Chevron Left
返回到 Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making 的评价和反馈

4.8
637 个评分
134 条评论

课程概述

This course provides an analytical framework to help you evaluate key problems in a structured fashion and will equip you with tools to better manage the uncertainties that pervade and complicate business processes. Specifically, you will be introduced to statistics and how to summarize data and learn concepts of frequency, normal distribution, statistical studies, sampling, and confidence intervals. While you will be introduced to some of the science of what is being taught, the focus will be on applying the methodologies. This will be accomplished through the use of Excel and data sets from many different disciplines, allowing you to see the use of statistics in very diverse settings. The course will focus not only on explaining these concepts, but also understanding the meaning of the results obtained. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Summarize large data sets in graphical, tabular, and numerical forms. • Understand the significance of proper sampling and why you can rely on sample information. • Understand why normal distribution can be used in so many settings. • Use sample information to infer about the population with a certain level of confidence about the accuracy of the estimations. • Use Excel for statistical analysis. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

热门审阅

DA

May 15, 2018

The separation of the concepts and Excel skills made the lessons very easy to navigate. Although I knew the concepts from a previous statistics course, the Excel skills made everything feel like new!

RD

Jun 02, 2019

Very useful for beginners as well as anyone interested in learning some basics. Highly recommended for managers and people trying to figure out what insights can be obtained form data

筛选依据:

1 - Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making 的 25 个评论(共 129 个)

创建者 Jacques P P

Apr 08, 2019

Good intro to statistical foundations. Would be great if all questions that involve Excel were in one Excel file

创建者 CONSTANTINO A C M

Jun 28, 2017

Good basic statistics course, knowledge can be easily applied right from the start

创建者 Tommy P

Jul 13, 2018

Worst Coursera course I've taken. Videos were too long, and repetitive. Assessments strayed from topics covered, and relied more on petty test taking tricks than actually assessing information learned. For example, questions that test your grammar skills more than your knowledge of statistics.

创建者 Laleen D

May 02, 2018

This is truly a great course. Anyone in a business program or a working professional will be very thankful that they took statistics with Professor TAghaboni-Dutta. She is a remarkable teacher and consistently ranks as one of Illinois' best Professors. The two class sessions break down statistics into easy-to-understand lessons. Professor Taghaboni-Dutta incorporates contemporary interesting problems and issues into her lessons, which make statistics much more interesting!. Another feature of this class, which I considered a wonderful value, are her extra instructional videos showing how to use Excel to solve statistics problems. These videos are better than anything else I've found. I'm serious, even MSFT doesn't have instructional videos that are as good and easy to understand as the ones in this class. If they were posted on You-Tube, she'd probably get sponsors quickly.

I don't mean to sound like a cheerleader, but I know what it is like to take Statistics from a bad teacher. I took Statistics a long time ago, before Excel existed. I remember trying to understand a professor who spent all of her time writing out proofs and never answering questions. It was one of the most frustrating depressing classes of my undergraduate experience. Professor Taghaboni-Dutta's classes are enjoyable and educational. She is highly accommodating and yet thorough. Heck, I'm even considering taking more classes in statistics. and probability. Bottom line, this class is a total home-run and a significant value for the money!

创建者 P. D K

Apr 22, 2017

Teaches some good applications of statistics with plenty of real world examples, and hands on experience with Excel.

However, be aware that this class heavily depends on Microsoft Excel, so in order follow this class exactly, you will need a copy of Microsoft Excel and a computer and operating system that can run it. You can mostly get by with alternatives but you will be on your own to figure out how to apply the concepts in this class to LibreOffice or other statistical software.

创建者 ROBERTA N

Feb 07, 2019

Great foundational learning on statistics and how to apply for real life data analysis. Especially with understanding how to use Excel to facilitate the formulas and graphical representations. Appreciate having a consumable set of coursework that helped me learn and achieve completion (this does a lot for your confidence level at my age :)) I plan to continue on my Data Analyst learning path and appreciate that this course gave me a good start.

创建者 Erica W

Apr 19, 2019

This professor does an exceptional job of breaking down complex concepts and calculations without diluting the material. The statistical examples are highly relevant and interesting.

创建者 Jingting L

Sep 16, 2019

This course is a joke. As a former business analyst turned data scientist, I found numerous basic conceptual errors in its one and only peer review project. It does not cover much depth or breadth of topic either. Much of quiz work is repetitive motions of downloading a file and finding averages, medians, stdev etc. Data is the new oil and I expected a more thorough overview from this course.

