Chevron Left
返回到 From Climate Science to Action

学生对 世界银行集团 提供的 From Climate Science to Action 的评价和反馈

4.7
321 个评分

课程概述

Each part of the world faces specific vulnerabilities to climate change and has different opportunities to mitigate the effects and build resilience in the 21st century. With the ratification of the Paris Agreement, many countries have acceded to act in combatting climate change. Indeed, without climate action, decades of sustainable development is at risk, thus making this a ‘make or break’ point in time. Showcasing the most recent scientific evidence, explaining the different regional impacts and divulging climate action strategies, along with interactive tools such as a Carbon Footprint Tracker and (I) NDC Platform, this MOOC provides some opportunities, where you can take action on climate change. About the Course This action-oriented MOOC gives you the opportunity to learn about regional climate change impacts and sector-specific strategies to increase resilience and move towards a low-carbon future. You will have the opportunity to explore these issues in depth and tailor your learning experience for one or more of the following regions: • Latin America and Caribbean • Sub-Saharan Africa • Middle East and North Africa • Eastern Europe and Central Asia • East Asia and Pacific • South Asia In this endeavor, the MOOC brings together renowned scientists and policymakers to provide a synthesis of the most recent scientific evidence on climate change, regional low emissions and climate resilient development strategies across sectors. A team of expert Instructors will lead discussions around the Paris Agreement, reflections from COP22 and the progress on Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs). Course Syllabus Overview ‘From Climate Science to Action’ is divided into four weeks. The first two weeks will provide a comprehensive overview of the scientific evidence for climate change, followed by region-specific insights on the impacts of a warmer world in the 21st century. The last two weeks will focus on action strategies that are being undertaken in different regions and countries to meet the climate challenge, and how you as an individual can take action to avoid a warmer world! Week 1: Climate Change in the 21st Century • Historical and projected observed changes in the climate system, leading up to the end of the 21st century • The potential of Intended Nationally Determined Contributions (INDCs) submitted at COP 21 from 187 countries to induce climate action • Trends in climate change impacts, including loss of Arctic sea ice, melting glaciers, increased heat waves and extreme temperatures, and drought and aridity • Possible responses from natural systems, explaining how warming could result in sea-level rise, heat waves and extreme temperatures, and ocean acidification Week 2: Sectoral and Regional Impacts • Impacts on key development sectors—from warming above pre-industrial temperatures and projected climate trends—across each of the world’s regions • Sectoral impacts focusing on agricultural production, water resources, ecosystem services, and coastal vulnerability for affected populations • Importance of risks with the potential to reverse hard-won development gains and potentially trap millions in poverty, illustrating the need for urgent action now Week 3: From Science to Action on Climate Change • Region-specific discussions on mitigation actions needed to reduce emissions while decreasing vulnerability to climate change impacts through adaptation and by building climate resilience • Perspectives from regional experts on their experiences in strategies and actions proposed in each region to help transition towards a low-emissions, climate-resilient development path • Discussions on the progress of the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), outcomes of the Paris Agreement and reflections from the Conference of Parties (COP)22 Week 4: What You Can Do • Transformative impact of day-to-day changes when brought to a global scale • The rationale for acting now, acting together and acting differently • Examples and expected benefits of mitigation and adaptation policies, considering both contributions to global emission reductions and local development opportunities In addition to the core resources and assignments, you may choose to go further, engaging in fun optional exercises, networking, discussion, and diving deeper into our rich selection of supplemental resources. You will have the opportunity to explore these issues in depth and tailor your learning experience for one or more of the following regions: • Latin America and Caribbean • Sub-Saharan Africa • Middle East and North Africa • Eastern Europe and Central Asia • East Asia and Pacific • South Asia Course Format This MOOC has a week-by-week structure, with resources, activities and exercises for you to engage in during each of the four weeks of the course. Each week, you will find a variety of course material, including: • Interactive video talks by renowned climate scientists and practitioners • Interactive tools: the Carbon Footprint Tracker, (I) NDC platform • Resources: Core, optional (deep dive) and fun interactives on the week’s theme • Quizzes that check your knowledge, reinforce the lesson’s material and provide immediate feedback • Assignments that will sharpen your skills of analysis, reflection and communication • Discussion forums and social media that enable collaboration with others from around the world, enriching interaction among participants • As a final project, you will create a digital artifact You can also go much further than this, engaging in optional exercises, networking, or discussion forums and dive deeper into our rich selection of additional resources. We also will use e-discussions, and other tools to facilitate dialogue between the learners and experts. Recommended Background: No background knowledge is necessary. The content of this course is designed to be accessible to students from any discipline. Connect: Communicate and share resources via Twitter using hashtag #learnclimate. Sign up for a free account at http://twitter.com...

热门审阅

TS

Jun 4, 2017

It was very informative, the discussions were lively and brought together thinking around the world and broadened my perspective on Climate Change and its possible effects if we do nothing now.

VR

May 22, 2020

This course give quite comprehensive learning about climate science and makes you think how can you use this knowledge in your personal and professional domain as concrete action.

筛选依据:

101 - From Climate Science to Action 的 125 个评论(共 126 个)

创建者 Kirk M

Sep 27, 2021

e

创建者 Hermelinda P

Jun 1, 2020

The course is very well organized and provide a lot of interesting, useful, practical information.

It is a good course for students and also seasoned professionals as it covers a wide range of topics.

Please note the last assignment is a video. It is posted as it requires "2 hours" of work. But realistic speaking, between preparing the information required, plus editing, uploading, etc. I will give to this task no less than 8 hours.

