Chevron Left
返回到 The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution 的评价和反馈

4.8
312 个评分
52 条评论

课程概述

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. This course is the second of the two courses and covers three themes in its three weeks: Week 1: The Final Solution We’ll look at the cultural and mental processes that paved the way to the comprehensive and systematic mass murder of Jews in Europe – that is, the Final Solution. As part of this hard lesson we will discuss the various characteristics of the murder sites and death camps, and reveal selected aspects of the horror that occurred in them. Week 2: Jewish and Non-Jewish Responses to the Holocaust We will try to explore questions regarding knowledge about the application of the Final Solution, as well as a variety of responses and annihilation of victims, local populations and perpetrators. Week 3: The End of the War We will dedicate this lesson to the events that occurred in the last years of the Holocaust, as well as questions of memory, commemoration and future research. We strongly recommend that you register for "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" as well (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-1/home/welcome). Taking both parts of the course would enable you to obtain a fuller and more comprehensive knowledge about The Holocaust. This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. Novel learning experience: Crowdsourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments....

热门审阅

EM

Apr 06, 2016

Thank you for bringing such an extremely difficult subject to us in a knowledgeable and dignified way. I learned so much about a time in history that I did not really understand.

Z

Mar 25, 2018

Excellent course. Really well taught. Encourages participation and thought by the student. Wide range of very good resources in both part 1 and part 2. Thank you very much!

筛选依据:

1 - The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution 的 25 个评论(共 51 个)

创建者 Antonia T B

May 18, 2018

Two amazing, devastating and heartbreaking courses (Part I and Part II). The Holocaust is the most horrific event in the History of Humankind. The Holocaust was a crime against humanity. The biggest ever. Everybody should denounce it. I wish everybody would do this course. I have read a lot about the Holocaust and I still wonder: how is possible that the Holocaust happened? My view about both the humankind and "God" (between brackets because I do not believe in God -God died in Auschwitz) is absolutely pessimistic. Why? Because of the Holocaust. Thank you so much for this amazign and interesting course. Let's never forget the millions of innocent men, women and children who died in the gas chambers, the ghettos and in the bloody hands of the Einsatzgruppen / Antonia Tejeda Barros

创建者 Karin H

Feb 23, 2016

I learned so much in this class. It really opened up my eyes and my perspective on the happenings during WWII. I never knew how desperate the Jewish population was to have somewhere, anywhere to call home. I was really surprised by the role, of lack thereof, of the United States. I saw so many instances where the USA had a chance to step in and stop the madness that was going on but they chose to turn the other way. People are so quick to say how great FDR was but I beg to differ for a variety of issues on how he dealt with race and religion.

创建者 John R

Sep 18, 2017

During the course, I was engaged, and only sleep made me stop. The organization of the two sections provided a continuing saga. I was somewhat familiar with some of the activities and attitudes explained in the course. This course, and the various speakers, made clear the magnitude and horror of the Holocaust. 20 years ago, I toured the museum in Washington, DC and was horrified with that presentation. This course wants me to do more research into my heritage, and my wifes' heritage.

创建者 alex b

Mar 30, 2018

the course offered a very good insight into the general themes of the holocaust with personal testimonies from victims, expert analyse from historians and scholars, all put into a very interesting and intriguing course that shows the deepest darkest days of humanity from a perspective of many angles. despite having pasted several courses of holocaust historiography i found this course very informative and would be great for a beginner without great knowledge of the period.

创建者 Alison R

Oct 03, 2019

it was a very interesting course. i really recommend it if you want a further understanding into the holocaust. this course will dig DEEP and give you information you have never heard about or have learned at school. My knowledge on the Holocaust has increased thanks to this course. i really recommend it, the professors are great and its easy to follow up. there will be a lot of reading though, but the readings are also very interesting if i'm going to be honest.

创建者 Ronald B S

Mar 19, 2019

This was an amazing introduction to a challenging subject!! I learned so much about the course subject and so much about the methodology of historical study. Simply fascinating!!!!!!!!! Our lecturer and her team uncovered so many intertwined layer to this horrific period in history and I was regularly repeating the phrase to myself -- "I didn't know that, wow!" This was an excellent course.

