Chevron Left
返回到 国际刑法概论

学生对 凯斯西储大学 提供的 国际刑法概论 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,326 个评分
857 条评论

课程概述

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

热门审阅

AM

Sep 21, 2020

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

LS

Oct 24, 2020

Extremely well-organized. Really glad to see how all previous examples and history records were referenced to every topic. Neatly explained topics. Every aspect was discussed and explained in detail.

筛选依据:

201 - 国际刑法概论 的 225 个评论(共 855 个)

创建者 Shantanu P

Oct 5, 2017

It is one of the nest courses that I have done till now. I will surely recommend it to my colleagues. Thank you so much for this wonderful course.

创建者 ACIDRI M R

Oct 4, 2020

This course has greatly helped me in appreciating the principles of international criminal law and I would like say thanks a lot dear moderator.

创建者 Nitish K

May 2, 2020

I haven't had a lot of online courses, but in this course there was nothing to complain about. The biggest plus is the Professor Michael Scharf.

创建者 Sir A B

Nov 2, 2020

I find it difficult but I really learned something. I saved all of the reading materials for me to read it deeply. laws is all about analytical

创建者 DINA F R Z

Feb 18, 2018

ME ENCANTÓ, FUE UNA EXCELENTE MANERA DE APRENDER SOBRE DERECHO PENAL INTERNACIONAL. LOS VIDEOS FUERON MUY CLAROS Y LA INFORMACIÓN MUY PRÁCTICA.

创建者 Jean v P

Dec 22, 2019

This course is an excellent refresher for legal professionals that would like to update their International Criminal Law knowledge. Thank you.

创建者 Jomel D B

Mar 6, 2022

As someone engaged in Criminal Justice field, this course forms an essential part of our knowledge base. It is comprehensive and informative.

创建者 Heloisa Z C

Sep 1, 2020

I really liked the course and the teacher, Michael Scharf, explains really well the basics to international criminal law and the due process.

创建者 BIZIMANA D

Nov 5, 2020

THIS COURSE IS REALLY IMPORTANT FOR A JURIST AS THE MODULES ARE STRUCTURED IN A MANNER WHICH HELPS THE STUDENT TO UNDERSTAND WELL THE LESSON

创建者 175B029 V V

Sep 12, 2020

It was fun learning this course . especially ,MR. Michael Scharf sir's lecture is amazing. Thank you cousera for providing this opportunity.

创建者 Aide S D

Dec 23, 2015

The movie clips at the beginning made me wonder if the course was going to be worth it, but once you get past that, it gets very interesting

创建者 EID S

Jun 22, 2021

I am very excited to be taking this course on the introduction of criminal law and justice at Case Western University in the United States.

创建者 Molly I

Dec 21, 2020

The videos were very easy to keep watching as they were interesting! I learnt a lot and appreciated how much reading we received as well.

创建者 David T

Oct 8, 2015

The course is excellent, I am learning a great deal so far and enjoying it. The content is also fascinating. Thank you Professor Scharf!!!

创建者 Peter O

Oct 26, 2015

Fantastic professor. Lots of very useful materials. Straightforward requirements. Contemporary cases. Very engaging course. Fascinating!

创建者 Zlata B

May 23, 2020

It was excitig and interesting. Esspecially, I thank for so many examples and true facts, which were introduced by Prof. Michael Sharf.

创建者 Miriam D B Q

Sep 9, 2020

Amazing course, I learned the basics of a topic I am very interested in. I enjoyed it and I hope I can learn more of it in the future.

创建者 nashath r

Jul 10, 2020

Enjoyed being a part of this course and had gained lots of knowledge about this topic and will also look forward for other courses too

创建者 Arianna T

Jun 26, 2018

DR. MICHAEL SCHARF EXCELENTE MAESTRO EN DERECHO INTERNACIONAL, ESPERO ALGÚN DÍA PODER PREGUNTARLE DE FRENTE TODAS MIS DUDAS DEL CURSO

创建者 Rakesh K C

Apr 24, 2021

One of the excellent topic discussed in most simplified manner and touched some of the open ended questions in a most simple manner.

创建者 Shreyosi C

Jun 12, 2020

This subject is very interesting.Thanks for giving me an opportunity to learn and know about this subject.It is very helpful for me.

创建者 Madhusudan S B

May 17, 2020

The course was really intersting and knowledgeable . Prof.Micheal scharf teaches this course amazingly i am glad i took this course.

创建者 Sean S

Jul 11, 2018

Incredibly insightful lectures that succeeded in presenting very complex concepts in a manner that was understandable to the layman.

创建者 Natasha L M

Sep 4, 2020

Very Informative and the videos are really engaging and not boring. I liked that there are handouts which helped me to read offline

创建者 Marcos E G S

Jul 10, 2020

Was an excellent course thanks to Professor Michael Sharf for providing us with such valuable knowledge of international crime law.