Chevron Left
返回到 Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

学生对 丹麦技术大学 提供的 Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications 的评价和反馈

4.6
719 个评分
190 条评论

课程概述

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

热门审阅

AP

Jul 20, 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

筛选依据:

26 - Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications 的 50 个评论(共 189 个)

创建者 Katya B H V

May 12, 2020

I highly recommend this course, even for me a non molecular biologist/medical student, it was very helpful and very enriching. I am so grateful to all the professors for sharing their experience with us. I will keep an eye on the future courses of the DTU.

创建者 Joseph A M I

Mar 31, 2020

Very thorough course about WGS. They did a good job explaining from the beginning for those like myself that have very little experience. From there, they taught us how to use their web-based tools and even gave us little assignments to test our knowledge.

创建者 Nimat U

Oct 20, 2018

Thank you very much to all the team of DTU for organizing this course and made it easy for every student/researcher to analyze genomic sequence data. This course was very helpful to me and I appreciate Dr. Shinny for her excellent teaching methodology.

创建者 Sadia N M

Jun 21, 2020

It has been an wonderful journey. The instructors clearly explained the topics and the course materials were helpful to grasp the topics they were teaching. Highly recommend this to anyone who is keen to learn about bioinformatic tools in simple ways.

创建者 Uzma M

Feb 04, 2020

That was a very informative course for me. I would like to thank the instructors they teach us carefully and provide us a lot of knowledge related to gene sequencing. Now I would be able to utilize it into my research. Thank you, teachers :)

创建者 Muskan k

Jul 19, 2020

The course explicitly consist all tool of bioinformatics to demonstrate resistance and species profile of bacteria. Very nicely done each element is descriptive. Specially lessons by Pimplas Mam is outstanding. Happy to accomplish each task!

创建者 Dipti S

Jan 08, 2020

By taking this course, I am able to advance my knowledge on whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes and this course explores the applications of different tools for identification of bacterial species and its sub types. Thank you.

创建者 Jolanta G

Aug 28, 2017

Thank you for the excellent course. It was very interesting to try upload genome and use various tools for identification of the pathogens and resistance mechanisms.Very useful information and excellent excercises. Good luck!

创建者 Jyotika P

Aug 05, 2020

I really liked this course very much. It gave me hands on experience and the best part is the final quiz of this course. This course has given me confidence to do further study in this field. Thanks to Coursera and DTU.

创建者 Purvi R

May 21, 2020

This was very informative and easy to understand course for beginners. Whole genome sequencing tools were explained very easily. I learned bacterial sub typing and new bioinformatics tools for bacterial gnome analysis.

创建者 David M M

Apr 11, 2018

Learn the basics of WGS and how to use different tools for data analysis: species identification, plasmid search, resistance genes search, serotyping... All with a good structure and very well explained.

创建者 Magha R C B

Jul 13, 2020

Thank you very much for all the lecturers participated in this course.I believe the knowledge and the qualification which I gain from this course will benefit me in my future Biomedical science studies.

创建者 chitra a

Jul 20, 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

创建者 Mirza M V B

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

创建者 Xiangyang L

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

创建者 Charan S

Jul 22, 2020

Thank you very much coursera and all educators who helped me learn this WGS. This course is just awesome. It really helps me pursue my career. Once again thanks alot to DTU TEAM.

创建者 Ashraf A

Jul 22, 2020

Excellent Course. Many thanks to DTU and Coursera for providing such a wonderful course. I learned a lot of things from this course. This course is definitely a winner.

创建者 Ana V U B

Dec 17, 2017

I loved the course. I lerned how to use different tools to understant a DNA information, with a lot of practical exercises. I can wait the course of metagenomics.

创建者 S.Nipun

Jul 06, 2020

Very well structured and conducted .A very good course for hands on experience of bioinformatic online tools for Whole Genome sequencing of bacterial genomes.

创建者 Valeria O M

Jun 03, 2018

Me gustaron los video que van directo al fundamento de cada herramienta, y lo mejor es que el curso también se enfoca en la aplicación de lo enseñado. Gracias

创建者 Sanjana

Mar 31, 2020

The instructors are very efficient and helped me learn with full understanding and made me proficient to use the tools and databases.

Thank you very much ;)

创建者 David P

Apr 21, 2020

Excellent beginner course for WGS. The topics of the course are very interesting and well curated. The speakers are fluent and clear during the lessons.

创建者 Kulumanali G ]

Jun 20, 2020

It is a very wonderful and informative lecture & thank you so much Coursera & DTU for your amazing presentations. I am very grateful for this course.

创建者 Nidhi p

Jun 08, 2020

This course content is very informative. It gives both theoretical as well as practical knowledge of Whole Genome Sequencing. MCQ's are well designed.

创建者 Vanessa C d C L

Jan 14, 2018

This is a very interesting course, it's practical and simple to follow and I've learned a lot about whole genome sequencing and its techniques.