Chevron Left
返回到 Indigenous Canada

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Indigenous Canada 的评价和反馈

4.8
18,246 个评分
6,508 条评论

课程概述

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

热门审阅

GC

Oct 13, 2021

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

DN

Aug 30, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

筛选依据:

251 - Indigenous Canada 的 275 个评论(共 6,755 个)

创建者 Catherine K

Sep 11, 2020

The course was in-depth and challenging. There were many facts, concepts, and histories which were complex, interrelated, and ongoing. Many subjects I only knew about superficially. These were described thoroughly and in a way which Helped me acknowledge that there is much I still need to learn about Indigenous Canadian people’s, their heritage and histories, and the ongoing colonization experience. It was especially helpful to hear about the Land and the Indigenous connection to it. It is a far more intricate connection then my own thoughts, and history with, “land”. I was pleasantly surprised to see a reference to “Mariano Aupilarjuk”. I have worked with his grandson (In Nunavut) and recently sent him a USB with over 40 drum dance songs on it. I am hoping the voice of his grandfather is on one of the songs. The songs were shared with me by a traditional singer in another NU community.

创建者 Tracey A

May 25, 2022

​I very much appreciate being able to take this course. I learned a lot and am excited to learn more. I really enjoyed hearing from the speakers that you brought in to break down particular topics. I also appreciated the way the course was broken down into 'bite-sized' videos, none of which were too long. I also liked that you could rewrite the exam if needed. I had origionally planned on giving 4 out of 5 starts but reallly couldn't thing of a reason to take a star away so I decided to give 5 out of 5. The only thing I can think of that I sometimes found frustrating is that on my iPad I wasn't able to rewind the video or fast forward. I'm not sure if this was my device or something disabled on your end but this feature would have been helpful. The course was very well done, I learned a lot and I look forward to taking another course to further my knowledge in this area. Thank you!

创建者 Mathieu L

Nov 8, 2020

Despite not being Canadian nor even from Turtle Island, I have always been interested in (appalled by ?) the situation of the indigenous peoples of northern America. Living in Europe, I have had access to a copious and varied amount of information and books about indigenous peoples of the USA, but very little is available in France about Canada, which is shocking , considering that the French were once the main colonial force in the continent. I heard about this course through Canadian writer/actor Daniel levy, and I have been absolutely thrilled by it. It's rich, easy to access despite the difficulties of english as a second language, and informative. I've had a whale of a time studying Indigenous Canada with coursera, and I hope to continue this process of educating myself on these fundamental issues, that affect us all worldwide. Thank you for this terrific opportunity

创建者 Elizabeth B

Mar 12, 2021

This course provided an excellent overview of Indigenous history, culture, people and land. It explored a number of topics in depth, and did not shy away from explaining how settlers tried to eradicate many elements of Indigenous culture. The module on residential schools was particularly difficult to go through, but extremely important to be aware of. In every module I learned something new (often many things) and feel I have a greater understanding of the concepts and issues than I did before taking this course. I think this should be a mandatory course that every Canadian takes. Our Canadian educational curriculum does not cover even a fraction of what was presented during this course, and presents a very one-sided view of Indigenous Canada; this course rectifies that and brings light to many important parts of history that has been swept under the rug for too long.

创建者 Sukhjit S

Nov 16, 2020

This course was an eye-opener. I am so glad that a social media link directed me to the link and I ended up enrolling in this course. While I was studying the chapters, watching the videos, and finishing my final quiz for each chapter, I felt that this course should be mandated for every Canadian. Most importantly, this course should be part of the Canadian Citizenship Test. Most of us who chose to live in this beautiful country would not be knowing the real history of Canada without such courses. It is very limited availability on this subject matter. The way this course was planned and delivered, was an incredible experience for me. Today, I finished the course and really feeling proud to know a little bit more about Canadian history and the lives of those who were originally the owners of this wonderful land. Thank you to those who made this course so engaging.

创建者 Brenda W

Dec 5, 2021

I am so grateful for this course. I believe it to be very important for all Canadians to know our history and relationships with our Indigenous "Relatives." The material is disturbing on so many levels and the truth hurts. I realize that the information provided is only the tip of the iceberg, but it certainly provides a framework to participate in ongoing truth and reconcilliation work with a deeper understanding of the experiences and consequences of the colonization of our First Nations people. I am grateful to others who encouraged participation in this program, most notably Dan Levy, along with others from within my Truth and Reconciliation circle. Thank you to the UofA, the scholars, speakers, and participants for their contribution. I will do my part to spread the word regarding this valuable work. It has been a privilege...blessings to all of you!

