Chevron Left
返回到 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

学生对 IBM 提供的 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的评价和反馈

4.6
14,167 个评分
1,735 条评论

课程概述

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

热门审阅

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA
Apr 22, 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

筛选依据:

1251 - Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的 1275 个评论(共 1,742 个)

创建者 My R

Jul 28, 2021

The course itself was very interesting and well organized. However, I second previous comments underlining the issues with Db2. It took me at least an hour with around 30 failed attempts. I was only able to access Db2 after switching the location to Dallas. I also agree with some learners that the peer review assignment was a source of frustration. I received 2/26 even though my answers included all required elements with correct outputs. Overall, it was a good learning experience so I still would recommend this course despite the aforementioned hiccups.

创建者 Julie W

Aug 24, 2021

Efficiently taught me how to perform SQL queries. I had several issues with accessing DB2 (which wasn't Coursera's fault) which negatively impacted how quickly I wanted to finish the course. There was one question on the final assignment that the wording should be changed to make the question more clear. It reads, "List the average safety score for all types of schools." It would be more clear if it read "List the average safety score for each of the types of schools." Overall I came away with a good understanding of the course material.

创建者 Manuel C

Jan 16, 2020

The class was very enjoyable and very easy to follow. My only complaint is that if the final assignment is going to be assigned such a high weight, then it should require more than 1 person to review it. My assignment met criteria to receive full points, but the person who graded mine clearly blew through it and assigned me partial credit where I should have received full credit. I still passed and enjoyed the class, but it was frustrating to successfully complete the assignment only to be dinged by some inattentive grader.

创建者 Ryan K

Nov 28, 2018

4 stars only because I think the intended coursework is pretty good but to be honest the execution is pretty average. The course will be much better if the mentors are more active in the the discussion. Right now the discussions in the forums are mostly driven by the students in the class and it will be better if the supposedly mentors are move involved to provide support. Some of the courses in edX are pretty solid in this area and I think it really adds to the overall learning experience.

创建者 Laura G

Dec 6, 2019

the peer assignment took awhile b/c you had to do the hands on assignments in the cloud to get in and try in python. Already know databases and breezed through it all except for the submission could not figure out how to get into the cloud and where to type in the sql within python. The syntax stated "%%sql". It was %sql <query> on the same line. Learned from many earlier in discussion group. Another had the same question about invalid syntax and couldn't figure out what was wrong.

创建者 dipanjan c

Jun 22, 2020

Please let me know why wont I receive my certificate upon submitting my assignment?

Why do I have to wait for reviewing someone's assignment.Moreover I have reviewed two other assignments still I did not receive any certificate.

I would be applying for a job interview where I would be needing my certificate asap but there has been this problem. Try to get rid of these problems.

The instructor or the staffs are late to give responses to any problem.

Please look into these issues

创建者 Stewart M

Sep 4, 2019

Would highly recommend the course, online learning material very good. Had connections issues with SQL server. Techy background helps. Be prepared to be patient and tackle technical connection and speed issues when running SQL queries. No course documentation warns you of the potential problems and the time estimates to complete the weekly module/tasks need to ignored. Monitor support weak as can be seen by the non-responses to questions in the forums.

创建者 Joshua S

Jun 15, 2021

This is my 6th course in the Data Analyst program. Like the other classes before this there was a lot of good information presented through the videos, the labs were very useful, and the quizzes were pertinent to the information learned in class. Also, like the courses before the final assignment is way more difficult than the practice labs and the "instructor" or coursera helpers answered ambiguously and was hard to get a hold of.

创建者 Francisco M

Jan 21, 2020

The course is good but sometimes the exercise texts are not very clear and some of the lessons are very straightforward, leaving many doubts. The course should have a larger series of exercises and an automatic correction system that facilitates the review of the exercises. In addition, it would be interesting to have a module on how to use IBMDB2 without the online platform, but through Jupyter on the computer.

创建者 SELEMANI S J

Aug 9, 2018

Apart from errors in the open source tools for the hands on labs, this course is fantastic and well crafted to introduce Databases and SQL. the optional sections are useful for those without good grasp of knowledge about databases and their types. make sure to take them. The labs are good, but always there is connection problems. If they will fix this, it will be one of the best introduction courses out there.

创建者 TULONGA M T H

Mar 20, 2020

Upon initiation the course does cater for people with no background with many exercises. Maybe a small introduction to python would do, just to teach the people abit on python because with assistance from youtube there are always different methods to approach the problems. Maybe a clarification of problem questions should considered. Some questions are really hard to understand what is actually asked for.

