Chevron Left
返回到 Indigenous Canada

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Indigenous Canada 的评价和反馈

4.8
18,233 个评分
6,504 条评论

课程概述

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

热门审阅

JB

Oct 10, 2021

This is a must for anyone, non-indigenous to Indigenous to complete. Should also be a part of the process to become a Canadian citizen. Very well done. I thank you for opening my eyes, mind and heart.

ER

Nov 2, 2020

I'm so pleased to have been able to educated myself further on the true history of "Canada", what should have stayed Turtle Island. Being able to continue my learning and hopefully being a better ally

筛选依据:

226 - Indigenous Canada 的 250 个评论(共 6,750 个)

创建者 Elizabeth K

Dec 20, 2021

Very informative for me and I would guess a majority of Canadians who are not deeply involved in Indigenous experiences in a professional or personal capacity. Yes, there were lectures but the people speaking were all Indigenous and the interactive paintings were a unique, informative and enjoyable component. As a Canadian who is wanting to take action related to the Truth and Reconciliation Report, I highly vaue the information contained in the course. It is a beginning and provides many events and people whom I can further investigate. It has also motivated me to look around for what is happening in my own area. Many, many thanks to all of the people who pulled together this information and organized it in one accessible place. I highly recommend the course - no it is not perfect but it is certainly a welcome change to decades of my government silencing Indigenous voices and keeping most Canadians completely ignorant about Indigenous history in Canada and the appalling actions of government towards Indigenous people.

I

创建者 Yvonne M D

Apr 8, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. I grew up in the Urban setting and was disconnected from my Native Roots, but always wanted to learn about this part of my heritage, even though it is a Canada program and I am an American, I felt at home, learning about the customs and tradition, I was never taught since my people passed as white and never practiced the old way of life, really helped me to understand more about my origins. I felt more connected to my heritage than I ever have, I just wish here in America was more like Canada, in how there is value in ones heritage in Canada, unlike here in America, where there is such a disconnect if you aren't living on the Res. The support outside the Res, like Neechi Commons, (Now Closed) friendship centers etc.... could really be beneficial in America, where there are Native Families who have never lived on a res and know so little about their culture, Great Program will recommend to anyone, even white folks, who seek a greater understanding of true history.

创建者 Scott R

Jan 4, 2021

Really enjoyed this course. It explored a range of topics that I knew very little about, many of which should be included in basic school curriculums in Canada. I'm so happy to have gained a better understanding of indigenous people in Canada, both in historical context and contemporary issues. Thanks so much.

One perspective I felt could have been included in the course was the integral role of indigenous peoples in Canadian resource development and extraction. Despite many challenges, there have also been many success stories, particularly in the mining industry, in the form of collaboration agreements, aboriginal employment opportunities (often in isolated northern communities with high unemployment) and successful consultation/collaboration. Many mining projects have been beneficial to both indigenous communities and the Canadian economy as a whole, and I believe those success stories should be told as a "path forward" for all Canadians working in a resource-driven economy.

创建者 Ryan B

Feb 10, 2021

This is and edit on my previous review (hopefully this is better) and pardon my terrible grammar .

I'm still a little late on this review in general since finishing this course. What do I say as someone who needed to learn more? I think I had to take it all in and truly think about it.

I thought because I had worked in a field where I worked with indigenous youth before that I had a decent idea about the dynamics of a culture that has been undermined. No I did not. I realized I had been ignorant at times. I think its something some people need to start acknowledging more about their privileged life. Many of us can be so much better.

Any "Canadian" should learn this course . Its so difficult to type anything about a whole course in a few sentences. If you're interested in learning and have an open mind.... which apparently is still needed... then take this course.

I'm going to be better, and I think we can all do that. Seems indigenous people knew that right from the start.