创建者 Karl P

Dec 15, 2020

This course was enlightening. Each module was fascinating, informative and it opened up not only my eyes but my mind. I now have a whole different perspective on what I thought was our Canadian history. I can definitely state the education I received both in high school and post secondary did not reveal the whole picture on the many important events, happenings, and special moments that shaped our Canadian history as this course did. I am appalled at the treatment received by Aboriginal peoples at the hands of the First Settlers and the continuation of this mistreatment even to the present day. I have a brand new outlook and I will incorporate this new knowledge into my everyday life. Thank you for the great work that went into the development of this course. I hope many more will partake in this course and develop a better understanding of our history.

创建者 Roland K

Feb 15, 2021

This was a very enlightening course. I already knew some - not all - of the history, but little of the cultural background. One of my favourite modules was the last one, about Indigenous art. I previously knew so little about today's Indigenous artists! My only criticism - a mild one - is that insofar as the course deals with colonial powers that have interacted with Indigenous people, the focus is almost exclusively on England rather than France (and where French names occur in the videos, they are often mispronounced). Some of the relevant history is not understandable without a bit more emphasis on the "French fact" - which played a crucial role, for instance, in the genesis of the Métis people. If the course is ever updated, I suggest that an extra module be added to cover this aspect - ideally, with the involvement of a francophone Indigenous historian.

创建者 Katie W

Oct 11, 2020

From the worldview lesson at the outset to the powerful lesson on Indigenous Canadian art at the close, this course informed and surprised. It was difficult to learn the history, and infuriating to realize I grew up being told a skewed colonial story. In particular, the chapters on urban Indigenous communities and Indigenous women broadened my understanding of the pervasiveness and danger of stereotypes and patriarchal practices. Thank you to Dr. Bear, the presenters, and all who worked to assemble and present this course.

I have a single suggestion for improvement. I liked the music used as background for many of the videos, but it never changed. One track in particular consisted of two alternating pitches and a repetitive drumbeat. It was extraordinarily distracting, and I could find no way to silence the background music and listen to the lecturer alone.

创建者 Donnalu C

Oct 14, 2020

How different would our Canada, our world, be if instead of trying to assimilate the indigenous peoples we had explored, embraced and adopted their view on Mother Earth and our relationship to our land and to community? I personally find in current times, many of us so unsatisfied, so disillusioned with hectic schedules and constant stress when really we are just completely disconnected from Mother Nature and respect for our environment and each other. This course amplifies the price, the darkness of colonization, capitalism and total disregard for what should be sacred. Too much has been lost, too many lives lost in horrific ways and Canadians need to recognise this truth and hope the Indigenous ways can still help save us all. Thank you to Tracy Bear, her team and Leah Dorion for educating us with skill, knowledge, honesty, strength and sensitivity.

创建者 Robert J L

Oct 2, 2020

I found the course to be an excellent beginning to understanding the Indigenous issues in Canada. I grew up in Port Arthur during the 40's and 50's. I knew, vaguely, about the Reserves around Fort William and Lake Nipigon, but I don't think I ever met or interacted with an Indigenous person.

Not once in those years was I ever exposed to information that would help me appreciate the people on reserves, or the issues that lead to how they arrived there. I hope that some of that mistake are being better addressed now in our schools.

When I worked as a teacher in North Bay, I had Indigenous students in a few of my classes, most from the North Bay and a few from the North. Most were excellent people, One became a prominent lawyer in the Maritimes. The very few that were "problems" where problems because of their personalities and actions, not their indigeneity.

创建者 Gabrielle D

Jul 5, 2017

In June 2017, I was extermely lucky to visit Mashteuiatsh, a First Nations reserve in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec, Canada. It was a life-changing experience and upon my return to San Francisco, CA I came across this course. I really wanted to understand more and this course has met my expectations beyond my wildest dreams. It's very well done, both intellectually challenging and emotionally powerful. I look forward every week to the new content. I would recommend it to anybody who lives in the Americas and like me is Caucasian and "had no idea". There is another reason why I really enjoy this course : I have been many times to Canada and some of my best friends are Canadians. This course is an excellent introduction to the history of their country. As a conclusion, this is one of the most interesting classes I have ever taken on line.

