Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的评价和反馈

4.7
2,911 个评分
960 条评论

课程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

热门审阅

LB

Nov 16, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

SD

Jul 14, 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

筛选依据:

876 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 900 个评论(共 940 个)

创建者 Ravi K B

May 09, 2020

One of the best course among the others in this specialization.

创建者 Brittney B

Oct 23, 2017

Great opening course! Definitely will need to complete them all

创建者 Melanie T P D

May 28, 2020

Brando Skyhorse is a wonderful teacher and i love his course

创建者 Sushreeta S

Jun 19, 2019

It helped me polish my creativity in a professional manner

创建者 chahat b

Jul 14, 2020

it really helpful for those who had the urge of writing

创建者 Lucien T

Oct 06, 2017

A great introduction to the world of creative writing.

创建者 Evan E

Oct 29, 2018

Fast and informative. Great feedback from classmates.

创建者 Nancy W

May 22, 2018

Good review of plot development and creative writing.

创建者 Hala K

Mar 06, 2020

A wonderful course with a wonderful community!

创建者 Anay T

Nov 10, 2017

Excellent course for a beginner like me

创建者 Will F

Jun 02, 2018

Great course, with a great instructor.

创建者 ADEPU R

Jun 17, 2020

very clear helps a lot for a beginner

创建者 Julie M

May 11, 2016

Full of helpful tips and suggestions.

创建者 Sarah V K

Jan 27, 2018

Great exercises and I learned a lot.

创建者 David N

Oct 19, 2017

Really enjoying this course so far.

创建者 rima a

Nov 02, 2017

Its a wonderful course.

创建者 Rajesh G

Apr 11, 2020

Very engaging course

创建者 Sukanya

Oct 12, 2016

Beginner level..

创建者 Norrarat S

Sep 26, 2017

good to know

创建者 BAVISETTY V P

May 09, 2020

Good Course

创建者 Deleted A

Oct 18, 2017

Pretty good

创建者 Daniel Y

Jul 26, 2020

The videos were very entertaining and informative. The assignments gave structure to how one would write with restrictions that no beginner would think of using.

The other writers, however, served as a hindrance and a headache with only a few gems in the barrel of word soup. I could feel my craft deteriorating with every jungle of adverbs, sentence fragments and broken English. Most of my peers barely bothered to look at the instructions, and keep their stories under the word limit, forcing me to read several pages of verbal brain drilling.

I wasn't too bothered by it, until some delightful GENIUS* decided to make the submission section uncopyable. I could review several works, If there was a possibility to copy the submission to a word processor, segment it and highlight the errors. This saved my energy and sanity.

In the end, all I could manage were superficial peer-reviews, where I focused my effort to finding the biggest problem in the student's work and giving criticism on that.

Were you afraid that someone might copy and make profit from the <1000 word essays of amateur writers? Talk about professional suicide.

*numb-nuts

创建者 Sarah S

Feb 29, 2016

The videos are quite interesting, though I think they are overly committed to very specific techniques. I did not, however, find the assignments and peer review system very helpful. People had a tendency, particularly on the first assignment, to read in requirements that were not actually stated or written down and failed people accordingly. There also does not seem to be enough people to review all of the assignments, either--perhaps due to the paywall for assignments. The very nature of the peer review system also guarantees you see a real range on the individual criteria you are evaluated on and the depth of the review. This exacerbates the very harsh "0 or 1" point option for all assignments (i.e. either you get a 1 and pass or you get a 0 and fail).

Bottom line: I think the course materials are useful and at the very least interesting for developing writers, but I'm not sure it's worth the $79 entry fee to gain access to the peer review, unless you really need or want the course certificate.

创建者 David E G C

May 10, 2016

-Made on 10/05/2016- Low quantity of information and resources. For the cost , is not even near to other moocs. Block the sending and sharing of activities, and unable the peer evaluation because of a required payment, really handicap the learning and the quality of the course. If I pay a Mooc, is becouse of a strong quality and substantial learning; this two lacking in this course. I can give you a list of other moocs around this and other subjects (film, writing, mat, entrepreneurship, photography...) for you to make relations and compare structures. Please revise this course, you have nice video edition and the teacher is good, and willing to teach, but the global course is missing several things. I encourage you to take my words.

创建者 Annie D

Mar 25, 2016

Overall, I sincerely think this course was useful to me. I did learn, and that is great. I got some good advice from the reviewers. And I appreciated most of the videos, especially the shop talks.

But I wish the instructor or his staff were more present in the discussion area, and I would have preferred a better written material. The transcripts are not formatted. They are completely raw and difficult to use.

Furthermore, I don't think it is normal that people duly registered to the class have difficulties to get their 3 reviews. Too many people have to ask for it in the forums.

In conclusion, a good course with good video material, but a lack of presence and organization.