Chevron Left
返回到 Fundamentals of Immunology: T Cells and Signaling

学生对 莱斯大学 提供的 Fundamentals of Immunology: T Cells and Signaling 的评价和反馈

4.8
436 个评分
69 条评论

课程概述

Course 2 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the second half of the journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In the first part we learned about innate immunity and B cell function. The second part covers T cell function and coordination of the immune response. Fundamentals of Immunology: T cells and Signaling builds on the first course to describe the functions of Complement, MHC presentation to T cells, T cell development and signaling. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. This course includes the structure of both MHC proteins and T cell receptors and the sources of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement, developmental processes and signal cascades. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: How complement uses adaptive and innate triggers to target pathogens. The detailed structure and coding of MHC proteins and both alpha-beta and gamma delta receptors and how these proteins interact to initiate an adaptive immune response. The basics of signaling, and the varieties of external receipt and internal activation pathways. We bine the process of putting together how signals and crosstalk control the activity of the immune system....

热门审阅

FH

Mar 27, 2020

Module 2 out of 3. It was a great experience, once again, done by an excellent teacher! Thank you for offering this specialization course, can't wait to start module 3!

YS

Jul 10, 2020

It is the best course to brush up your knowledge in Immunology. Precise and relevant. Every aspect has been touched and clearly explained with very good analogies.

筛选依据:

51 - Fundamentals of Immunology: T Cells and Signaling 的 68 个评论(共 68 个)

创建者 CARLOS K A D P F

Mar 11, 2019

Very nice <3

创建者 Carlos D J M T

Oct 8, 2020

EXCELENTE

创建者 Ahmed A E A

Mar 9, 2019

excellent

创建者 Neivy L P E

Oct 21, 2020

Loved it

创建者 JUAN E A M

Jul 2, 2020

AMAZING

创建者 PHAGUNI J

Oct 9, 2020

good

创建者 Thelonious2Monk

Jun 11, 2020

A very thorough and well presented course. Prof. Novotny knows her subject very well and she is a teacher at heart - not so common among scientists.

The problem is that she goes into all the details of the subject. but fails to present the overall picture. So you learn all the details of gene rearrangement of the T cells, but at the end you find yourself confused as to the the general workings of the whole system, B cells, T cells, complement system etc. Sure, the information is buried somewhere, but it is buried under so many details that it is hard to see the wood from all the trees. I would add a short overview of the entire immunological system in the beginning, and a general summary at he end.

创建者 Jonathan D

Dec 2, 2021

+++++ The course and lectures were great!

++ The English wording of questions and answers in the quizzes and final could be re-edited (they are in some cases very incorrect, or commonly missing words like "not" despite it being implied). As a result, this course is less polished than the B-cell course, but still one I would recommend.

创建者 Janaina d S V

Nov 18, 2020

I think the model of quiz from the first course was better, as we could see the alternative we chose in the questions (clicked wrong in some questions and took me a lot of time trying to understand an error that was just typo) and the explanation about the questions were also very helpul. But in general the course was amazing!

创建者 Ari T

Apr 21, 2020

Great and very useful course for someone with not a lot of previous immunology knowledge! The organization of the lectures was a little bit more clunky than on the first part of the course, but I would still highly recommend it.

创建者 Ana C M D

Apr 20, 2020

The lecturer is amazing, but I have to admit that it is a bit childish. It has great content, but I think some content went too far and others were very superficial... I definitely learned a lot but expected a little bit more.

创建者 Zahra S

Dec 10, 2020

Im immunologist , Thank you for providing me with all the knowledge and moral support I need to be able to face my future. i really appreciated this course .

创建者 Kunle A

Jun 25, 2020

This course is good and it has built my interest in immunology.

创建者 Miguel F P

Feb 23, 2020

Although it could be dense, it is a very interesting course.

创建者 Anuradha k

Oct 21, 2020

Its good course full packet of knowledge.

Thankyou

创建者 Gregory M

Jun 12, 2021

The professor and her team clearly worked very hard to put this course together. It's impressive as a draft. That said, this course really needs a lot of improvement. I have a B.S. in biotech and I am going for my master's right now. I've taken a lot of courses in the life sciences. The content was very boring and confusing. That is probably in large part because immunology has very confusing terminology compared to something like biochemistry. I would suggest working with people who are experts at visual presentation of information. People who make science documentaries, and people who can put together some inexpensive but visually appealing animations that make sense. At the end of the day, it's not enough for professors to understand immunology. That information has to be conveyed to students in a way that is readily understandable.

创建者 Jay P

Aug 17, 2020

A lot of material being thrown and sometimes there is a lack of coherence in transition between topics. Quite tricky to absorb all this.

创建者 ramesh s

Jul 27, 2020

Pace at which some lectures were delivered seemed inappropriate to the complexity of material - sometimes too slow, and often too fast

Material in the videos not easy to map to the study guides

Would be helpful to have finished with a summary of all of Part 2 - so we can continue to maintain an overview of the whole immune system - esp when some lectures go into so much detail (one cant remember where one is in the big picture)

For this part I had to look up a lot of other sources of material on the web - whose explanations, animations and overall presentations were significantly clearer, simpler than these Rice lectures