创建者 Janet S

Dec 31, 2020

The course, "Indigenous Canada," offered to me an awareness of the dignity of the First Nations peoples. Living in Hawaii I realize many parallels between the Canadian Indigenous history and culture to the aboriginal Hawaiians. Also I connected to my ancestry as a Flanders who ancestress was Jane Flanders. The book, "The Flanders Family From Europe to America" by Edith Flanders Dunbar states Jane was an Indian woman who belonged to the Sandusky Tribe. She was taken into court for using vile words to colonial Puritans. The topics that Dr. Bear and Dr. Gareau included gave perspectives from historical indigenous Canada to modern day indigenous Canada. Leah Dorion's beautiful artwork was a perfect complement in telling this story. Listening to Leah explain the topics in the painting was a true joy. Thank you to all involved in presenting this course.

创建者 Edward B

Oct 21, 2020

As a 68 y/o white male from the U. S., this course was eye opening and very educational. While the course focused on Canada and the Indigenous/First Nation issues, I felt it also mirrored the struggles and unfairness that First Nation Peoples in the U. S. face and still face today. I'm new, sad to say, to the conversation about injustice within the Indigenous Peoples community. I was taken that the art that is beautifully presented at the end of each module included, as a point of leadership, nearly all male figures because I learned that it was women that decided much of Indigenous life and are particularly important now in 2020 as we forge ahead both in Canada and the U. S. I was hoping to see women portrayed in art in a more positive, more forward-leaning place in the depiction of Indigenous future. Thanks for an outstanding course!

创建者 Dave D

Aug 29, 2021

This course is a start to educating and presenting a better understanding of what the Indeginous communities, it's history, it's values and movement is about. For this course to be effective on an educational stand point of view it will need to continue to offer the more courses on these lines to be effecive so that the 400,000 people that enrolled can can continue to learn and be educated of Indigenous communites. You have a good platform you need to reach a bigger audience.

Education is the key. Funding to offer these courses (free) is the other key.

I have an understanding of the plight of the Indigenous people and the effects of colonization. i would like to understand more of the present day roles, workings of self governace of Indigenous communities.

Thank you for your time. The presentation was great. Dave Delaney 506-349-4723

创建者 Brenda N

Nov 27, 2020

I learned a lot from this course. I thought it was presented very well- organized, methodical in it approach with a balanced view. I had taken a aboriginal womens studies course at Athabasca University this past year so was familiar with the powerful and engaged group of women who got together to fight the inequities in the Indian Act. These women are heroes- SHEroes. I did feel that there wasn't enough information on the Sixties Scoop or any real reference to the term, which may be for a reason, but felt it should be hightlighted to people understand the history of abuse to those families. I thought all the presenters did a wonderful job, telling their parts and were all compelling and engaging. I would love to do another one- that drilled down even further. Thank you for making this course available to us. Thank you Brenda Norfolk

创建者 Robert B

Mar 8, 2022

T​his is the second course I have taken on my journey to understand a part of my own history of which I was completely unware until the death of my mother. I was 28 years old and at the reception after her funeral, I was made aware that not only my maternal grandmother but my paternal grandmother both had Mig 'Maw heritage (at that time the term used was Mic Mac). I am embarrassed that I never followed up on it as I simply thought of it as part of my history and got on with life. More recent work on T&R has made me want to know more and while I am pretty sure that my mother and father were sheltered from any racism (I don't think others knew they had Indigenous blood) I wonder at what point my ancestors were subjected to it. This course has been exceptional in giving me a bit of background and I intend to seek more information.

创建者 Pamela B

Nov 21, 2020

I really loved this class. I grew up in ND and currently live in Minnesota, so my knowledge of Indigenous people in Canada was quite limited. I have Indigenous friends in Saskatchewan and the class helped me to understand some of their families' history and converse with them about a variety of issues. The course instructors were very knowledgeable and professional, and the topics were easy to follow and engaging. There was a great deal of history and wide range of topics covered in the 12 lessons. The class has inspired me to continue to learn more about Indigenous people in North America and follow the politics and issues more closely. I appreciate having the opportunity to take this free online class, and will explore other Coursera classes that are available. Thank you and I wish you all the best in future endeavors!!

创建者 Sheron “ M

Mar 29, 2021

I am sorry that the course is over. I looked forward to getting into “my Studies” when the days work could be put aside. Carrying the part of studies being worked on, be it at the Doctors office or waiting for an appointment was normal. While reading I remembered some of the information presented. My Great Aunt and Uncle shared a lot with me as a youngster, I wish I asked more of them. If I have a regret, it would be not being in a classroom situation learning the course material. I would have been one of your older students at 71 years but learning and absorbing information from youth is enlightening and energetic. Just an aside only redid one test module as I believed I could do better. I wanted to accept the grades I obtained In my first attempt by studying hard. Thank You for giving me the interest to further explore.

