Chevron Left
返回到 Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python

学生对 路德维希马克西米利安慕尼黑大学 提供的 Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python 的评价和反馈

4.7
281 个评分
108 条评论

课程概述

Interested in learning how to solve partial differential equations with numerical methods and how to turn them into python codes? This course provides you with a basic introduction how to apply methods like the finite-difference method, the pseudospectral method, the linear and spectral element method to the 1D (or 2D) scalar wave equation. The mathematical derivation of the computational algorithm is accompanied by python codes embedded in Jupyter notebooks. In a unique setup you can see how the mathematical equations are transformed to a computer code and the results visualized. The emphasis is on illustrating the fundamental mathematical ingredients of the various numerical methods (e.g., Taylor series, Fourier series, differentiation, function interpolation, numerical integration) and how they compare. You will be provided with strategies how to ensure your solutions are correct, for example benchmarking with analytical solutions or convergence tests. The mathematical aspects are complemented by a basic introduction to wave physics, discretization, meshes, parallel programming, computing models. The course targets anyone who aims at developing or using numerical methods applied to partial differential equations and is seeking a practical introduction at a basic level. The methodologies discussed are widely used in natural sciences, engineering, as well as economics and other fields....

热门审阅

EL
Dec 20, 2021

Would have like more "empty" cells in notebooks for trying to establish loop one self and then having a "correct" output to aim for. Maybe followed by a solution cell with a correct implementation.

MF
Nov 26, 2019

A fascinating teaching technique, delivering quality content with a well-thought quizzes system! It' hard to find better courses in the domain of Finite Difference and Spectral Element methods

筛选依据:

51 - Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python 的 75 个评论(共 107 个)

创建者 Thomas D

Jun 26, 2020

A very practical introduction. The later weeks are very dense, but useful for those starting out with FEM methods and need a good primer.

创建者 Yitao H

Apr 9, 2019

This is a great course for intro to numerical course with additional bonus on python code, although a little bit too fast pace.

创建者 Andre S

Oct 22, 2020

Although the mathematical formulation & codes are hard to grasp, I really enjoy and feel challenged by this course. Thank you!

创建者 Manuela B

Oct 16, 2020

Thank you very much! This was an amazing and very clear course. I will use the python codes in my research when possible.

创建者 Revanth S K

May 8, 2020

This course is really great, a great way to get a basic understanding and the differences between all the methods.

创建者 Frederico D

Feb 25, 2019

I already know that I will learn a lot even though I am an undergrad. ( FTD from Colorado School of Mines)

创建者 Muhammad L M

Oct 5, 2020

Great insight for the application of numerical approximation and improving the capability in programming

创建者 ARIJIT C

Aug 23, 2020

An excellent course towards gaining knowledge in the domain of computational physics. Must recommended

创建者 Pradeep B

May 21, 2020

It is a bit complicated but very effectively conveys the maths behind the computational simulations

创建者 Vivek K G

Apr 2, 2019

The course was highly enlightening. Go to learn a great deal from the course. Thanks to coursera !!

创建者 sreenath

Jun 17, 2020

Amazing and well-structured course. Theory, mathematical explanations, and python are well taught.

创建者 Vadim K

May 14, 2020

Very clear exposition of motivation of the numerical methods and of the corresponding mathematics!

创建者 Dagoberto M T

Jul 27, 2021

Es Excelente la manera en que desarrolla la matemática y a la vez lo muestra en los códigos.

创建者 gil a

Aug 27, 2019

Fun, interactive, and well explained. A very good introduction to numerical wave simulations

创建者 Javier A L E

Nov 28, 2020

Great course, more in depth than others and great way to introduce yourself into the topic

创建者 Григорий Б

Oct 13, 2021

хорошая доля практики, иллюстрирующей теоретические основы. было полезно и интересно

创建者 Soumya S

Dec 26, 2019

The course is very well structured and Dr. Heiner Igel explained the concepts well.

创建者 Enkuneh C

Aug 11, 2019

A two thumbs up coarse! I wish it continues!

Thank you Pr. Dr. Heiner Igel

创建者 AAZEDINE B

May 25, 2021

I really thankful for this course. for me, it was a great experience.

创建者 Bhuvneshwari S

May 31, 2020

Great learning of numerical methods and wave simulation using python.

创建者 Fahdi M

Nov 8, 2019

Amazing as Prof Igel can make complex concept easy to understood.

创建者 A G

Jul 21, 2020

Very interesting course. Looking forward to more courses by LMU.

创建者 Abhishek K

Mar 3, 2020

i learnt many of the things which i don't know.Thank you sir

创建者 Fabian K

Jul 27, 2021

V​ery nice course with interactive questions in-between👍.

创建者 Omar B

Mar 15, 2020

I really loved the course. It is very didactic. Thank you!