审阅

BS

May 21, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA

Apr 23, 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

筛选依据:

26 - Databases and SQL for Data Science 的 50 个评论(共 1,360 个)

创建者 Tanveer J

Jun 06, 2019

Worth all the effort..! Great coursework if you're willing to spend some time to understand DB2 infrastructure,creating Db2 database on IBM Cloud, compose and execute SQL queries, and access a database from Python based Jupyter notebooks. Key takeaways from the course : - Creating databases on IBM Cloud - Troubleshooting basic loading errors - Working closely on creating tables on real time IBM DB2 instances - Connecting to db instances using python and perform basic data summarization - Performing data loading through RestAPI's

创建者 Bernhard M

Apr 03, 2019

Using days to find solutions, which are not presented in the course but necessary to get along.

创建者 Siddhartha S P

Oct 14, 2019

Course is not that informative and it seems in a hurry to complete topics .

创建者 George M

Sep 01, 2019

too fast and confusing.

创建者 Hsin-Yi L

Jan 22, 2019

Highly recommended. I was a newbie for mySQL and this course offers a good entry point and insights for database and SQL. The final assignment could be somehow challenging for people without programming experience, but the discussion forum is active and the course instructor Rav is very attentive, responding to questions in the forum. I solved some problems just base on the search funtion in the forum. This is the best course I learned with coursera so far!

创建者 badal s

May 21, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

创建者 Asif A

May 30, 2020

It's my first course at Coursera and it's quite good. By this course now I'm able to partially working as data analyst soon to be working as full-time analyst.I'm very thankful to the instructor.

创建者 Hikkaduwa L M P V

Apr 09, 2020

So far in my journey through the IBM Data Science Professional certificate, this course is the best as it contains more practical lab questions after the lectures.

创建者 Laxmi Y

Jul 19, 2019

it is a great course for beginners who wants to have an understanding of Database concepts and hands on experience as well

创建者 Juan A

Mar 25, 2019

Amazing. The difficult in the SQL is very good to make you think in real life problems.

创建者 Ruhul A

Apr 10, 2020

its a must skill for everyone into data science field

创建者 Cee G B

Jan 27, 2020

Videos were good length but automated voice-over, learned SQL in the context of their proprietary Db2 database. To their credit, the lectures were fairly short but contained enough information to take notes and learn SQL, and I finished the course in a short period of time. They don't babble which is nice.

创建者 Duy N

Jul 01, 2018

The course is very helpful and easy to understand. The reason I only gave it 4 stars is because learners had to deal with many technical issues which were not relevant to the study, while doing labs and assignment. The upside is I guess it is part of shaping the right learning attitude. Many thanks!

创建者 Rahi J

Oct 19, 2020

Was very comfortable in first two weeks, third week is when advance topic was introduced and I couldn't grasp it. I think this course should've continued concentrating on SQL, as the topics and functions are vast for SQL.

创建者 Thanakrit P

Jul 20, 2018

Good course with practical exercise, however some problem on lab exercise connection

创建者 pranav v

May 29, 2019

please give details on how to connect database with notebook

创建者 Ahmed A

Oct 08, 2020

I'm taking it as part of the IBM Data Science professional certificate. Course is OK for an introducion to SQL, although I thought there was too much emphasis on IBM DB2 and nothing else. Would have liked them to show us how to use another API, or how to interface with open source databases like MySQL or PostgreSQL.

I have experience in programming and debugging and therefore did not find this to bother me, but the lack of guidance on how to install missing packages or troubleshoot connexions can be really frustrating for inexperienced people. It's best you do all the assignments in an IBM environment or else you will find yourself troubleshooting for hours on end.

Getting the cvs's for the final assessment was a pain because the links to them were broken! had to search through the forums to find alternative links, which points to a lack to reactivity from the guys in not updating their course material.

That being said I learnt quite a lot from this course, more python and other databases and I would have given 4 stars.

Also, one of the reviewers said you have to pay to get access to the IBM DB2 database if you're not in the US or Canada...this is not the case anymore, did it from europe no problems.

创建者 Alula M

Jan 07, 2019

The lectures were confusing at first, because the syntax in the lectures did not exactly match the syntax for the assignments (though this issue went away in subsequent weeks).

More exercises would've been nice.

In all, a decent course.

创建者 Kifle M

Mar 22, 2019

Guidance is not sufficient. Questions are not answered as needed.

创建者 Christoph L

Aug 31, 2018

There were a lot of problems with the online tools needed for this curse. Staff members eventually responded and solved them, but because of it, I went over my time limit and had to pay another month's coursera fees. Seeing as this is an IBM course and the tools were from IBM, I was expecting a smoother experience

创建者 Satya B P

Jun 28, 2018

This course is a "Big MESS" to me. SQL they used is completely different. It doesn't accept the normal SQL statements. Column names are case sensitive and Writing the where clause gave me head-ace. It wouldn't accept the straight comparisons. Columns names should be expressed in quotes.I hate this course

创建者 Elvijs M

Apr 17, 2020

People knowing some SQL will learn next to nothing. For complete beginners there is way too much emphasis on using the semi-unusable IBM cloud platform instead of learning SQL. The assignments are also too easy and short, which means you don't get to actually practice the bit of SQL you could learn.

创建者 Yingtong L

Jun 15, 2019

If you know nothing about SQL, don't take this course since it just a brief introduction without any in-depth explanation. By no means, a beginner can understand what SQL is in this way. But if you've already known something about SQL, it's good for refreshing your knowledge.

创建者 Berkay T

Sep 17, 2019

This was over challenging because labs and lectures definitely lack decent level explanations to learn the content permanently. I can't say I learned nothing, but I can clearly say this is a below mediocre level of training.

创建者 Rompolakis N

Apr 19, 2020

1) Material and presentation was not engaging and structured

2) Final assignment in terms of administration (copy pastes and screenshots upload) was a pain in the ass

3) Not enough hands on exercises