Chevron Left
返回到 Fundamentals of GIS

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Fundamentals of GIS 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,937 个评分
1,181 条评论

课程概述

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

热门审阅

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

JA

May 04, 2020

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho, aprendí demasiado sobre las cosas básicas y el profesor es muy bueno !! Super recomendado si no saben nada de GIS y están empezando a comprender las herramientas

筛选依据:

176 - Fundamentals of GIS 的 200 个评论(共 1,140 个)

创建者 Andrew K

Jun 07, 2017

Well paced introduction to GIS - If you don't have a solid background in various windows applications, file management, and basic analytics concepts allow more time to go through the assignments (and revise the course material) and make sure you do them!

创建者 Mihaela F

Sep 11, 2018

Great course, well structured, and well balanced between practice and theory. I had already worked with GIS in university, but this course brought up some basic details that I until now missed. I am looking forward for the next courses in this suite.

创建者 Madeline M

Jun 22, 2020

This is a great course for a first time GIS users! The assignments come with tons of helpful detail to help you succeed as you create your first maps. ArcGIS is an intimidating programs where your first steps are made accessible through this course.

创建者 Saubhagya S R

Aug 15, 2017

Very well planned course. The videos and demo materials helped a lot in learning the concepts. The instructions to do the non-graded HWs were very detailed, which I would use as a reference material whenever I have some doubt regarding those topics.

创建者 Catherine R

May 19, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it was very helpful and I think by the final project submission I was fairly familiar with the fundamentals of GIS. I also used the supplemental reading that was suggested for the course and found it also very useful.

创建者 Vaibhav G

Nov 06, 2017

It is a course that helps you understand the basics of GIS very easily (without any prior knowledge of the Arc software). The assignments at the end of every week is something that helps you a lot so if you are taking this course don't skip that.

创建者 Jegadeesh R

May 16, 2016

This course gave me a great overview of GIS and in particular ArcGIS.

Big thanks to our instructor Nick Santos, who he was excellent in explaining the concepts

and how the tool works!!

I'd happily recommend this course to anyone interested in GIS.

创建者 Lauren C

Oct 15, 2018

Fantastic course, very well thought out and put together for anyone to understand. I never thought I would be able to grasp GIS concepts but the instructor explains everything so well. This was amazing and I would highly recommend to anyone!

创建者 sindhuja

Aug 03, 2020

I am currently pursuing a master of technology in GIS and RS, while I thought I knew the basics of GIS and RS fairly well, I realized after taking this course the ocean of GIS has no depth. wonderfully delivered by Prof. Nick Santos:)

Cheers

创建者 Warner B

Oct 31, 2017

I learned to use ArcMap in grad school several years ago, but needed a refresher to learn what new tricks the software could do. This course was an excellent start and I was glad for the opportunity to use ESRI's new cloud sharing tools.

创建者 Shaun J

Dec 04, 2019

As a student intending to pursue a career in epidemiology, the course 'Fundamentals of GIS' opened up a new perspective for me. One that of a spacial analyst. I highly recommend this course for those who want to get familiar with ArcGIS.

创建者 Jessica D

Oct 31, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. It was very thorough and I felt like I got a good grasp on the basics of GIS which was really helpful for the future courses. Definitely a great course to take if you are looking to master the basics of GIS.

创建者 Megan H

Jun 09, 2020

I had already taken two GIS courses in college but this course really helped round out my skills. The instructor was very easy to follow and understand. I learned a lot in this class! I am much more confident using the ArcGIS software.

创建者 Juriaan V

Dec 29, 2019

Excellent course to get to know the basics of GIS. I previously had some courses in a bachelor study in Earth Sciences, but this course gave me a refresher on most parts with extra new tricks as well. Very good pace for newcomers too.

创建者 Trishna D

Aug 08, 2016

I am familiar with GIS, but am completely self taught. This course taught me many little tricks and ways to make the workflow much more efficient. Loved learning about the spatial join and was able to use it immediately in my own work.

创建者 Ruby M

Oct 02, 2019

This course is really useful to learn the basics in interpreting maps, also, the tools are given, the resources and the way the classes are taught are incredible that you are looking forward to continuing learning even more about GIS.

创建者 Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

创建者 Muntaha M

Nov 17, 2018

This course is awesome, prior to joining this course I had no idea what GIS actually is. Thanks to Sir Nick Santos for illustrating every thing meaningfully. Learners interested in learning GIS must take this course as a kick starter.

创建者 Naveed A

May 18, 2020

Thank u Coursera for providing me an opportunity to learn through the top-quality platform. The course is well structured. The instructor is an amazing teacher with great abilities. Thank you, UC Davis, Coursera, and Sir Nick Santos.

创建者 Samuel A d S

Apr 24, 2020

Que curso sensacional. Confesso que as minhas expectativas foram preenchidas. Parabéns a equipe do Coursera e ao Professor Nick Santos pelo repasse de conhecimento. Nunca irei esquecer e pretendo continuar ainda mais no mundo do GIS.

创建者 Md. M H

May 23, 2020

Really it's a nice course for beginner and helps to enrich idea about these topics both theoretically and practically. the heartiest thanks to the course coordinator and UCDAVIS as well as Coursera team to creating this opportunity.

创建者 Pornima A

Jan 21, 2020

Past 4 weeks has been the most amazing learning process for me and I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. I just wait to complete the entire specialization. This course has just opened so many new vistas for me. Thank you so much!!

创建者 Abubakr A

Jan 22, 2018

The course was very good and exciting, it is cover all the basic of GIS software and produce an introduction to GIS analysis.

I recommended everyone who want to learn GIS to enroll to the course and enjoy the efficient learning way.

创建者 Natalia O L

Mar 31, 2020

Amazing class to get started on ArcGIS. I am not a coder or anything related to it and although it was challenging at times, I feel like the professor, content and exercises do a lot for the student to get a hold of the software.

创建者 James F W

Oct 05, 2018

Great overview of basics of GIS. Took it as a refresher after a time away from the program. Found it helpful in getting rapidly back upto speed. Very competent instructor and good environment for interacting with fellow students.