Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Algae

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Introduction to Algae 的评价和反馈

4.7
985 个评分
286 条评论

课程概述

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

热门审阅

AZ
Apr 9, 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG
Apr 15, 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

筛选依据:

251 - Introduction to Algae 的 275 个评论(共 284 个)

创建者 Mohamed S

Apr 29, 2020

its being 4 years since graduation, this course brings much happiness, knowledge and experience.

kind regards.

salem.

创建者 Delphine N

Oct 19, 2020

sometimes a little bit too technical for an introduction, but very interesting, well designed and well taught-

创建者 Saskia M

Jan 6, 2019

Very nice course.

It was focused very much on micro algae, I would have liked more info on seaweed.

创建者 Anindita S

May 11, 2020

The courses are really great to learn. You will know so many interesting things about the courses.

创建者 KIRYOWA I 1

Jan 30, 2021

it has good content and the tutors are also in position to explain the content fully

创建者 Carl T

Mar 5, 2021

Enjoyed the course. A bit of a mish-mash, but introduced me to a whole new world.

创建者 sean c

Oct 8, 2020

Lots of practical industrial material. I had trouble finding reading resources.

创建者 Linda M

Apr 10, 2021

Began class on March 11, 2021 and completed it on April 10, 2021.

创建者 GRANAPU S

Dec 16, 2021

A good course for a basic intro about algae and its applications

创建者 SPANDANA J S 1

Sep 24, 2020

It was a very informative course with practicality prioritized.

创建者 Josuah D Z

Sep 29, 2020

The online course of introduction to algae is nice and good.

创建者 Daniel M G G

Apr 17, 2018

Muy bueno para ser introductorio al tema de las algas.

创建者 Bimal Y C

Jul 14, 2020

Good course to get basic knowledge related to algae.

创建者 Yoav A

Sep 12, 2018

Interesting material and proffesional teachers

创建者 jacopo b

May 13, 2020

perfectly made with an overview of everything

创建者 ELIZABETH M

Jul 7, 2020

buen aporte al conocimiento de las algas

创建者 Komal G

Sep 30, 2020

it is really good for a beginner.

创建者 Pothi P C

Apr 8, 2020

A good course to start with.

创建者 Richard K

May 8, 2018

very informative course

创建者 Basel A A E

Apr 7, 2020

very good course

创建者 Claire C

Dec 9, 2020

informative

创建者 Sriram.v

Apr 12, 2020

nice

创建者 Michelle B

Sep 4, 2020

A very informative but VERY DRY course that is VERY SPECIFIC to someone wanting to work in biomanufacturing with algae. It is is no way entertaining. It gets a three because it sticks to the modules exactly. I do not feel that I learned anything surprising or interesting regarding algae. the first two weeks are very common sense to anyone that has a biology background. The third week has the potential to be interesting but falls short. the fourth and fifth weeks are solely about algal biomanufacturing and if that is why you are taking this course, you will find it interesting. If you are taking it in hopes of learning something more than just straight out of a text book, do not bother.

创建者 Christel R

Feb 28, 2021

Good material, but not really an "intro" course. To fully understand this material, the student needs a solid background in plant biology and organic chemistry. The slides are over packed and often illegible when blown up to legible size- consider adding a separate document of slides in a better resolution. It would also be helpful to have a glossary of terms, as they were often mentioned with no context.

创建者 Kostas C

Dec 18, 2020

I loved the fact that there was a wide variety of instructors and there was a plethora of topics and applied sides to the subject that were covered. However, the instructors didn't seem enthusiastic at all when speaking, they seemed very anxious and lethargic, making the whole lectures somewhat boring to sit through.