Chevron Left
返回到 Write Your First Novel

学生对 密歇根州立大学 提供的 Write Your First Novel 的评价和反馈

4.2
184 个评分
80 条评论

课程概述

WRITE YOUR FIRST NOVEL From Inc.com - The 30 Most Popular Online Courses of 2020 "Write Your First Novel" made the list at #15 https://lnkd.in/gZqscmn If you’ve ever had the dream, the desire or even just a vague notion that you would like to write a novel, this course is for you. Whether you are a full-time student, have a full-time job, a family to take care of or all of the above, you can do it. Really! And I will help you get there. In this Course, you will write your first novel. Many people say they have often thought about writing a novel and are planning to do it someday, but very few ever actually do. However, in this course, you will do it. You will learn how to form a basic idea, any idea, into a structure and discipline that will allow you to create, write and complete a fully-realized novel ready to submit for publication. If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/385761391/c5e7f873cf Learner review: "It was a great experience, I really enjoyed it." In Write Your First Novel, you’ll learn to break down your creative endeavor into components and you’ll discover a process that will allow you to do what few have done: produce and complete a full-length work of fiction in the form of a 50,000-word novel. Learner Review: "You teach storytelling like no other teacher. I cannot put in words how much I appreciate it. This daily writing, and the product that comes with it, have been a great mental support during the pandemic time. Art is a support for life, as Stephen King said, and thanks to you I experienced it first-hand during this time. I think I will keep writing 500 words per night for the rest of my life. I owe it to you. You taught me how to write a novel, and it works every time. Huge thanks, and wishing you all the best." I am a proponent of experiential learning (also known as active learning). My lectures are short and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a writer. I will guide you, I will show you how to get there, hopefully I will inspire you. You will learn through your own activity - which is writing! I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write! Learner review: "As a published author, I took this course to relearn the skills. I thoroughly enjoyed each and every lecture and quiz. This course was very, very helpful and the videos were very well executed. Cheers!" Writing fiction is a truly beautiful thing. Putting your own words on a page to tell a story which enters your readers minds and allows them to share the thoughts, emotions and lives of your characters is a very satisfying, rewarding experience. Learner review: "BEST TEACHER EVER! LOVE THE COURSE."...

热门审阅

PC

May 1, 2020

This course helped me as a writer because of the teacher. He was not a quick talker, but he was not a slow talker. He was very understanding. I really would love to get teached by him again.

DB

Feb 4, 2022

Davids minimalist approach to instruction was very amusing and motivating. He provided a shove in the right direction at the right moment and it was very helpful. Highly recommended course!

筛选依据:

26 - Write Your First Novel 的 50 个评论(共 81 个)

创建者 Bianca

Jun 28, 2020

Exactly what I was looking for. A challenging, yet mellow course to start me on my way.

I was enjoying the lectures right from when the instructor, David Wheeler, spoke his first hynotizing sentence. I know I picked the right choice and look forward to putting such good advice to work in my future endeavors. Thank you!

创建者 Valen P

Oct 20, 2020

Being a full-time student was not a problem in achieving the goal that the course offered. The technique and tips taught will always remain in my mind for the next time I write. Awesome course! 100% recommended.

创建者 Lalitha M

May 7, 2021

An excellent course. The trainer guided us thr=roughout the course. Deadlines helped us complete all tasks.

I am planning to self-publish my novel.

创建者 Jennifer A P D

Jan 22, 2021

I would prefer the professor to review my writings during the course.

创建者 David B

Feb 5, 2022

D​avids minimalist approach to instruction was very amusing and motivating. He provided a shove in the right direction at the right moment and it was very helpful. Highly recommended course!

创建者 Sharanjit K

Nov 20, 2021

I really learnt a lot. Sir you have inspired me to write. The course is so good can make any one a good writer. Thank You for sharing all the information

创建者 Cherry B

Jan 27, 2021

This made me realize how much potential i really do have in writing and it made me find out that I love writing and reading books.

创建者 Muhsina K I

Oct 10, 2020

A wonderful course. Received writing tips from a very talented instructor. Thank you so much sir.

创建者 Yassine O

Jun 20, 2021

I really enjoyed while I was watching those useful videos <3 many thanks

创建者 Meghann M

Dec 7, 2020

Great course to get you to the end of your first novel. The platform is a little frustrating sometimes. But, if you stick to it, and write every day...you WILL have a finished book at the end of the course! (Albeit unedited, of course.) :) I highly recommend this class to anyone struggling to finish a project. Thank you!

创建者 Shenyce S

Jun 10, 2021

Nice course. David was great but would have been better to let the lecturer edit people chapters better. Instead of always getting feedback from group. It was not always good but discouraging.

