Chevron Left
返回到 Wonders of Ancient Egypt

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Wonders of Ancient Egypt 的评价和反馈

4.8
864 个评分
282 条评论

课程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

热门审阅

VE

Jul 10, 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

SJ

Apr 13, 2022

It is a great second part of the series of courses about Egypt from Prof. David. Silverman. Highly recommend the course to all those who found value in the first course from the same professor.

筛选依据:

76 - Wonders of Ancient Egypt 的 100 个评论(共 283 个)

创建者 Jessica G

May 23, 2020

This course was fascinating, intriguing and full of amazing information and history. I look forward to furthering my knowledge in Ancient Egyptian History

创建者 Leonard S

Jan 2, 2018

Very interesting course and stimulates me to learn more about this subject. This course will enhance the experience of my next visit to the Penn Museum.

创建者 Jeffrey G P

Feb 7, 2018

This was a good course. It partners very well with the earlier Egypt course. I recommend these two courses to anyone with an interest in Ancient Egypt.

创建者 Rebecca H

May 29, 2020

Much better then the introduction course (still suggest taking that before this one). Good pace and a good depth of individual subjects. Very fun.

创建者 Olga

Jan 14, 2021

Thank you very much! This course is my absolute favorite. It was a pleasure for me to find out all this interesting details about Ancient Egypt.

创建者 Cheri F

May 18, 2020

I loved this class, it was very informative and easily understood. The Professor could do with a little more enthusiasm, but he did a great job.

创建者 Elizabeth G

May 8, 2020

Very interesting course which is well -presented by Dr Silverman. He presents material in a way that is easy for the viewer to understand.

创建者 Julia L

Dec 7, 2020

The course is very interesting and a pleasure to see. I learned some things that I did not remember from visiting the tomb many years ago.

创建者 Fernanda A

Jan 20, 2022

It was a beautiful and interesting course to learn about the wonders of ancient Egypt, magic, rulers, discovery of king Tuthakamon tomb...

创建者 Christina B

Dec 8, 2019

Wonderful course which took me back in time. I've learned so much! And week 6 was the most exciting learning of Tutankhamun's discovery.

创建者 Mary P

Apr 14, 2018

Very Interesting course about Ancient Egyptian life. Lectures were easy to follow and it isn't too time consuming. Thoroughly enjoyable!

创建者 Lucy I D L R T

Nov 12, 2017

Disfrute y aprendí mucho, me encantaron las imágenes proporcionadas y conocer los jeroglificos de esa manera tan didáctica y sencilla.

创建者 Julio R

Jan 13, 2018

I want to thank professor David fo such a wonderfull explanations in all of the aspects of the course I really learn and enjoy it ¡¡¡

创建者 Feride E A

Oct 30, 2020

It was a wonderful experience to learn about ancient Egypt. Phrase of Prof. Silverman's is fantastic. Thank you all for this chance.

创建者 Juan B L T

Nov 15, 2020

I have loved this course, I never believed that the knowledge of ancient Egypt was so enjoyable and so productive ... Thank you

创建者 Charlene B

Feb 13, 2019

Very Well done Course. Dr Silverman knows his history and how it plays a role in the development of the story that is Egypt.

创建者 Debra V

Feb 25, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned more about Egyptian civilization than from any documentary or travelogue.

创建者 Fatima F

May 24, 2018

I really enjoyed the course. This was the second from Penn University I attended to. High quality, meaningful course.

创建者 Christianna H

Jun 11, 2020

This was a really fun course to take over the summer and I can't wait to show my students everything that I learned.

创建者 Shalini N

Jun 6, 2021

It was very detailed and insightful! Definitely satisfied my curiosity to learn more about Ancient Egyptian history

创建者 Hugh B

Aug 22, 2020

Very informative and enjoyable. May have inspired me to look into careers in egyptology. Just all around very good.

创建者 Jen R

Feb 29, 2020

I know have enough information to teach my year 9 class Ancient Egypt with this course and the intro course Thanks!

创建者 Pierre G S

Mar 2, 2022

Fantastic !! So simple to follow, with a great teacher. Loved the content and the overall experience. Thank You !!

创建者 Raquel S

Aug 28, 2021

Wonderful course. I enjoyed every minute, and really loved all the content presented and the reading suggestions.

创建者 Andrew R

Nov 24, 2020

A wonderful course for anyone interested in Ancient Egypt, and of course King Tutankhamun. I highly recommend it.