Chevron Left
返回到 Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively 的评价和反馈

4.4
331 个评分
60 条评论

课程概述

Deductive arguments are supposed to be valid in the sense that the premises guarantee that the conclusion is true. In this course, you will learn how to use truth-tables and Venn diagrams to represent the information contained in the premises and conclusion of an argument so that you can determine whether or not the argument is deductively valid. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 6 and 7 by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

热门审阅

TV
May 11, 2021

I want to thank the amazing professor Dr. Ram Neta, who taught me this amazing skills and helped me to better understand basic logic! Thank you very much!

CW
May 19, 2019

This course sharpened my analytical thinking. Exam was deceptively difficult but worth taking multiple times.

筛选依据:

51 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively 的 58 个评论(共 58 个)

创建者 Antoine C

Aug 10, 2020

Interesting material, but the videos are sometimes hard to follow, and part of the truth-table exercises do not prepare too well for the Final Quiz questions on the topic

创建者 Ying-Yu H

Feb 10, 2018

Still not very clear about Venn Diagram.

创建者 Upasna S

Apr 13, 2020

I did not enjoy this course despite loving Math and logical puzzles. I went into the Think Again series with a different expectation of using logical tools to analyse real life arguments - not harping on the entire time on abstractions. The tests were not very helpful again because they were very theoretical all the time. The final test was a nightmare honestly with much higher rigor required on the pure logic-based questions on truth tables - all the time kept me wondering why am I doing this.

it may be good for someone who is interested in logical thinking - for not someone who is looking at understanding and improving arguments - not that great.

创建者 SEAH Y Y

Feb 9, 2021

Simple logical concepts that are expanded to confusing matrices and truth tables/venn diagrams. I guess one has to be very mathematically inclined to full appreciate the deductive reasoning part but this course should not be for the average audience. Also note that there are disjoints between what was taught and the quiz questions, and there are barely any explanations for the answers. 2 stars though for the effort in preparing this course.

创建者 Tomas B

Feb 6, 2021

The Course materials in themselves are really worthwhile and easily understandable. I can not give more than two stars though, as the final exam is nothing but torture. The questions are unintuitive and do not relate to the course material or any practical application whatsoever. Sadly, it is a required task to complete the specialization, otherwise, I would not have forced myself through it.

创建者 Bridgette F

Sep 16, 2019

In My Opinion,Dr.Neta And The Very Confusing Disorganized Final Quiz Really Ruined This Class For Me.No Matter What Answers You Choose You Will Always Get 30%.I Cannot Finish This Course Until What Ever Is Wrong With The Final Quiz Is Fixed,At That Time I Will Give This Course Four Stars.Also I Hope The Next Class Has The Other Instructor As The First Class In This Course Did.

创建者 Selina G

Aug 9, 2021

S​ome parts of the lecture are not explained good, neither is it enough to get through the test well.

创建者 Jelle W

Nov 23, 2021

The final exam is impossible to complete succesfully. Everytime I retry it, its a more difficult version then the previous one. Its frustrating.