Chevron Left
返回到 Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively 的评价和反馈

4.3
345 个评分
65 条评论

课程概述

Deductive arguments are supposed to be valid in the sense that the premises guarantee that the conclusion is true. In this course, you will learn how to use truth-tables and Venn diagrams to represent the information contained in the premises and conclusion of an argument so that you can determine whether or not the argument is deductively valid. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 6 and 7 by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

热门审阅

TV

May 11, 2021

I want to thank the amazing professor Dr. Ram Neta, who taught me this amazing skills and helped me to better understand basic logic! Thank you very much!

CW

May 19, 2019

This course sharpened my analytical thinking. Exam was deceptively difficult but worth taking multiple times.

筛选依据:

51 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively 的 64 个评论(共 64 个)

创建者 Luis E V C

Apr 17, 2017

Great explanations for most subjects. The tests are significantly more complicated than the excercises covered by the lectures.

创建者 Abdulrahman A

Jul 18, 2017

The course is extremely useful, but I found that the instructor is redundant. I often put the video speed on 1.5x.

创建者 David W

Sep 12, 2016

A good continuation of Think Again I. However, final quiz had lots of bugs in it.

创建者 David L

Jan 25, 2017

Would've liked more on the truth table of the conditional.

创建者 Michael J

Nov 13, 2021

Combined with the book, it's a good course. But, if you only rely on the videos, the quizzes and final exam will be quite difficult. The quizzes and final exam contained much more difficult scenarios than presented or covered in the lectures.

创建者 Antoine C

Aug 10, 2020

Interesting material, but the videos are sometimes hard to follow, and part of the truth-table exercises do not prepare too well for the Final Quiz questions on the topic

创建者 Nigel R L D S M

Mar 26, 2022

Muitas das questões do quiz final não foram explicadas pelo professor, nem como resolvê-las.

TIrando esse grande problema, o curso em si é muito bom.

创建者 Ying-Yu H

Feb 10, 2018

Still not very clear about Venn Diagram.

创建者 Upasna S

Apr 13, 2020

I did not enjoy this course despite loving Math and logical puzzles. I went into the Think Again series with a different expectation of using logical tools to analyse real life arguments - not harping on the entire time on abstractions. The tests were not very helpful again because they were very theoretical all the time. The final test was a nightmare honestly with much higher rigor required on the pure logic-based questions on truth tables - all the time kept me wondering why am I doing this.

it may be good for someone who is interested in logical thinking - for not someone who is looking at understanding and improving arguments - not that great.

创建者 Charlotte P

Jul 28, 2022

T​he content is amazing. The teachers are amazing. But the exam is the most terrible thing I have ever seen in this world. It is impossible to do and the most complicated thing I have ever seen. Most students fail this class. We can't even learn from our mistakes because the questions keep changing. I am so upset I wasted days on a class that is impossible to pass. This exam seriously has a negative impact on my mental health. This is not normal. I have never seen something so difficult even in real university programs.

创建者 Bridgette F

Sep 16, 2019

In My Opinion,Dr.Neta And The Very Confusing Disorganized Final Quiz Really Ruined This Class For Me.No Matter What Answers You Choose You Will Always Get 30%.I Cannot Finish This Course Until What Ever Is Wrong With The Final Quiz Is Fixed,At That Time I Will Give This Course Four Stars.Also I Hope The Next Class Has The Other Instructor As The First Class In This Course Did.

创建者 Esteban R

May 23, 2022

Material is dry, presentation is distracting with volume changes and unhelpful examples, not up to usual Coursera standards.

创建者 Selina G

Aug 9, 2021

S​ome parts of the lecture are not explained good, neither is it enough to get through the test well.

创建者 Jelle W

Nov 23, 2021

The final exam is impossible to complete succesfully. Everytime I retry it, its a more difficult version then the previous one. Its frustrating.