Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization 的评价和反馈

4.8
285 个评分
46 条评论

课程概述

Accounting has always been about analytical thinking. From the earliest days of the profession, Luca Pacioli emphasized the importance of math and order for analyzing business transactions. The skillset that accountants have needed to perform math and to keep order has evolved from pencil and paper, to typewriters and calculators, then to spreadsheets and accounting software. A new skillset that is becoming more important for nearly every aspect of business is that of big data analytics: analyzing large amounts of data to find actionable insights. This course is designed to help accounting students develop an analytical mindset and prepare them to use data analytic programming languages like Python and R. We’ve divided the course into three main sections. In the first section, we bridge accountancy to analytics. We identify how tasks in the five major subdomains of accounting (i.e., financial, managerial, audit, tax, and systems) have historically required an analytical mindset, and we then explore how those tasks can be completed more effectively and efficiently by using big data analytics. We then present a FACT framework for guiding big data analytics: Frame a question, Assemble data, Calculate the data, and Tell others about the results. In the second section of the course, we emphasize the importance of assembling data. Using financial statement data, we explain desirable characteristics of both data and datasets that will lead to effective calculations and visualizations. In the third, and largest section of the course, we demonstrate and explore how Excel and Tableau can be used to analyze big data. We describe visual perception principles and then apply those principles to create effective visualizations. We then examine fundamental data analytic tools, such as regression, linear programming (using Excel Solver), and clustering in the context of point of sale data and loan data. We conclude by demonstrating the power of data analytic programming languages to assemble, visualize, and analyze data. We introduce Visual Basic for Applications as an example of a programming language, and the Visual Basic Editor as an example of an integrated development environment (IDE)....

热门审阅

YH

May 31, 2020

It teaches us the basics of data analytics and it is very progressive. There are assignments to help us understand and practice the methods being taught. This allows us to have first-hand experiences.

CA

Aug 28, 2019

Excellent content! Instructor was amazing...interesting and comprehensive. Assignments were excellent as well, though peer-review was impossible because no one kept up with me in the course.

筛选依据:

1 - Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization 的 25 个评论(共 45 个)

创建者 Michael P

Feb 21, 2020

Excellent course, well structured, taught by a subject matter expert, suitable for individuals with executive background as well as middle-level and junior learners. Highly recommended.

创建者 Mak J W

Jun 16, 2020

I absolutely love the way Professor Guymon carries out his online module. Most of the videos have given me interesting insights into accounting analytics which I am confident of utilizing it in the future. I would also like to comment on how the video has captured my attention through the sceneries, interesting features of the school as well as interviewing people in the accounting data analytics field. Thank you for this fantastic online experience.

创建者 Mok W Q R

Jul 04, 2020

This course had exceeded my expectations! It really knows what the focus of the course should be. There are many things to learn in data analytics and the professor of the course did a touch and go on those advanced concepts and kept focusing on how to present the data which was done so with superb clarity was so apt. I will definitely rewatch the videos and apply what i have learnts!

创建者 Zong H T

May 31, 2020

I think that the course is interesting and the pace is comfortable to learners. I just wish that that can be more practice and pdf/word docs of lecture notes to make the content more organised. Kepp up the good work!

创建者 Alison Z

Nov 08, 2019

one of most insightful data analytics courses from the finance perspective, very good intro coursera for both business professional and IT professionals

创建者 Lim J H G

Jun 04, 2020

Useful for those interesting in learning more about data analytics using Excel! Might be a little content heavy towards week 6 but it was interesting nonetheless with plenty of hands-on assignments.

创建者 Amelia S

Jun 29, 2020

The lectures are very well structured and the flow of each lectures flows great

reference support and reading material is very satisfying

Presentation support such as drawings, slides, cartoons is very interesting

the way the lecturer teaches is very passionate and very interesting

the speed of the lecturer is suitable to my ability to listen and comprehend

the voice and pronunciation are clear and easy to understand

the material taught is very useful, interesting and up to date

创建者 Maria M S

Sep 04, 2020

Really love the courses! I've been in accounting field since college to work, but never been informed (well) with data. This course provides sufficient materials to understand about data analytic and visualization with accounting/finance data. Some of the materials are pretty difficult to understand, especially that I have bad skill in statistic, but the instructor is very great at explaining details. Thank you!

创建者 Damien C L S

Jul 02, 2020

Thank you, Professor Ronald Guymon! Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization is an immersive experience. The combination of discrete data and excel can result in visually appealing presentations such as Scatter Plots, Box and Whisker Diagram, and Pivot Tables. The implementation of the Regression Line (best-fit line) helps to derive values of R Square, Significance F and P. Kudos to you!

创建者 Gypsy G G

Aug 05, 2020

I’ve been working in audit since I finished my degree (about 4+ years now) and this course expanded my view on what potential path I can take that will allow me to learn and hone new interests without having to leave behind acquired technical skills from my job. This is a great program and I highly recommend this!

创建者 Kan L

Jul 10, 2020

I really like how there were demonstrations on using Excel & Tableau, where the data sets are included in each module for us to practise the skills ourselves. The lessons are also extremely engaging & useful. I enjoyed this course thoroughly & am now better skilled in using Excel!

创建者 TAN W K

Jul 07, 2020

Very informative course. Skills learnt in this course are definitely applicable to the future.

Course content is not very heavy and relatively interesting. Learn more about data analytics and how to use Excel better, which is the key takeaway for this course.

创建者 badal s

Oct 13, 2020

I have been an Accounting student for 5 years and never had an idea of how closely accounting and Analytics are related. Huge thanks to Prof. Ronald Guymon for such a terrific course on accounting analytics. Loved this course!

创建者 Lim J N G

Aug 11, 2020

Prof was very clear and everything is explained in fairly simple terms, in an easy to understand way. Piqued my interest in the topic and would love to explore in my free time in the future. Thank you Prof Guymon!

创建者 Yeo Z H

May 31, 2020

It teaches us the basics of data analytics and it is very progressive. There are assignments to help us understand and practice the methods being taught. This allows us to have first-hand experiences.

创建者 Christopher A

Aug 28, 2019

Excellent content! Instructor was amazing...interesting and comprehensive. Assignments were excellent as well, though peer-review was impossible because no one kept up with me in the course.

创建者 Sheah D Z

Jun 12, 2020

Very insightful session on how to get the best picture out of huge data. I certainly like the homework as it gave me time to practice on certain items. I highly recommend to those who take

创建者 Lee Y

Jun 03, 2020

The lecturer is very concise and goes through concepts in depth by showing examples that build on top of previous knowledge and used dataset that was previously introduced.

创建者 Toh P Q

Sep 27, 2020

For a beginner at excel, this course really teaches you a lot about data visualisation and organising data in excel and other similar applications.

创建者 Raji R

Aug 24, 2020

Excellent course. I loved it from the beginning to the end. Enjoyed throughly the two assignments. Professor teaching skill is increadible

创建者 Annabelle S S Z

Sep 20, 2020

Love the enthusiasm of the professor Ronald Guymon and the module helps me with learning more about the use of Excel and its VBA functions

创建者 GOH K Y

Jul 09, 2020

Being the first online module I've ever taken to date, the content and videos far surpassed my expectations. Looking forward to more!

创建者 Jaslyn L

Jul 09, 2020

This is a really helpful course! I have learned not only about using Excel for accounting, but also the many functions of Excel.

创建者 Sithandazile Z D

Sep 02, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and the lecture was very interactive, clear & precise in such a way i felt i was in a classroom.

创建者 Chiam Z S

Jun 01, 2020

The two lab sessions were useful and the speaker was well present himself and his points making it easy to understand him.