创建者 Jan

May 1, 2020

I loved this course. I learned so much about Inidgenous history both past and recent and ongoing. I have a much better sense of the impact that colonialism had and is still having on Indigenous peoples . I also realize how my education in the Canadian education system is so onesideed so heavily influenced by colonialism . I know sadly that it has not changed very much ..This course should be a mandatory part of our current curriculum in schools across Canada,

I am so grateful for the all the participants in the lectures especially Billy Ray Belcourt , what a speaker!!!!!!!

I am so grateful for this clearer understanding of the Indigenous experience throughout Canadian history and what is still ongoing today. About Inidgenous Ar tI do have to say that I have always seen it as art. I have loved Inuit sculpture since I was a kid . I have read several Indigenous authors listened to Indigenous music just because, but I will understand more the place where it comes from within now.

创建者 Lily A

Dec 9, 2021

This course is essential for all Canadians in order to understand indigenous history and culture as it relates to Canada. I am even more humbled by the richness, diversity and beauty of indigenous cultures and will continue to do my work on understanding more about where I live and who was here before us.

This course in beautifully crafted and organized. It has taught me that in order to live in Canada, everyone needs to face the facts about this great country. We need to face the ugliest parts of Canadian history as well as understand the incredible depth and diversity of the cultures that resided here long before settlers arrived.

Thank you to the facilitators who spoke and taught throughout the course and to all that put this amazing piece of education together. Also to the incredible artist we see in each section, whose work will have a lasting impression on me. It taught me so much. I know there is more to learn but this is an incredible start!

With love and gratitude....

创建者 Jean-Francois P

Nov 9, 2020

Today I completed this program, and throughout each module, I was totally involved and learned so much about Indigenous cultures in Canada. To my total disappointment, I realized during the first few modules that our Federal and Provincial Governments and the educational system have lied and hidden so much from us, and I would even say purposely misinformed Canadians and the world about the abuse and the horrible treatments of Indigenous people.

I would suggest that this program be mandatory in all schools across the country from grade 4 or 5 up to grade 12 to properly educate and inform the young generations before their probably already racist entourage wrongly indoctrinates them.

Thank you to all who participated in researching, preparing, and delivering this seminal program that sheds an accurate perspective on Indigenous populations from 1534 to today.

Thank you to the three hosts for a wonderful experience. I am now a more aware, knowledgeable and thankful person.

创建者 Sylvie B

Mar 18, 2021

Très intéressant. Ce cours m'a aidé à mettre ensemble plusieurs pièces du casse-tête et m'a permis d'approfondir mes connaissances sur les peuples autochtones au-delà des préjugés et des stéréotypes véhiculés par la société. J'ai aimé être exposée à l’histoire, la culture, la philosophie, l'art, les valeurs et l'éducation des peuples autochtones d'un point de vue autochtone. Je comprends mieux l’impact de la colonisation sur la population des premières nations et comment le racisme systémique continue à créer des préjudices. Face à la crise climatique à laquelle nous sommes tous confrontés, nous aurions beaucoup d’enseignements à tirer de la sagesse transmise par la parole des aîné-e-s. Je recommande ce cours à tous, et en particulier aux canadiens et canadiennes ne serait-ce que par devoir et respect envers les premiers habitants de notre terre d’accueil. La parole autochtone est pour moi une force émergente qui ne peut qu’enrichir nos vies si on y prête oreille.

创建者 MLyn P

Jun 11, 2021

I thought I knew much about Indigenous Canada. The Treaties section was and eye-opener and mind blowing as to how the Canadian Government are still have control and suppresses the people with the creations of various Laws, Acts and other roadblocks so they remain dependant on them.

The entire course was very informative. It should be a recommendations for high school students. There are to many negative images of the Indigenous Peoples so it would be wonderful if Newcomers to Turtle Island should have to learn about Canada an then when they take their Canadian Citizenship test their should be questions on the country and peoples they choose to become citizens. Being an Indigenous person that is non-Canadian, I can identify with the stereotypes and negative lenses we are viewed.

I got sick after completing Week 9, but I was happy that I was able to extend my completion date. Highly recommend the course to anyone wanting to learn about Canada Indigenous History.

