Chevron Left
返回到 Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious 的评价和反馈

4.7
283 个评分
89 条评论

课程概述

A challenging but fascinating topic on the way to achieving self-knowledge is the unconscious. For well over a century, psychologists, philosophers, and many others have posited a level of mentality that is not immediately open to introspection; some would even say that certain unconscious elements cannot be known through introspection. This course will examine some of the most influential ideas about the unconscious starting with the work of Sigmund Freud, and follow the development of theories of the unconscious all the way to present research in experimental psychology. But be warned: some of the things you may learn about your unconscious mind may be surprising, and possibly even disturbing! --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

热门审阅

DB

Oct 06, 2020

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.

IM

May 19, 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

筛选依据:

1 - Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious 的 25 个评论(共 88 个)

创建者 Eldon T

Feb 17, 2019

I would give this course a five star review but for the subtle mind manipulation technique employed when conflating Trump's immigration policy with mass genocide. There is a difference between locking your doors at night, fencing your property, and intentionally attacking and brutalizing fellow human beings. America is a country of laws and there are many opportunities that arise as a result of justice for all. As a country of laws, America has a right and even a duty to both welcome those in need and those who wish to improve their lives while at the same time insisting they do so legally. America welcomes immigrants that come through the door. If you think this is wrong, then open up your home to anyone and everyone who wishes to share whatever you have including your spouse. If you have an opinion, express it as an opinion--don't just sneak it into a collection of photos and quotes that are repugnant as though it is equally and factually immoral!

创建者 Rachel M C

Jun 07, 2019

I found this course to be helpful personally and the information a valuable tool for assisting others. The presentation was engaging and packed with fascinating facts. Dr Green is easy to listen to -being knowledgable, humble and humorous- and the video editing highlighted his points as effective visual learning tools. I hope to take the other two courses in the near future.

创建者 Imjad H M

May 19, 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

创建者 David J H

Apr 08, 2019

Excellent course! Dr. Mitchell Green's discussion of how somatic markers can be used as a practical and rational guide to decision making is highly informative. According to Green, somatically marked objects or events elicit physical-emotional responses that may reveal deep seated needs and desires. Such self knowledge is sometimes difficult to access through direct introspection. Combining individualized responses from somatic markers within the framework of subjective expected utility theory provides a novel approach to gaining self knowledge and potentially improving personal decision making. Highly recommended.

创建者 Kathleen R

Feb 10, 2019

Professor Green has once again put together a well-structured, well-delivered, and highly interesting and relevant course that I enthusiastically recommend to all learners and not just those with a fascination with philosophy. By offering this course in three depth levels, Professor Green appeals to divergent learner interests and styles and he infuses fresh life into topics that for non-philosophers can easily become tedious.

创建者 Eva R

Apr 20, 2020

very very interesting, and very clear, I had a great pleasure studying with you, thank you ! Maybe I would just have liked a bit more link between the Freudian concept of unconscious (week 1-2) and the more recent one developped (by Damasio, Wilson...) according to neurology (week 3-4)

创建者 Viktoriia

May 07, 2020

I am very grateful for Mitchell Green and for all who gave life to this course. It was a great adventure, I enjoyed! I was surprised by meditation moments, it is a really good idea!

I've learned a lot and I will not dwell on it ;)

创建者 Bronte W S

May 04, 2020

Know Thyself is suitable for beginner. Well explained in the lecture and good in depth if you have extra time in reading materials. The information is practical and useful for daily life.

创建者 Sobhia K

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent course, I learned a lot. However I wish the quizzes were a little tougher to ensure more effective learning.

创建者 Emma T

Apr 26, 2020

Really interesting. Hope to do the third course in the series once it becomes available on Coursera.

创建者 Nicholas P

Apr 19, 2019

Very interesting, well put together course.

创建者 Ritesh K

May 01, 2019

All I say... "a BIG THANKS...!"

创建者 Elena G

Jul 09, 2020

A wonderful course combining psychanalytic thery and practical skills l of everyday life. ! The lecturer has the carisma of making complicated psychological theries about the unconsious, easy to cmprehend and digest. Apart from an basic education in psychoanalitic concepts as also on more contemporary reasearch about the unconsious, the course provides tools to practicaly come more in contact with ones own unconsious. Also the course is helpfull in raising awareness in how we make descisions in our daily life, and thus offers a fantastic connection between psychological theories of the unconsious and awareness in decission making and skills on a practical level of ones everyday life. I so look forward and expect the next course in Know Thyself to start ''Losing Oneself''. Thank you !

创建者 Nicole K

Sep 07, 2020

There wasn't a moment in this course where I felt disengaged - the structure was very professional and relatable/understandable, the meditations really helped me focus on the tasks at hand, and the subject was incredibly interesting! I learned so much about myself and others and this knowledge is truly valuable for self-development and is very interesting to say the least. HIGHLY RECOMMEND for anyone and everyone to take this course.

创建者 Fatima B

Oct 24, 2020

The first course at coursera that I actually finished, and in just two weeks instead of four. All because it was really interesting and not too challenging (for me, a person without any psychological background). I didn't learn anything groundbreaking, but a lot of things were nice to note, and the material was well delivered (even had some jokes - highly appreciated) and easy to follow. Thank you for the good work on the course!

创建者 Richard M H

Oct 11, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I knew a bit about Freud and the unconscious prior to taking this course, but was very interested to hear new perspectives on Freud and to be introduced to other theorists who have developed and / or responded to his work. I took this course out of pure interest, but would recommend it to students who are studying Freud whether they be doing so from a humanities or social science perspective.

创建者 Rojan S

Aug 28, 2020

One of the best courses in Coursera! The videos and lessons are very well presented by use of examples and animations which help to understand the topics clearly. This course is a must for those who have an interest and want to delve in philosophy and psychology particularly about the human mind.Finally, I would like to thank teacher Mitchell Green and The University of Edinburgh for this course.

创建者 Robert B

Aug 29, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I practice mindfulness, so the meditative moments were a real bonus. Now I know how to Bamboo Breathe.

I was especially interested in the part about somatic markers and the suggestion to observe the reactions. Again this relates to mindfulness.

Dr. Mitchell Green presented the material in a clear and interesting manner.

创建者 Priti S

Sep 11, 2020

It is a course that made me thankful of my sixth sense -prorprioception ,something we all take for granted.The idea of pshycological immunity and somatic markers has made me more aware of my actions and what might be influencing them and how I may be responding. Coupled with mindfulness it is an extraordinary way to meet myself.

创建者 Marieta C

Oct 07, 2020

A very knowledgeable and charismatic lecturer who leads you through the hard-to-understand concepts with expertise and ease and makes it all seem very manageable.

A deep and pleasant journey meeting intellectual challenges on the way, perfectly structured units.

Highly recommend the course!

And a big thank you, professor Green!

创建者 LJ D

Aug 18, 2020

Really excellent delivery. I would describe it as aimed at an 'advanced beginner'. There are some complex concepts being talked about here and what makes it accessible is Professor Green's delivery.

Really great to get stuck into and an excellent use of time.

Thank you very much

创建者 Kseniya N

Jun 07, 2020

Actually a great course, covering a vast variety of quite interesting topics of subconscious phenomena. I would absolutely recommend the course for those wh would like to learn more about one's behavioural patterns, which are actually subconscious.

创建者 Amy S

Jun 07, 2020

This is a wonderful course. It gave me insight into possible reasons for my own behavior and that of others, which has a practical impact on my life. I highly recommend it! And, I can't wait for part 3.

创建者 DeVante B

Oct 06, 2020

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.