创建者 Oliver

May 28, 2017

Excellent course and well constructed. Personally, I do not understand why digital artifacts are so popular. I do not find they add to my learning, in fa t the reverse. My al;ready limited time is spent navigating the digital/tech aspects and short cutting on time that could be spent delving deeper into the issue.

创建者 Nikoyan R

Jun 8, 2017

This learning was excellent and has assisted me in learning more about climate change adaptation and mitigation strategies, and actively thinking about how I can work with others in public and private environments to reduce our carbon footprints. Thank you!

创建者 ANDRE G

Nov 16, 2020

Overall, very informative, interactive course.

However, some contents seem a bit outdated (sometimes dating back to 2012) or some links provided don't work anymore, I would recommend a bit of an update on the contents.

创建者 Aditi N

Aug 24, 2020

The course had great content. But some of the videos were old and few links given in the resource material had expired.

It would be great if some of the material could be updated as per the current global situation.

创建者 Kristen T

Jun 2, 2020

Overall a great resource for getting a very broad perspective on climate science and the climate crisis. Would have liked to see more updated / recent course materials, but the quality of content was great.

创建者 Harun K M

Jan 21, 2020

This is an extremely important course, it call for action from different stakeholders and giving practicals solutions being adopted globally

创建者 sharad b

Jun 8, 2017

Quite a good experience. Some of the reading material could be heavy for a person new to this subject.

创建者 Joshua A

Aug 26, 2020

Very normal for a young person to understand climate science and cilmate action.

创建者 S J

Jun 9, 2017

A VERY REWARDING COURSE. THE CONTENT, DELIVERY AND ORGANIZATION WERE ON POINT.

创建者 Marie G

Nov 6, 2020

Good value for an online course, with materials from trusted sources.

创建者 Julie C

Jul 12, 2017

Fantastic information but it's a bit too intensive to absorb it all.

创建者 Julija

Jan 27, 2021

A lot of videos, a lot of reading! Really enjoyed it!

创建者 Shanthya M S

Jul 15, 2022

Still can be updated with recent statistics

创建者 Francine

May 24, 2017

Got some new insights!

创建者 Kahuma A W

Jun 7, 2017

It was quite engaging

创建者 Nisha P

May 28, 2022

I really appreciate The World Bank making this course so affordable. I think it's very timely and relevant today. The content is enriching and informative. You learn a lot about how various countries are tackling climate change, the challenges they face and the opportunities they can explore from a policy perspective. But the reason I've marked the course with a lower rating is - the course did not contain any information about how individuals can contribute to climate change reversal, through their actions. This is not a course for a beginner. Most of the content is based on scientific papers and uses jargon that many of us non-scientists would be unfamiliar with. The speakers read from a script and deliver the videos, instead of having conversations - which makes the video more difficult to follow, since they're reading from reports and research papers. That's another problem - the research used is too dated and stems from the 2009-2015 period. There are slides with photos of graphs which haven't been explained and are difficult to understand. In a nutshell, this course is for someone already familiar with the scientific terminology, theories and background of environmentalism, climate change and sustainability. If you're looking for a beginner-friendly course, I would suggest looking elsewhere first and then following that up with this course. It would add more value then. However, this course is ideal if you are in the Government sectot, are a policy maker, an environmental lawyer or a company who is trying to meet their sustainability goals. Overall, you do learn a lot from this - but its not particularly helpful to acquaint non-scientists with what we can do on our part, to use climate science for action in our day to day lives. The peer review assignments are easy to do and don't take much time. But the quizzes are difficult given the scientific jargon they contain. But you do learn by searching for the meaning of these complicated terms as you do the quiz.

创建者 Curtis W

Jun 4, 2017

I did this course whilst working in regional Papua New Guinea. Unfortunately the electricity and internet connections are not that reliable which made the final assignment challenging. Please make it clear the format of all parts of the assignments. I was not expecting to have to submit a video and I am sure if I had known from the outset I would have looked into how to produce a video using basic editing software. Also, there are no prompts to get the discussions going which I feel is a wasted opportunity.

创建者 Soraya B

Aug 10, 2020

The course was interesting, especially the peer assignments which I found stimulating. The required readings are very heavy but not always indispensable to succeed in the quizzes. In most videos, you can see that speakers are not professional educators and sometimes I wish key concepts would have been more clearly defined. Some videos address too many different topics and should have been broken down in smaller chunks. There are also a lot of repetitions. The ESA videos were actually the best.

创建者 Marta Z

Aug 23, 2020

I liked the abundance of resources the course provided. It definitely inspired me to dive deeper and continue my own research.

I wish the content was more up to date. A lot of information was from several years ago and some goals/projects mentioned had a deadline in 2020. Since we are already mid-2020, it would have been nice to access more recent data. This was my biggest disappointment. I also didn't enjoy the assigments that much - they were very time-consuming yet not very satisfying.

创建者 Margaret C

Jun 1, 2017

Very informative. However, there is too much focus on technology and policy, and lacked soci-cultural perspective. WB knows that what leaders / country representatives say are glazed and realities are far different. WB should address this, compel leaders to straighten up, and not just be figures and statistics in Transparency International's index.

创建者 M.E. v L

Jun 12, 2017

Very interesting course, slightly overwhelming amount of information. More geared towards developing countries.

创建者 Santiago I

Sep 2, 2020

It is good starting point, but some of the articles are a bit old.

创建者 Barbara M

Oct 2, 2021

well presented and interesting topics but too dated for 2021