创建者 Jason G

Sep 9, 2020

As someone who grew up, denied of his heritage and culture. I am grateful for this course, it's knowledge, understanding and inspiration. The lesson on art and it's ability to raise awareness, understanding, while inspiring, touched my soul and encouraged me even more to continue with my public art sculpture, The Missing Rose. The Missing Rose, funded through the Original Peoples Investment Program by Calgary Arts Development and the City of Calgary. Is a contemporary metal sculpture of 11 enlarged polished steel roses, set in a broken heart shaped vase, centered on a Medicine Wheel base. 11 Roses as one is missing to honor and commemorate our lost sisters. This project is focused on raising awareness and donations, while honoring and commemorating the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls of Canada. Thank you Tracy Bear, Alannah Mandamin-Shawanda, Isaac Twinn and everyone involved in making this course possible. All my Relations,

Jason Gordon

创建者 Kathy M

Dec 5, 2021

I can't say enough good things about this course. It's enriching, well delivered, well structured, the course notes are an incredible and comprehensive resource for further study. As a settler immigrant to Canada with over 35 years in the country, I wish I had access to this information decades ago. I came into the course thinking that I knew quite a bit about Indigenous people's history and contemporary issues and I'm leaving the course with the humble realization that I've barely scratched the surface. I am inspired to continue to learn the truth and to impact positive change through my personal journey of education and understanding which guides me through my own experience of sadness and rage, determination and courage and ultimately, humility and love to stand together with Indigenous peoples in the spirit of reconciling and healing, for the benefit of all people, all tribes. I highly recommend this course. I truly can't believe it's free!

创建者 Doug O

Jun 30, 2020

Very well-delivered and presented. The trio of educators worked well together, each delivering a distinct style of teaching. I was frequently shocked (and saddened) to realize the misinterpretations of Indigenous history that I was exposed to during my secondary and post-secondary education. The selectivity with which our textbooks and teaching materials were produced years ago. And the biases that we non-Indigenous were and often continue to be exposed to. Excellent balance of video, quizzes, interactive art and reading. (There were a few hiccups with the transcription of the interviews and lectures as some speakers words were transcribed inaccurately so their spoken words were contradicted by the transcription notes. I found this in the last third of the course. THUMBS UP for the variety of interviewee subjects and experts. I highly recommend this course, especially to anyone in media or communications and, of course, for educators. Many thanks.

创建者 Dechen Y

Apr 9, 2022

T​his course opened my eyes to the rich history of the Indigenous peoples in Canada, the centuries of injustices suffered post contact and the inter-generational trauma that runs deep beneath continuing struggles being faced today. First Nations people's close relationship with the land and nature resonates with my personal belief that we are closely connected with the earth and must treat her with respect in order to keep the soil, water and air clean for future generations. Doing this course has made me even more aware that where I live (Mississauga), is located on the Traditional Territory and Treaty Lands of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation.​ I love how the course also hi-lights the resilience, leadership and creativity of First Nations peoples. Highly recommend this course for anyone who calls Canada home. Kudos to the team that put together and narrated the content and the fabulous artwork that accompanied the course. Thank you!

创建者 David M W

Nov 16, 2020

It is very difficult to offer a course that tries to cover the breadth of material that this course covers and to present it to people with a wide range of learning backgrounds, but I was very impressed with how good the course was. Overall, it was excellent and I would highly recommend it to others. If there was one thing I would have liked to have seen more about in the course it would be the historical relationship between Indigenous people and European settlers in the Maritimes (and southern Ontario and Quebec) prior to 1850. In that time period much of the focus of the course was on the fur trade and areas in the western and northern parts of Canada. It was mentioned that relationships changed in the west after 1850 when farming and more permanent communities were established, but there was not much about how the permanent settler communities of the east (and lack of fur trade in that region) defined Indigenous / settler relationships.