创建者 Sharath B R C

Aug 09, 2017

This course gives the introductory information regarding the Holocaust that everyone must know about. Holocaust is not just a historical event. It personifies the extent of capabilities of human mind. It shows about the horrors of war. Everyone must know it and learn it and learn from it the strengths and weaknesses of human mind, the good and evil of human mind.

创建者 Jonathan M

May 21, 2017

This course was realy well thought out and extremely well presented by Professor Havi Dreifuss & Dr Na'ama Shik as well as all the other contributors. I would highley recommend this course not only for those who are interested in the Holocaust but anyone who tries to understand even recent events around the world. Thank you Professor Dreifuss and Dr Shik

创建者 Aubrey P

Sep 27, 2017

I highly recommend this course for anyone wishing to have a better introductory understanding of the Holocaust. The resources, video, lectures, and readings are very well planned and thoughtful. The mini-quizzes within the video's are helpful in focus on the topics. The weekly short quizzes helped with putting the event into historical context.

创建者 Kimberly K

Aug 29, 2016

Interactive course which allows one to see multiple perspectives of the entirety of the Holocaust. The different countries, societies, and places are explored. The outside resources are great as well, from the photos, to the diaries, to the other speakers. It is a well rounded overview. Highly recommended.

创建者 Leslie C

Nov 01, 2016

Exploration of the darkest shadow ever cast in human history by impeccable scholars on the subject. Now we need to extrapolate this information widely so that the human psyche is exposed in our modern world and the ghost of all these dehumanized victims will forever triumph over their oppressors.

创建者 Angela T

Jul 29, 2017

Another excellent couse. The reading materials supplied are particularly interesting and provide a good starting point for further exploration on the subject. The two introductory courses provide a good grounding in the subject and offer many opportunities for further independent study.

创建者 Supragya T

Sep 20, 2018

Equally amazing as the first part . The best part is that it has managed to keep Holocaust so real by adding so many memoirs and extra readings . Thanks to TEL AVIV UNIVERSITY and YAD VASHEM for this great course . Love and gratitude from India .

创建者 D L Z

Mar 25, 2018

Excellent course. Really well taught. Encourages participation and thought by the student. Wide range of very good resources in both part 1 and part 2. Thank you very much!

创建者 Kelvin L

Mar 20, 2018

An astonishing introduction to the history that I thought I know but never really know. A very heavy topic but really inspiring.

Thanks for the course.

创建者 Rodrigo S M M

Sep 19, 2017

Simply put, one of the very best courses I have ever taken on Coursera - moving, thoroughly researched and a most teaching experience. A must do.

创建者 mary h

Dec 20, 2017

Maybe someone should adjust the time indicated for the readings. I think most say "10 mins" whereas most took me at least an hour.

创建者 Michel V C

Jun 28, 2019

Deseo un mayor conocimiento respecto a este tema y este curso me viene súper, lo mejor es que están en ESPAÑOL.

Muchas gracias.

创建者 LeRoy G

Jun 20, 2019

This has been the best, looking forward to taking more on the same subject different line of the Holocaust.

*** Outstanding ***

创建者 David H

Sep 03, 2017

A well put together course and very informative. Mankind proved once again the barbaric ruthless measures that we all possess.

创建者 Clive C W

Aug 05, 2016

Painfully accurate, thoughtful and thought provoking, analytical. Clearly partial; but then it is intended so to be.

创建者 Erich-Dieter G

Sep 07, 2017

Excellent course! I thought I was familiar with the holocaust but there was and still is that I have yet to learn.

创建者 Richard H

Aug 15, 2016

Thank you for this wonderful and scholarly course examining the Holocaust and Nazi Germany's actions.

创建者 Krista Y P

Jan 17, 2020

Excellent course to take if you want to learn the TRUTH of the Holocaust. They have it all.

创建者 Sheila T

Sep 07, 2017

Very interesting and I learned more than I did back in high school and during my BS.