创建者 Asad A

Oct 11, 2018

A great course about SQL and Databases but the final assignment should have been about writing python code to access database and analyze data, as shown in one of the videos where a pandas dataframe was created. Instead, the assignment made us write SQL code inside Jupyter Notebook. That was not needed at least as far as I am concerned. If we had to write SQL, we could have just done it on IBM Db2 Cloud.

创建者 Lauren J

May 2, 2019

As someone with zero experience with SQL, this was a solid introductory course. At the end of the course I understood many core SQL concepts and was even able to do some coding without any help. The only negative aspect I experienced was that the course used some functions that only exist in the IBM cloud that the course uses, but this shouldn't persuade someone to not take this course.

创建者 Juan B S

Nov 22, 2021

Good course. Staff support could be a lot better.

Many connections issues, and other problems, outside of the core material.

I learnt SOO MUCH fixing problems in the connection, with the software, etc... but this is not necessarily what I came to learn. Either way I wouldn't change a thing bc thanks to the errors now I know Jupyter, VSC, Watson Studio, etc...

Thank you for your time!

创建者 Ahmed F

Dec 19, 2018

it is a very good course that I have learned a lot from, however, I got confused in too many situations when trying to run queries and complete assignments. I dont know why but instead of trying to type the proper query, the course pushed me in a way to find the proper query somewhere, copy it and that's it. A very positive point was the amazing support and quick responses from Rav.

创建者 Anh T

Oct 2, 2021

This was a very hard class that we couldn't resolve the errors and no way of fixing it if we didn't know what the mistakes are. I tried going through the videos and assignments but it keep showing my old work but not a fresh one to practice. Appreciate all the hand-outs but I wish I can actually get it done correctly. Hopefully the next course would be user friendly.

创建者 Marie D

Apr 29, 2020

Very good course as an intro to SQL. The materials is presented at a good rate and there are good lab exercises to practice what you learn. The final assignment really puts what you learned to the test. There is a section in week 3 about APIs that lost me and I had a hard time seeing connecting it to the rest of what was being taught, but otherwise a useful course.

创建者 Abhishek G

Nov 11, 2020

This course involves good theory on databases. It makes you familiar with different databases. Further, it takes you deep into database queries and how to perform them. The best part of the course is it provides the opportunity of doing practicals on the IBM DB2 Database. Overall, it first teaches you the theory and then practical experience.

创建者 XFAN

Mar 30, 2020

It will be better if instructor could provide more tips or attentions or common mistakes on using SQL, for example, when retrieving string results from multiple tables and joining them together, their format should be exactly same, or there will be no value though the syntax is correct. Then we will avoid wasting more time on trail and error.

创建者 James H

Apr 25, 2020

I enjoyed this class. It was interesting and gave me lot of hands-on work with SQL that i needed. That being said, there were quite a few moments where I had to dig deep into the discussions to figure out how to get stuff to work with the IBM DB2 Cloud. The text/video was not up to speed with the changes to the IBM console/setup....

创建者 Loo C

Dec 7, 2019

A good introduction to SQL and Databases, informational and easy to follow. There is a need to update the instructional material in the course to be in-line with the current IBM cloud and DB2 set-up page, new user will be lost due to the inconsistency between the instructional material and actual web page of IBM Cloud and DB2 set-up

创建者 Stephanie O

Jul 9, 2021

Overall a good course, but it was sometimes difficult to get IBM's Db2 working. Some days, the database wouldn't even open and I couldn't practice. Connecting to the database from a jupyter notebook also caused errors caused by the server or database, which hindered study and practice. Otherwise, a good SQL course.

创建者 Pietro S

Aug 9, 2019

Dear IBM Program People,

Great Course. I would have preferred not waiting up to one month to get my final assignment reviewed.

That makes irrelevant the efforts a student makes in completing the course as soon as possible to start learning other courses. That is the only reason I give 4 stars.

Best Regards,

Pietro

创建者 Anup K

Jun 28, 2020

Some automation in the final submission review may save time. Especially where answer is a objective type. For the subjective answers always peer-review is a good option which is in practice. Otherwise, it's a great course helps someone to start their journey in SQL with exposure in IBM cloud space.

创建者 Olavo S

May 18, 2020

A good, but shallow, course for learning basic SQL and Relational Database concepts. Good for those looking to learn the fundamentals and start working hands-on as soon as possible. Those looking to learn beyond the basic should look for other sources in concert with, or instead of, this course.