Chevron Left
返回到 Fundamentals of Finance

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Fundamentals of Finance 的评价和反馈

3.9
92 个评分
31 条评论

课程概述

In this course, you’ll learn the basic fundamentals of corporate finance. Based on the pre-term qualifying courses for Wharton MBA students, Professor Jessica Wachter has designed this course for learners who need a refresher in financial concepts, or for those who are learning about corporate finance for the first time. You’ll identify foundational concepts in corporate finance, such as NPV, Compound and Simple Interest, and Annuities versus Perpetuities. You’ll also learn how to apply the NPV framework to calculating fixed-income valuation and Equity, using hypothetical examples of corporate projects. By the end of this course, you’ll have honed your skills in calculating risk and returns to optimize investments, and be able to assess the right set of financial information to achieve better returns for your firm....

热门审阅

MO
Jul 3, 2020

great introductory course for finance. the course materials were also very helpful

AH
Sep 10, 2020

Solid Course covering basics of NPV IRR and others.

筛选依据:

1 - Fundamentals of Finance 的 25 个评论(共 32 个)

创建者 Darshan T

May 24, 2020

I liked the 1st week of the video lectures. From week 2, things get confusing. I do not understand why the notes have different symbols for same variable..sometimes it's called face value (FV), other times just value (V), other times price (P). There are just too many terms defined which strip away the core of 'findamentals'. Define only what's necessary. Don't build me a clock, just tell the time. I think for general public who is not familiar with financial terms, this is not the course I would recommend for learning the fundamentals.

创建者 JLMcCloskey

Aug 29, 2020

The instructor understands the subject well and knows what she's talking about. The notes and the downloads are great study aids. But the multiple tech issues taking the tests is an ongoing and still unresolved problem. Sometimes the data is accepted and credited, other times there is an issue with the data being received. Monitors for this course experience the same problems and have stated as much in the forums. In week three, discussions drop, questions remain unanswered. I tried to unenroll according to the instructions provided (https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/208279756-Unenroll-from-a-course) but there was no option to "leave course". So the tech issues surrounding this course make it not worth taking.

创建者 Supanan P

Sep 7, 2020

The instructor is knowledgeable and is able to explain things well, especially in the first few topics. However, at times, the instructor seems to assume that learners have some familiarity with the terms introduced. The notes and supplementary materials are incredibly useful, but typos make them appear a lot less professional. The thing that the instructor can improve the most is the quizzes as some of the questions are too confusing. This is because the examples given throughout the module are very straightforward, meaning learners do not get the chance to familiarise themselves with the languages used in some of the quizzes.

创建者 Carolyn P

Aug 31, 2020

The professor was extremely knowledgable and explained things quickly but well. The notes are very helpful. There are some bugs with the quiz's due to rounding errors that make them VERY frustrating to complete. Quiz 3 is a bear and there are still a couple questions no one can get. But other than that, great intro to finance that can be done in 2 weeks vs. 5 if needed.

创建者 Dr. D H

Dec 3, 2020

It would be very helpful, not only to get 0 or 1 points in the quizzes. For some questions I could not figure out the correct answer. So I do not know how to improve.

创建者 Ummehani M P

Oct 24, 2020

Whole course is good but in the quiz, there should be only 50% for passing as the quiz are very hard

创建者 Stefan A K D

Sep 9, 2020

Amazing content, they need to work on the answers decimal points because I had trouble with 2 exercises, one in which I had 0.20 and I should not round it I had to put 0.19 and another in which I had 0.49 and I did not round it but the "correct answer" was 0.5, so you should like correct this or at least as to round every exercise or none.

创建者 Walt B

Nov 11, 2020

Good overview of financial concepts from a knowledgeable professor. The course would have been more helpful if the quizzes included explanations of answers: oftentimes I brute forced an answer without really understanding why it was I got to the correct result.

创建者 Erik T

Nov 2, 2020

The professor is brilliant; however, the lectures don't prepare you enough for the quizzes. I love math and algebra, but the word problems were either confusing or vague. Definitely read the lecture notes to these modules.

创建者 Michael A

Dec 22, 2020

There were several issues I had with this course. The videos were a bit challenging to get through. I found it difficult to follow the professor and the notes were the exact same so they were not helpful. I felt that the quizzes were not always accurate and there were not enough explanations when reviewing the lectures and readings. Overall for a foundations course, this was very difficult where it did not need to be.

创建者 Kenneth

Dec 16, 2020

I don't think the course taught the content well, and rushed through things at times. They don't prepare you enough for the quiz and the quiz is riddled with mistakes, I suggest changing it to an MCQ instead. Thankfully their corporate finance course covers some of the topics

创建者 Cailean M

Nov 10, 2020

Terrible explanations literally worst course I've taken on here

创建者 Aditya

Jan 8, 2021

Firstly thanks to Coursera for providing this high-quality course on fundamentals of finance. Secondly, I am left in Awe by the immense depth and command of Miss Jessica Wachter on the subject. Being from an engineering background, finance is something that I am completely alien to, but under her guidance, I was able to not only grasp the concepts but was able to apply them in the very challenging questions in the quiz. It's my dream to pursue an MBA in Finance from Wharton and study under her guidance in real life!

创建者 谷金盈

Dec 27, 2020

The course format is good for finance beginners and the teaching is perfect.

the only problem is that I do not know when I should round up my answer in the test, that sometimes bothers me

创建者 Maurice K O

Jul 4, 2020

great introductory course for finance. the course materials were also very helpful

创建者 CHENG-YING W

Dec 12, 2020

Deliver the concepts of PV, bonds & stocks valuation, and IRR quite clear!

创建者 Alex H

Sep 11, 2020

Solid Course covering basics of NPV IRR and others.

创建者 Emin M

Nov 21, 2020

Great Course if you want to learn some basics

创建者 R G

Jan 10, 2021

Very comprehensive material and teaching.

创建者 Artemi B

Jan 2, 2021

Great detail and information

创建者 Hana A

Nov 21, 2020

Great Experience.

创建者 Pu Z

Jun 26, 2020

More examples.

创建者 Jatin

Jan 16, 2021

This was a fantastic course, that was taught extremely well by Professor Wachter. I really learned a lot from the short videos and in-depth explanations and wonderfully detailed topic notes at the end of each section. The only improvement I would suggest is showing the correct answers on the quizzes and having ready explanations, instead of making us guess what the answer is, without reason as to how we get those answers.

创建者 Ahmed A

Jan 12, 2021

This course needs more practice examples. Stand alone attachments can be included as exercise problems for every week.

创建者 Nikilesh K

Jan 11, 2021

Quizzes are tough, but great learning. Only suggestion will be to offer more support for quiz answers