创建者 Laurie J B

Jan 14, 2022

Course Content and all Presenters were excellent! I had some limited knowledge of the real history of our Aboriginal Peoples and learned so much more in the course. I was filled with sorrow, heartache , and shame ; as well as hope and promise that we as a country and community we will Do Better moving forward. I will carry with me , what I have learned to share with family ,friends and neighbours . I am interested in more courses on our Indigenous Peoples. Thank you to all involved in the presentation and course study and for the free access.

Thank you to the tech staff , as I was committed to several on line learning situations and had to send 2 emails to connect me back into the course. It was almost immediate and so appreciated. Enabling me to complete this incredible learning experience. I suggest this course be in public and private schools across our country!

sincerely and with appreciation of everyone

Laurie Boyd

Fergus ON

创建者 Gervin A A

Mar 23, 2021

This is an interesting and very insightful course on Indigenous issues in Canada. I have learned a lot about how Indigenous peoples have been marginalized and discriminated against on their own land. I have also learned and gained knowledge about the history, culture and traditions of Indigenous people. Although settles have tried in diverse ways to change the culture and traditions of the people, they are not yielding to settle pressure and oppression but findings ways and means to maintain and conserve their traditions and cultures through social movements and activism. It is my pleasure signing up for this course and I give credit to the organizers for organizing this course for people to learn about Indigenous people's issues, especially the discrimination, subordination and marginalization they experiencing. I will recommend this course to anyone interested in studying and understanding Indigenous issues in Canada.

创建者 Monique N

Apr 1, 2021

This course is excellent, moving, and inspiring. I have studied the colonial history of Canada and the experiences of Indigenous Peoples in Canada before, however taking this course has reminded me and inspired me to continue learning and engaging with this history and these experiences. I am currently working on a second Masters and I am preparing a paper on intergenerational trauma and the ongoing impact of colonialism in Canada. As I write this paper, I will remember the many ways that this course has demonstrated Indigenous voice and agency and strength. It is not just about understanding the devastating impacts of ongoing colonial patterns and practices, but also seeing the strength and empowerment and leadership of Indigenous Peoples. I agree with the TRC report recommendations that non-Indigenous Canadians have an accountability to learn about our colonial past, not to passively wait for someone to teach us.

创建者 Mary M

Apr 11, 2021

This was an excellent, well-paced and engagingly delivered course. As a non-Canadian, but an anthropologist long interested in indigenous peoples, I found it very informative and logically organised. It is also to be commended for its thought provoking treatment of understanding wider issues of colonisation, patriarchy, racism, genocide, extractive exploitative economics, ecosystem degradation, and respect for different ways of knowing and world views, all so much needed by all peoples everywhere. I liked the combination of delivered lectures, art narratives, testimonials and videos. The notes will be very useful for further exploration of issues, events, places and people in more depth. I am grateful for this being made available free, and for the professionalism, commitment and authenticity of the three presenters, and the indigenous artist who "accompanied" the student at every lesson. Thank you all so much.

创建者 Gail M

Dec 4, 2020

I was glad to have had the opportunity to take this course. History texts,books need to be corrected and this course would be very useful for Grade 7, 8 and above. With regards to a specific ongoing battle out in the East Coast between the Miqmaq and the commercial fishermen - I am thinking that anyone who applies for a commercial liscence re fishing, hunting, logging, and any kind of resource extraction should HAVE to take a similiar kind of course as part of the liscensing process BEFORE they get their liscence. Hopefully something like this might deter events escalating to the point that they have out East. Gchii-miigwetch to all the intsructors, elders, artists and others who contributed to this course. I quickly caught the word indoctrination in one review and yeah if you have to see it that way - it might seem to be the only way to correct and move forward from the harm done by colonization.