创建者 Siegrid H

Mar 11, 2021

Excellent course! I believe every Canadian should take this course before being allowed to graduate from Grade 12. Also, this course should be completed by every politician whether at a municipal, provincial or federal level. My level of understanding regarding Canadian aboriginal history, culture, art, and current issues has increased significantly.

The course material was efficiently presented, easy to navigate, and well organized. I especially enjoyed the backdrop, pictures, and photographs during the lectures. I would have liked more pictures depicting the work of the various artists highlighted in the last module.

I wanted to take this course for over a year now but didn't make the effort to register until I came across Dan Levy's video of encouragement. Thanks, Dan! Also, I appreciated the course was offered for free!

创建者 Sarah F

Sep 2, 2020

As a recent immigrant to Canada I don't know much about Canadian history, let alone Indigenous history. I thought this was a fantastic introductory course to begin to understand the complex groups of people who make up this country. It has definitely inspired me to seek out more information on Indigenous groups local to me and other places I travel in North America. I do think it was a bit generalising at times but the hosts acknowledged they couldn't talk about every nation in Canada in depth so I am happy to forgive this. I would have liked to see more pictures in the Art course but I now have the suggestions to look these up in my own time. I also thought it was very helpful to learn what certain terms actually mean, e.g. First Nations vs Indigenous, because this is something I have not quite understood since I arrived.

创建者 Nancy D

May 11, 2021

I looked so forward to my weekly lessons from the perspective of the Professors Dr. Tracy Bear, Paul Gareau and other faculty as well as special guests and artist interviews. To have combined this with writer/actor Daniel Levy was a joy, ESPECIALLY during pandemic. The You Tube "after" conversations made me feel like I was in a classroom and helped me to frame and question what I learned - taking it forward to "now" and how I better understand what I was not taught. This gave me further insight into the teachings of Dr. Bear and Gareau too, plus caused me to deeply like them! From a technical standpoint, I appreciate the clear ease of structure of each week, clear downloads, options to view video or minimize to take notes. This platform FAR surpassed another one I had to do for work. -I bought the T Shirt : )

创建者 Michael H

Jun 12, 2017

I wanted to follow up on the TRC recommendations and become much more aware of historical and contemporary issues faced by indigenous peoples in a Canadian context. I thought this would a good course for accomplishing this. It was a great course!!!! I learned so much in this course and it was easy to do so even as a busy professional. I encourage everyone to take this course. As we celebrate the Canada 150, we should be aware that we are many nations and a smaller part of a much bigger family with a much greater shared destiny. We must find ways to be much more aware of our colonial past and strive toward a much more inclusive future. There is much to learn and this course is a great survey course for getting started. To the course instructors and organizers - Thank you very much, Merci beaucoup, and apijigo megwich!

创建者 David L

Feb 22, 2021

This course has opened my eyes and my heart to some of the realities and perspectives of Indigenous peoples across Canada (and beyond). Starting with Indigenous world views, provided a great foundation for appreciating everything that follows. There is a respectful tone to this course that I find both astounding and uplifting, given the magnitude and duration of the historical, and present-day traumas involved. Bravo to the content builders, the presenters, and the helpful TA's!! Thank you.

I was reminded of some dialogue I where two individuals were 'cooling off' after a very adversarial encounter. One commented 'We don't know each other very well, do we? We should do something about that." For me, that pretty much sums up the enormous value and potential of this course.

Warmest Regards, Dave Lafortune

创建者 Karen L

Aug 15, 2020

I am so grateful for all of the efforts put in to creating this course. I appreciate that this is a high level overview, and not an easy endeavor to take on with so many indigenous nations in Canada and such a long history as well. I learned so much, and appreciated having the perspective of Indigenous people rather than the same old dusty rhetoric. This has changed much of what I thought I knew, and reinforced much of what I already knew was not right in this country. I really appreciate how multiple facets of Indigenous oppression, and creative activism were front and center. Thank you to the course professors (Tracy and Paul), the instructors, the guest speakers, and the artists (Leah, your work is thoughtful and beautiful) who contributed.

Taking this course has opened my eyes, my mind, and my heart too.