创建者 Anwita P

Apr 28, 2020

It was a great experience ,I really enjoyed it.

创建者 Cherise M

Nov 5, 2021

I'm in the 3rd week and for some odd reason I am unable to receive any feedback on my work. Though, I should review and give feedback on others which has me to think this isn't supportive. The other thing is you cannot reach anyone for help. You'r simply on your own and if I would've paid for a certificate. This would have been a very frustrating and unfair course.

I did submit a question in the forum and still no answer as if I'm invisible. This wasn't so for the first 2 weeks.

创建者 Herbert G

Feb 24, 2022

I​ don't know which is at fault with the stupid opening page of the website...Michigan State or Coursera. I open it and get the stupid thing that asks me to tell you about me. Every damn time. And then, just below that is a Welcome back, and then the bloody stupid little blue lines that say Home Progress and Completed. If you click on Home and Progress, you get the exact same thing....nothing! Progress doesn't show your progress. It frequently shows an assignment THAT YOU HAVE ALREADY COMPLETED and the most stupid thing of all is if you click on Completed, you don't get what work you completed yesterday, or the day before, so you can review your own work. You get a thing about courses you took THREE YEARS AGO. Who cares???? I want to know what I did yesterday or the day before to see if I have any comments from my peers. Or to verify exactly what I wrote. I don't give a flip what I did three years ago. In another location, it would be fine if you had a button that shows what previous courses you may have taken three years ago. AND THEN, the most stupid thing is, I try to find my submittals, it takes half a dozen clicks or more....of clicking on this or clicking on that to find my submittals. How bloody stupid of your website to make things so difficult. Jesus! And then, I spend hours and hours and hours trying to write a logline, or a dramatic question, or a chapter of a novel, and post it, and then get zero or maybe one comment from my peers. What kind of teacher/learning exercise is this? How do we get feedback? It is one thing for Coursera to say we're not getting a grade, but we don't get any feedback.

创建者 Mark J

Mar 23, 2022

I recommend this course to anyone who is keen to try out "Write Your First Novel". The course has many valuable features. The author of the course, David Wheeler is an exceptional teacher. Through small steps he leads you onto ever larger themes. his method of keeping you going has been absolutely invaluable to me. I was not able to visualise how i would write twenty chapters. But by staying the course and doing what was required I have managed it. Am I satisfied? and proud? you bet!

The format of editing 5 other writers before you continue with your next chapter has also proven invaluable. Truly, this process enabled me to continue even when it was difficult to do so (to keep going). Many of the writers i started with have slowed down quite dramatically. This is partly because life interferes and it must for most of us, but also because keeping up with the programme was sometimes hard. not because it was hard but because we all struggle sometimes.

David Wheeler take a bow.

创建者 Malcolm ( M L

Feb 9, 2021

This is without doubt the best course I have ever taken. It excels in pedagogy, content and collegial form. My only regret is that I didn't come to it 15-years ago at the start of my lectureship career at University; it would have changed my teaching methodology and probably made me a better person!

MORE COURSES PLEASE BY COURSE LEADER, DAVID WHEELER.

创建者 Carolyn D

Feb 7, 2022

I really enjoyed this course. It taught me a lot on how to be a better writer. David Wheeler is a great instructor, I like his style and he made learning to write a novel fun, and easy. It takes work, but it's fun engaging work. You get to also know if you are good or not, but having fellow students crtique your chapters. I'm glad the course.

创建者 JLI

Apr 13, 2021

I achieved a lifelong dream of writing a novel and now, after taking this course, I have in my hands the first draft. I highly recommend the course because it keeps you on track and provides good tips and suggestions along the way.

创建者 Duncan M

Apr 30, 2022

I enjoyed this course. After at least three started, but unfinished novels over 40 years, I have finally finished one, and I have 4 others in various stages. Coursera always helps you learn what you need to learn.

创建者 Hailu W O

Jul 27, 2020

I loved this course. It helped me write a wonderful novel titled King Aiko The Japanese - the first and last king in Africa.

创建者 Shibani S

Jul 3, 2021

A​ must do course if you truly aspire to become a good writer or an author.

K​udos to David Wheeler!

创建者 Dilara P

Jul 21, 2021

This course helped me write my first novel- in a matter of 7 months. I am so proud and so happy.

创建者 Christopher S M

Feb 3, 2022

Without a doubt the most fun I have ever experienced from an online course! I wrote a novel!!!

创建者 Nadz

Apr 16, 2021

My Gratitude and thanks to Mr. David Wheeler,

You are genuine master writers psychology.

创建者 M k

Jul 4, 2021

I am very happy to complete this course. It was very helpful and interesting.