Chevron Left
返回到 Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

学生对 丹麦技术大学 提供的 Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications 的评价和反馈

4.6
956 个评分
255 条评论

课程概述

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

热门审阅

AP
Jul 19, 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB
Jun 9, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

筛选依据:

51 - Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications 的 75 个评论(共 254 个)

创建者 Ana V U B

Dec 17, 2017

I loved the course. I lerned how to use different tools to understant a DNA information, with a lot of practical exercises. I can wait the course of metagenomics.

创建者 S.Nipun

Jul 6, 2020

Very well structured and conducted .A very good course for hands on experience of bioinformatic online tools for Whole Genome sequencing of bacterial genomes.

创建者 Valeria O M

Jun 3, 2018

Me gustaron los video que van directo al fundamento de cada herramienta, y lo mejor es que el curso también se enfoca en la aplicación de lo enseñado. Gracias

创建者 Sanjana V

Mar 31, 2020

The instructors are very efficient and helped me learn with full understanding and made me proficient to use the tools and databases.

Thank you very much ;)

创建者 David P

Apr 21, 2020

Excellent beginner course for WGS. The topics of the course are very interesting and well curated. The speakers are fluent and clear during the lessons.

创建者 Tan P W

Feb 23, 2021

The course was super fun and enjoyable. I am able to follow each module and proceed through the quizzes with ease. Thank you for creating this course!

创建者 Kulumanali G ]

Jun 20, 2020

It is a very wonderful and informative lecture & thank you so much Coursera & DTU for your amazing presentations. I am very grateful for this course.

创建者 Nidhi p

Jun 8, 2020

This course content is very informative. It gives both theoretical as well as practical knowledge of Whole Genome Sequencing. MCQ's are well designed.

创建者 Vanessa L

Jan 14, 2018

This is a very interesting course, it's practical and simple to follow and I've learned a lot about whole genome sequencing and its techniques.

创建者 Hussen E A

Aug 20, 2020

I found the course very interesting but I am not happy that the certificate was not sent to my email. please send it to my institutional email.

创建者 Hussen E A

Aug 19, 2020

The course is very relevant for animal science professionals, however, you should offer the certificate while applicants finishing the course.

创建者 A. K K D

Aug 1, 2020

This helped me a lot to improve my knowledge in WGS and last especially like to thank Dr. Pimlapas Leekitcharoenphon for her superb teaching

创建者 Dr. R K G

Jul 20, 2020

An advanced, most relevant, balanced theory and practical weightage, a course with Crystal clear guidelines/instructions. Great experience.

创建者 Sandeep K

May 18, 2018

The contents of the course were really very good and with loads of knowledge. Thank you very much for improving my knowledge in this area.

创建者 Javiera C A A

Nov 17, 2020

Me gustó el curso, sus herramientas me ayudaron a comprender y avanzar más en mi investigación de tesis, y estoy muy agradecida por ello.

创建者 D. J N

May 13, 2020

very informative, learn't new bioinformatic tools, Precise, crystal clear and fun learning sessions. Looking forward for more sessions

创建者 Sasha L R

Jan 18, 2021

I learned a lot with this course, the activities have a lot of critical thinking and the instructors are very good teachers. Thanks.

创建者 Md. E k

May 28, 2020

The course provides a basic understanding and analysis of bacterial whole-genome sequencing data regarding antimicrobial resistance.

创建者 SILVANA C C

Nov 24, 2020

It is amazing course!, Than you teachers! each module is appropriate and it is easy to understand and learn. Good topics to know!

创建者 Gajanan T

Feb 15, 2021

Thank you so much. This course contains almost everything where we bridge microbiology with the current era of bioinformatics.

创建者 amoulay

Jul 10, 2020

Dear Instructors! Thank you very much for sharing this important information. Looking forward to the next course with you.

创建者 Mahadi H

Jun 23, 2020

It was so informative and engaging course. I hope it will help me a lot as I intend to become a researcher in this field.

创建者 Nisahdi K M

Aug 14, 2020

Thank you..i learned lot about whole genome sequencing.thank you technical university of Denmark and coursera community

创建者 Md S S

Feb 11, 2020

This is my first course and this a amazing course.I learned a lot from this course.wish you all a good luck.Thank you.

创建者 Latifah D A

Dec 29, 2019

A good overview of the whole genome sequencing, by the end of this course you just need to learn about bioinformatics.