Chevron Left
返回到 高级 R 语言程序设计

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 高级 R 语言程序设计 的评价和反馈

4.3
556 个评分
141 条评论

课程概述

This course covers advanced topics in R programming that are necessary for developing powerful, robust, and reusable data science tools. Topics covered include functional programming in R, robust error handling, object oriented programming, profiling and benchmarking, debugging, and proper design of functions. Upon completing this course you will be able to identify and abstract common data analysis tasks and to encapsulate them in user-facing functions. Because every data science environment encounters unique data challenges, there is always a need to develop custom software specific to your organization’s mission. You will also be able to define new data types in R and to develop a universe of functionality specific to those data types to enable cleaner execution of data science tasks and stronger reusability within a team....

热门审阅

MS

Feb 11, 2020

Brilliant course. Loved Week 4 for OOP. This was really new for me and would love to have been able to see its application in real world examples to better cement the concepts.

FZ

Jun 6, 2017

Very useful, I considered myself quite an advanced R user, but this class raised the level, especially with the R as OOB part. Good investment if you are not a beginner.

筛选依据:

101 - 高级 R 语言程序设计 的 125 个评论(共 137 个)

创建者 HIMANSHU R V

Oct 29, 2017

Need to have more visual approach to the course.

创建者 Abhishek Y

Jul 7, 2017

The swirl course is very helpful.

创建者 ANNEM V

Dec 2, 2017

Good course

创建者 Kevin A

Jun 2, 2017

Nice!

创建者 Sven K

Apr 11, 2020

Top

创建者 Ravi P

Mar 8, 2020

The forum for the final week has everyone asking each other to review their assignment because it doesn't get done. There might be something broken with the system here.

With regards to content, it would probably be better to just read Hadley Wickham's "Advanced R", and "R Packages", and "ggplot2" for this whole specialisation. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if the material for the specialisation was just taken from these 3 and "R for Data Science", and then compressed to make it easier to digest in 4 week chunks.

It was ok, so I'll give it 3*. But there could've been more material here. It didn't feel "Advanced" to me.

创建者 Jessica G

May 7, 2018

Like the first module in the specialty, this one is riddled with typos. Some of the examples could have been a little more detailed or just more examples given. Again, some of the swirl assignments were just walking through the readings. The topics covered here are more advanced, but I feel like I just read an online tutorial and didn't really take a "class".

创建者 Chao G

May 24, 2019

The quality and the difficulty of this course is really good. It would even be better if more advanced topics are covered in details (e.g. AST, substitute function). However, the peer review assignment could be a pain since sometimes you do not get helpful feedback. Occasionally there are not even enough students to grade your assignment.

创建者 Allan L J

May 6, 2022

The content of the course is really good and I learned aspects R programming that differ from what I use in my job on a daily basis. However, my rating is lower than it would otherwise have been due to the peer review part as there seems to be a slow flow of learners and consequently long waiting times for the grading.

创建者 Rebecca G

Jul 23, 2017

This course was not great. Almost all of the information is a screen scrape from a book and peer-evaluation, so you may be better off just getting the book and going through it. The mentors very occasionally participated, the authors never. The assignments are poorly written and missing too much detail.

创建者 Min P

Jun 13, 2020

This feels like self-study rather than being taught.

Despite the reading material is self-contained and well-organized, peer-graded assignment doesn't look good, though.

Getting attention for it to be reviewed is a hassle.

创建者 Raw N

Mar 30, 2017

WIsh there were more assignments. The final project was the only assignment in the course. Object-oriented programming in R requires more than a single assignment to grasp- even at a superficial level.

创建者 Pranav G G

Mar 20, 2017

To complete this course you have to go back and forth for the basic. Also the final assignment is bit ambiguous, more clarity is required.

创建者 savinay s

May 29, 2018

It is a very good course but many a times the concepts which are used in assignments are not even taught properly in the course.

创建者 Amirhosein V

Jan 9, 2018

In comparison with the first course, it was not so useful. The main reason in my mind is that there was no video.

创建者 Landry N E

Aug 20, 2018

The style of these courses is not engaging. This is self study, similar to getting a book and reading.

创建者 Charles H

Mar 2, 2022

Being a user that is familiar with Datacamp, there are many frustrations in this course . This is not necessairly built to be self paced. First the way deadlines work and are graded is frustrating. WHile some people reviewing my work commented that my work was impressive, it can take a lot of time to get your work being graded. When you are stuck somewhere, this is not a classroom setting where you can deepen a subject and get to understand. It is especially true when the explanations are relatively shallow. I had to go back to a datacamp class to fully understand object language programming. I feel I have lost a lot of time not on the learning part but on accessory items that related to the way the class was structured and how it was working.

创建者 Justin S

Nov 30, 2020

The project object oriented programming was uninspired to say the least. Creating a special class for "Longitudinal Data" seems to me a pointless exercise since a simple dataframe with a column named "time" or something to that affect would suffice. Also, regarding the benchmarking portion of the project, the description of the file factorial_code.R to be submitted was obviously copy/pasted from the OOP portion of the project as it nonsensically refers to "Longitudinal Data". It's easy to spot the error, but you really need the correct text in order to fully understand what you're supposed to be submitting. I submitted blindly and got credit.

The textbook is useful and worth it for $10, but has a lot of typos.

创建者 Nynke N

Aug 29, 2020

I found this course a bit disappointing. There wasn't much content, no lectures or anything, it was just the book copy-pasted into a course. The final assignment was rather vague, and the course materials didn't prepare you quite enough for it. The peer grading was frustrating and took multiple days of waiting. This is especially annoying in a course where the payment is on a monthly basis: waiting for your grade might mean you have to pay for another month of subscription. I'm cancelling the specialisation and continuing on my own after this.

创建者 Alvaro P R

Apr 30, 2017

This courses touches many interesing aspects about R programming but I did not like the structure , it does not seem to me that it adequates its difficulty coming from "The R programming enviornment".

Also I miss some swirl lessons for many of the readings from the book. There are not too many help from the mentors and the peer assigment in week 4 took me too much time and had to consult a lot of external resources. Readings in general are OK but too simple.

I have learnt many things but

创建者 Arthur G

Jun 20, 2017

The topics are good, but very little practice of creating classes until the final quiz, which expects you to understand it completely without having done any practice.

创建者 James M

Dec 12, 2017

The Object oriented programming section did not provide an adequate amount of support for the assignment, compared to any of the other parts of the Course.

创建者 Savvas S

Aug 28, 2017

just links to a webpage... no support from the mentors no support form coursera... you can use your money more wisely..

创建者 Jessica K

Apr 3, 2019

A bit too tough with not good enough teaching to truly understand the course

创建者 Mithesh R

Sep 14, 2019

difference was observed in final test and study material.