Chevron Left
返回到 Wonders of Ancient Egypt

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Wonders of Ancient Egypt 的评价和反馈

4.8
787 个评分
260 条评论

课程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

热门审阅

VE
Jul 10, 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

MM
Sep 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the history of Ancient Egypt. I have viewed the treasures of Tutankhamun twice. This class gave me a more in depth view of the culture and the art of Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

筛选依据:

76 - Wonders of Ancient Egypt 的 100 个评论(共 258 个)

创建者 Julio R

Jan 13, 2018

I want to thank professor David fo such a wonderfull explanations in all of the aspects of the course I really learn and enjoy it ¡¡¡

创建者 Feride E A

Oct 30, 2020

It was a wonderful experience to learn about ancient Egypt. Phrase of Prof. Silverman's is fantastic. Thank you all for this chance.

创建者 Juan B L T

Nov 15, 2020

I have loved this course, I never believed that the knowledge of ancient Egypt was so enjoyable and so productive ... Thank you

创建者 Charlene B

Feb 13, 2019

Very Well done Course. Dr Silverman knows his history and how it plays a role in the development of the story that is Egypt.

创建者 Debra V

Feb 25, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned more about Egyptian civilization than from any documentary or travelogue.

创建者 Fatima F

May 24, 2018

I really enjoyed the course. This was the second from Penn University I attended to. High quality, meaningful course.

创建者 Christianna G

Jun 11, 2020

This was a really fun course to take over the summer and I can't wait to show my students everything that I learned.

创建者 Shalini N

Jun 6, 2021

It was very detailed and insightful! Definitely satisfied my curiosity to learn more about Ancient Egyptian history

创建者 Hugh B

Aug 22, 2020

Very informative and enjoyable. May have inspired me to look into careers in egyptology. Just all around very good.

创建者 Jen R

Feb 29, 2020

I know have enough information to teach my year 9 class Ancient Egypt with this course and the intro course Thanks!

创建者 Raquel S

Aug 28, 2021

Wonderful course. I enjoyed every minute, and really loved all the content presented and the reading suggestions.

创建者 Andrew R

Nov 24, 2020

A wonderful course for anyone interested in Ancient Egypt, and of course King Tutankhamun. I highly recommend it.

创建者 Guy I

May 4, 2021

The course was great, full of interesting facts and fun to learn.

The lecturer was very knowledgeable.

thank you

创建者 Amanda O

Jan 17, 2018

I learned so much during this course! It kept my interest and I loved logging on and learning more every week!

创建者 Khamil K

Apr 27, 2021

Many thanks to Prof. David Silverman for providing this course and wonderful coursera for aiding my courses!

创建者 Raven C

Sep 28, 2020

I love the course I I learned a lot more than I thought it was lot of things I knew and some I did not know.

创建者 Luís M G d S A

Jun 15, 2020

A very useful course. Deepen knowledge of Ancient Egypt.

N.B.: I also like to see a course on Ancient Nubia,

创建者 Paolo A

May 18, 2020

A fascinating insight into Egyptian life, magic, art, and writings. Delivered in a clear and concise manner.

创建者 Katie H

Jan 3, 2020

I learned a lot in this course. Egypt has lots of interesting things to study. Highly recommend this course.

创建者 Estela U G

Dec 26, 2020

Muy entretenido y un gran introductorio a la cultura del Antiguo Egipto hasta tiempos de Horemheb. Gracias!

创建者 Joyce G A

Jul 15, 2020

excellent course, its my first time learning online and I learned a lot. Ancient Egypt is truly amazing!

创建者 Vojtěch K

Jun 12, 2019

Very good course about Ancient Egypt and a nice follow-up on the Introduction course with Mr. Silverman!

创建者 Atoosa

Dec 18, 2019

Great course.

Did not disappoint!

Loved the numerous museum pictures with detailed explanation.

Thank you

创建者 ROSAMARIA J C

Mar 14, 2021

I have learned a lot of details a I did not know about Tut and Carter. I loved it. thanks a lot.

创建者 Andrea M

Oct 11, 2020

Eu achei o curso muito interessante e superou minhas expectativas, muito obrigado pela oportunidade.