Chevron Left
返回到 Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling 的评价和反馈

4.6
7,945 个评分
1,531 条评论

课程概述

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

热门审阅

AP

Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

S

Nov 30, 2020

for the beginer like me i have experience in banking of 8 years still for me this fundamentals are new specially quantitative modelling.Kindly provide banking related examples in here too.\n\nthanks

筛选依据:

101 - Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling 的 125 个评论(共 1,511 个)

创建者 Andrew A

Apr 27, 2020

I loved the course, beautifully explained and tests are awesome. I guess I learned a new skill. Thanks, Coursera and Wharton university for proving this awesome course. I also would like to thank my course master Richard Waterman for his insights and teaching on the subject

创建者 Misha A

May 10, 2017

Very well taught course with relevant examples from industry/business. Clear guidelines on the practical usage of the theory being taught.

Hopefully the upcoming courses in the specialization delves deeper into the concepts taught and strengthens the information provided

创建者 Max P

Jun 8, 2016

Professor Waterman presented the material in a clear and concise manner. This course is a great refresher to basic quantitative methods, and does a great job introducing more complex methods as well. Following courses build directly upon this one, so I highly recommend!

创建者 Lai K C

Feb 29, 2016

The learned instructor Mr Richard Waterman is great in explaining sophisticated mathematical/statistical terms or concepts in simple, concise and easy-to-understand way. Great and useful for mature working professional who are out of touch with mathematics/statistics.

创建者 Pawan

Jul 18, 2018

A wonderful way to learn the fundamentals of modelling, specifically if one is new to the subject. The best part is that the explanation is very crisp and its easy to understand even complex fundamentals. Go for it guys and you will not regret the investment of time.

创建者 Joswa A

Apr 7, 2017

The course is really comprehensive yet very simple to understand. I like how he explains every lessons with examples on how to use this functions and formulas in modeling. Hope to finish this whole specialization courses to further understand financial modeling! :)

创建者 8 5

Dec 17, 2021

I liked how the professor explained the topics, and especially examples were great, they made it easy to understand. I would like to take more Statistics courses from Professor Richard Waterman. I'd like to thank all creators of this course for the great job!

创建者 Samik D

Jun 6, 2020

This course was delivered succinctly, and with a great explanatory way. I was going back to Statistics after many years, and also learning some new things in terms of basics of Regression Modeling, and this course has definitely rekindled my love for Statistics!

创建者 Eduards G

Apr 12, 2020

Perfectly summarized key concepts of quantitative modeling in an easy to understand manner. Professor very articulate and the learning modules very well structured. Great real world examples.

Quizes allow for broader understanding of the obtained knowledge.

创建者 J F

Jun 7, 2017

Great introduction to modeling techniques. Regression was covered the most in-depth, but it would have been nice to see this coverage extended to the probabilistic graphical models discussed briefly in the beginning. Still a great short course to take.

创建者 Robert P

Sep 26, 2017

The tutor for this case is great. Everything explained thoroughly with real world examples throughout that help to ground the more abstract mathematical concepts. For anyone looking to get their head around modelling for Business I'd highly recommend.

创建者 Sahil T

Aug 21, 2019

The course is well structured and easy to understand. The instructor of the course was very enthusiastic and knew the subject thoroughly. I recommend all those who are planning to understand quantitative modeling from the basic to attend this course.

创建者 Sayed A S

Aug 3, 2017

I have studied the same subject in my MBA program with a different teaching method, the study materials of this course is designed based on the need of the students, I have learned so many things after the completing the first portion of this course.

创建者 Ashutosh S

Apr 11, 2020

This introductory fundamental course if properly designed to provide a broad understanding of the quantitative models used in business. The method of teaching and the usage of various practical examples by the instructor is very good. Recommended.

创建者 Lucia C B

Jan 11, 2021

I took the course as a refresher, and for my purpose I rate the course excellent. The written materials were clear, and the lectures were interesting, clear, and of good length. The course covered the fundamentals well and provided good examples.

创建者 Em L

Jun 26, 2018

Lecture is taught in a clear and precise format and the majority of quiz questions come straight from the corresponding lecture. As a result, I was able to receive above passing grades with a good amount of effort and knowledge learned in class.

创建者 Kamran W

Jul 22, 2017

Learned a lot about quantitative modeling. Much better understanding of regression modeling including the insight on how sometimes a residual could be a good indication of an opportunity of an underpriced asset. Very clear explanation of E(Y| X)

创建者 Emre B

Jun 7, 2020

This course paved the way for me to understand the basis of quantitative modeling, not only conveying the statistical features of modeling but also explaining how this core knowledge could be very practical when applied to real-life situations.

创建者 Vishal N

Apr 24, 2017

Videos and PDF notes are excellent - brief, direct, to the point. Current and good use of timing. Good quiz questions that test your understanding. Really enjoying this course compared to others attempted. would definitely recommend. thank you

创建者 Jose L R C

Nov 15, 2019

You learn the essential concepts needed to understand an apply various models to your data.

I like the fact that it wasn't very immersive about calculation details, but focused on the importance of each type of model, when and how to use them.

创建者 Shubham B

Apr 15, 2020

The course offers you a learning edge in Quantitative Modelling and also makes one understand the basics as well as the interpretations, the valuation techniques, the predictors, etc. which plays an important role while modelling a scenario.

创建者 ARAVIND A

Sep 18, 2018

This is a great course to get the basics of quantitative modeling. It's wonderfully taught by Prof. Richard Waterman. Thank you Sir. I would also like to convey my gratitude to Coursera for making such wonderful courses accessible to all.

创建者 Susan H

Oct 10, 2021

It's a well structured introductory course and the instructor offers very clear explanation and useful guidance. It's of great help to me. The course will be even more helpful if practical regression tools are introduced and explained.

创建者 Rogelio F N

Aug 12, 2021

I did enjoy very much this course, Dr. Waterman shown a different approach to this subject making it more exciting, I came to appreciate more this important tool that is useful in any business setting. I do highly recommend this class.

创建者 Akshay K

Mar 7, 2016

I took this course as I wanted to discover the Quantitative side of Business Modeling. And Thanks to Sir Richard Waterman, I loved the concepts and understood them easily. I look forward to associate myself with UPenn in near future :)