创建者 Andrei S

Apr 25, 2020

The videos were excellent and the explanations of the concepts and how to do everything in excel were very clear. I think the wording in the peer graded assignment should be changed, however, as it is not immediately clear how the studies referenced designed their samples. It is possible to take a stratified sample or to take a simple random sample and conduct post sampling stratification for display purposes. It was not clear based on description where the stratification actually occurred, and this has implications for analysis. Stratified samples usually need weighting to be analyzed appropriately, whereas weighting is not necessary if stratification is done after sampling for reporting purposes.

创建者 Jai P

Sep 28, 2018

Very well taught and explained. One of the best statistics courses I have taken. As a non math student I have tried many books to understand statistics, but they were all intimidating. This course and the follow-up course on Inferential was my Holy Grail to learning and understanding Statistics. Hats off to the Prof. FATANEH TAGHABONI-DUTTA for the wonderful course and the way she helped approached it.

创建者 Vasvi M

Apr 10, 2018

For a novice in Statistics such as me - This course has done wonders in adequately aiding me in understanding the basics as well as prepared me to delve deeper into the subject! The professor in this course has done a fantastic job of simplifying otherwise complex ideas . I would strongly urge those who'd like to foray into exploring and producing data and making sense of data to take this course.

创建者 Céline F

Jan 13, 2018

Great teacher, very clear in her videos and Excel tutorials

A résumé of the formula and main calculations might be useful to use this knowledge afterwards; I don't know if she provides one somewhere (?)

I was just deceived by the first 2 weeks as I had experience in statistics, it was too easy; so I would recommend the course's summary to be more clear

创建者 Dhinesh A D

Jun 30, 2020

Great course on data analysis using statistics. The suggested methodologies in course could be effectively used to analyze financial data, weather data, population data etc., Highly suggested course for Business analysts, Entrepreneurs and anyone who needs to make decision on complex data sets.

创建者 Dr. R S

May 31, 2020

Thank you so much Coursera for providing this opportunity to me, to get the lecture from a brilliant instructor "Fataneh Taghaboni-Dutt" Thank you so much ma'am, It is my first Coursera Accomplishment and I am really looking forward for more such courses which are based on Data Analysis.

创建者 JEFFREY H

Jun 26, 2020

What a great job by Prof. Fataneh Taghaboni-Dutta. She did an excellent job, with challenging quizzes, real world applications, and explaining these new to me concepts. I am coming out of this course better than I went in with a great introductory understanding of statistics.

创建者 Jason J

Dec 12, 2019

Fataneh is an amazing teacher. Coursera's benefit comes from teachers who understand how best to explain concepts so that students understand. This is what education is all about and she nails it. Well done and thank you for taking the time to make a great class!

创建者 Hector R

Dec 05, 2019

Professor Tagahaboni-Dutta is the best there is when it comes to teaching a difficult course. She makes it fun, interesting and challenging. You get the practical applications of statistics in business, science, sports, and politics.

创建者 José T

Jun 28, 2016

One of the best course I have taken in Coursera so far. The subjects is absolutely interesting and the teacher succeeds in making the course both rigourous and fun. There is plenty of practice material to consolidate the knowledge.

创建者 Dmitriy K

Aug 17, 2017

Do you want clear explanations and many examples to understand sampling process and confidence interval magic? Then this course is the best one for you to get understanding and practice.

创建者 Radivoj D

Jun 02, 2019

Very useful for beginners as well as anyone interested in learning some basics. Highly recommended for managers and people trying to figure out what insights can be obtained form data

创建者 Afolagbade O

Aug 09, 2019

The videos were very explicit and I could practically assimilate the teachings. This also has helped in my career and the skills acquired are been applied appropriately.

创建者 Rajesh S

Apr 21, 2018

In my opinion, this is a good course. The content really aims at teaching how to better understand and use statistics. In the end, I am glad that I chose this course.

创建者 Natalia M G A

May 12, 2020

This was a great course, very well taught. I would recommend to everyone that is eager to learn stats. It gives you real-life examples and it is very well explained.

创建者 Elizabeth B

Apr 16, 2020

Challenging but Professor does a stellar job of teaching stats online -- tons of checks for understanding and practice. This is what online learning should be!

创建者 Zimuzor O

Apr 23, 2017

I gained useful insight on data analysis from this course that directly applies to work that I am doing on assessing the accuracy of a new measurement method.