创建者 Karena M

Apr 19, 2021

I'm so thankful for this excellent course. Since about 13 yrs old, I had a sneaking suspicion that there was WAY MORE to the history of Canada - that it really wasn't mainly about Christopher Columbus. Well, now we have a much better and clearer and realistic picture of what really happened. Thank you to the whole team at U of Alberta, your faculty and all the people who helped put this course together. I shall spread the word to encourage others to take this course. I've gotta say, having Dan Levy suggest it put a lot of wind in the sail - which is sometimes what is needed. I also enjoy the APTN tv station which has been discussing some of the topics I have learned about - getting more informed is pretty well a responsibility, wherever you live. And we happen to live in Canada, so...... Thanks again and wishing you the best of luck, courage and continued determination and successes going forward.

创建者 Cindy L

Aug 31, 2020

This was a wonderful course in that it was an honest look at the history of indigenous experiences. What I was really hoping for was a more in depth look at how indigenous and settlers coming west truly interacted with each other on a more personal level. Unfortunately there exists the "us" bs " them" mentality and until that goes we will always have this discourse. I was very happy to see the inclusion of the struggle of indigenous woman who married non-indigenous. I have two uncles who married indigenous woman when they came back from WW2. And the abuse and discrimination WE ALL faced because of that was staggering. And it came from both indigenous and non-indigenous. For people not well versed in history this course will be outstanding for them in that it will present an honest and compelling look into a part of this country's beginning. Thank you faculty for a wonderful and pleasurable journey!!

创建者 Adrienne A

Nov 11, 2020

I am so thankful to have heard about this course before it started and to have had the opportunity to learn alongside everyone. The Sunday live chats with Dan, the faculty members and guests were so inspiring and eye opening. I really appreciated being able to dive deeper into the content of the course through these conversations. I grew up in Winnipeg and was embarrassed at how little I knew about indigenous history and culture after living so long amongst the largest indigenous urban population in the country. I am beyond thankful for this opportunity to learn about things that I feel we should’ve learned in grade school. This has kickstarted my learning journey and I will definitely be pursuing more knowledge about our indigenous history and culture which helps me to better understand current events and enables me to be a better ally.thank you to everyone who helped bring this course to so many!

创建者 Alejandra G

Mar 26, 2021

Indigenous Canada has been a wonderful journey of relearning and expanding the knowledge of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples. I am grateful for the facilitators, they do a great job relating a shameful and painful history and they come alive engaging and provoking the learners when it comes to relate the history of resistance and resilience, the beauty, and the hope that Indigenous ways of seen the world have to offer. Today, that message is even more powerful as we need to look for alternative and better ways to be in this world. I wish I could take a part II of this amazing course, with humbleness I will endeavor to continue the personal journey; making sure my children get educated from Indigenous Canada's perspective, and incorporating the learnings and looking for ways to reciprocate and speak up against racism and oppression against Indigenous people everywhere I can. Thank you!

创建者 Steve S

Mar 30, 2021

This course should be mandatory for every high school student in Canada... pass it, or no diploma. Of course, for those of us long past our high school years, it should be a priority for all of us to immerse ourselves. New Canadians should also be required complete the course. How can we understand Canada without understanding the indigenous story, and the colonial past as it has been carried into the present? I was intrigued by so much of the information, angered by what was has been done to the indigenous people, and I now have a much more profound understanding of the issues still with us today, and still to be resolved, and each of our responsibility to do so.

I also learned how extraordinary and diverse the indigenous peoples are in Canada. It's most certainly time to finally live together as equals.

Thank-you for an exceptional experience, and making it freely available to all.

创建者 Terrena P

Jul 11, 2021

The recent discoveries of unmarked graves at the sites of former residential schools compelled me to learn more about the strifes of the Indigenous peoples of Canada. Their trials and tribulations and the theft of not only their land but their way of life, language and culture was extremely eye opening to me. My husband and son are both of Mi'kmaq descent and I have learned recently that I may be of Metis descent, but even without those Indigenous connections, I feel an empathy with all Indigenous people and the hardships they endured and continue to endure today. I stand with all Indigenous people and hope to see one day that they are given the proper respect and return of all that was taken from them. This course is one all Canadians should take to truly understand the past and how it has affected the present and will continue to affect the future for generations to come. Wela'lin