Chevron Left
返回到 Animals, Self, and Society

学生对 科罗拉多大学波德分校 提供的 Animals, Self, and Society 的评价和反馈

4.7
66 个评分
19 条评论

课程概述

This course explores how animals and people are situated within the web of structures and connections known as “society.” Module 1 considers some of the key symbolic roles that animals play in society by investigating the practice of “thinking with animals.” We investigate how people construct different meanings of animals and the implications these meanings have for both animals and humans. You will gain first-hand experience of this by analyzing how animals are represented in the media. Modules 2 and 3 investigate human-animal relationships, including those that involve suffering as well as those that are beneficial. Although many people describe their pets as friends or family members, Module 2 takes a deeper dive into what constitutes friendship and family membership where other species are concerned. Module 3 examines the dark side of these relationships, focusing on animal abuse and its relationship to domestic violence. Module 4 focuses on people’s encounters with those animals outside the boundaries of the home and the farm. The way people understand and regard the species commonly considered “wild” shapes the treatment and moral status of these animals....

热门审阅

JL
Nov 21, 2020

A really great course, easy to follow lectures and great information! I had a really fun time with it, and the peer graded assignment really solidified what I had learnt. I definitely recommend! :)

WP
Feb 13, 2021

Awesome course! Learned a lot. Very interesting and easy to learn from. Educational. I am studying to be a vet tech and this will be a valuable course on my resume.

筛选依据:

1 - Animals, Self, and Society 的 20 个评论(共 20 个)

创建者 GUIDO F K

Sep 28, 2020

Leslie Irvine was an excellent teacher. Even though the classes were short, the information was detailed and I learned a lot of different aspects of the animals sorrounding our current society that I had never considered before.

创建者 Marcnel J

Sep 25, 2020

Easy to follow and understand.

创建者 Winston A W

Sep 24, 2020

Excellent, thank you.

创建者 Reshob R

Sep 29, 2020

This course provides a lot of examples regarding human and animal relationships. It also encourages us to question the philosophical, psychological, and moral implications regarding human-animal interactions along with racialization and genderization of animals.

创建者 Rhyki W

Sep 28, 2020

I don't think that peer-review assignments ought to weigh on our grades, as I have encountered peers not testing my reference links or actually reading submissions which ended up resulting in a non-passing score.

创建者 Jessica L

Nov 22, 2020

A really great course, easy to follow lectures and great information! I had a really fun time with it, and the peer graded assignment really solidified what I had learnt. I definitely recommend! :)

创建者 Wendy J P

Feb 14, 2021

Awesome course! Learned a lot. Very interesting and easy to learn from. Educational. I am studying to be a vet tech and this will be a valuable course on my resume.

创建者 Maria C

Dec 17, 2020

It's a very nice, full of information course. I think everyone should lay an eye on this course and learn critical information about animals.

创建者 Rijita M

Nov 19, 2020

very informative and highly reccomended for anyone in the field of human and animals dyad.

创建者 Brenda L

Sep 29, 2020

Excellent course. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of very good information!!

创建者 Melike N D

Dec 29, 2020

It was a very productive course

Congratulations !!!

创建者 W O

Jan 17, 2021

The course was great and challenging

创建者 Jen A G

Dec 14, 2020

love the instructor!

创建者 Aizhan S

Sep 30, 2020

Very useful course

创建者 Camilo A M E

Jan 18, 2021

Very informative!

创建者 VICTOR D R B

Jun 21, 2021

excelente curso

创建者 S S

Mar 20, 2021

easy and fun

创建者 Fatima A K

Jul 7, 2021

very informative course

创建者 Ewurajei

Feb 12, 2021

Really worth it.

创建者 Osama A M

Oct 30, 2021

Need Graphics, & Pictures in Lecture