Chevron Left
返回到 如何学习:学习困难科目的实用思维方法

学生对 麦克马斯特大学 提供的 如何学习:学习困难科目的实用思维方法 的评价和反馈

4.8
50,160 个评分
13,883 条评论

课程概述

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

热门审阅

RH

Sep 17, 2019

I loved it very much , it helped me in improving my skills and trying to find my passion by learning and have a great energy to do great things , it is my pleasure to have this course from you doctors

EA

Apr 29, 2017

This was a great course! I learned a number of different techniques and strategies for learning more effectively that I can't wait to implement in my studies. I highly recommend Learning How to Learn.

筛选依据:

326 - 如何学习:学习困难科目的实用思维方法 的 350 个评论(共 10,000 个)

创建者 neha

Jan 19, 2017

This is a fantastic course. It really helped my understand how we learn and how to become a better learner. It combines facts about the brain with our daily life which makes the information not only interesting but also highly relevant . Questions at the end of the videos are a great tool to make sure you were actually paying attention. during the video.

Barbara Oakley is a splendid coach and made this course a memorable experience for me and Terry Sejnowski helped me understand science simply without over simplifying it. :)

Kudos to the entire team of Learning How To Learn !

Cheers!

p.s. Thank you Coursera for offering such courses. :)

创建者 Valeria

Jan 25, 2020

This was my first Coursera course and it has been absolutely brilliant! Thanks Dr Barbara Oakley for putting this together because you have outlined so many practical tips for optimizing learning. On top of that, I really appreciated the interviews you did with different people on the subject - sharing their personal experiences in learning. You even addressed many of the challenges people normally face and demystified it all - Einstellung and Imposter Syndrome for example. You delved into a essential topic and made it so accessible - an indispensable start to learning anything else! I wish I knew all this when I was at school!

创建者 Holly

Jan 29, 2016

This course is the foundation to success in all you do! I can't praise these instructors enough for the time they spent in laying out the groundwork so clearly and efficiently. For those of us with ADHD, it's a life changing discovery of skills. Years of feeling like our brain is "broken" and doesn't function like others that are "normal" can be embarrassing and defeating to say the least. For those of you that want to simply improve your study habits and retain more, deeply... this is the course for you. Simple, effective and practical... This course was a delight! I highly recommend it, no matter your IQ, skill level or profession.

创建者 cjpembo

Sep 16, 2015

I was a first-generation college student back in 1990. I was intelligent, hard working, and had excellent grades in high school. But I was totally lost in college. I didn't know how to spend my time efficiently to maximize my learning potential. My method was to just carve out a block of time at night to sit down and brute force my way through engineering homework. That was the hard way to do it... this course will introduce the correct way to tackle tough courses.

The subject material is not difficult at all; putting it all into practice may take some un-learning and effort, but you will certainly see benefits in the long run.

创建者 Li L

May 23, 2018

Thank you so much for teaching us this important lesson in my life! Truly inspiring, and useful. I found it drastically improve my effectiveness in my studying. I used to lose confidence in my science subjects, thinking I am just lacking the so-called "math/science talent", but I found out from this course that it's actually the problem of my methods! Now I am implementing the methods I have learnt from this course, and improve my grades dramatically. Now I am recommending this course to my friends who are struggling with their studies, helping them with what I have learnt.and I believe this will help! After all, thank you so much!

创建者 Chris H

Aug 03, 2016

I found this course extremely helpful in doing exactly what it proposes to do. It breaks down ideas on how to study more efficiently, as well as focusing on retention. I especially enjoyed the week focusing on procrastination, as I have a hard time with that to point debilitation at times. This course has helped me to view things I would ordinarily avoid and I now try to make them a challenge or a goal to overcome. The course did not take so much time either, there is no reason you could not fit this into your schedule. I definitely recommend this course to strangers and I have already suggested it to my friends and family as well.

创建者 roberto p d

Apr 29, 2019

Ha sido un Curso de muy elevado nivel. Con un formato excelente con preguntas de práctica que me ayudaron mucho a comprender, nuevas formas de aprender, a utilizar la memoria y me siguen entusiasmando para estudiar, más y mejor.

Agradezco a TODOS los profesores, especialmente a la Profesora que dirige los videos, su calidad al presentar los mismos. A los científicos y especialistas en el estudio del cerebro que me han dado una nueva visión de, como somos y de cuánto provecho podemos obtener de nuestras potencialidades! A todos, Muchas Muchas Gracias , desde Uruguay los recomendaré y los recordaré SIEMPRE! Roberto Pagola Uruguay!

创建者 Matt C

Sep 17, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal. This course should be required for an person who owns a human brain. Dr.'s Oakley and Segnowski have given the world a great gift in this course. The theory resonated with my personal experience over the years and really helped me connect the dots around how my mind works. I was able to apply the practical suggestions immediately (and in fact while taking the course to the course itself!)

This tools I've learned in this course have helped me become more productive in my work and home life and even beyond that I've been able to use what I've learned to help my kids with their schoolwork. Wonderful stuff.

创建者 Bojana

Oct 22, 2018

Huge thank you to Dr. Barb Oakley and Dr. Terry Sejnowski for this invaluable gift. I wish I had been taught how to learn before starting school, instead of stumbling blindly through by using my own methods (though it turns out many of them correspond with the concepts of this course).

Dr. Oakley - this course is now in my memory palace associated with an image of you holding the octopus of attention in one hand and a flying mule in the other, all three perched atop my window sill and no taller than 4 inches :)

I promise to teach as many of the concepts I've learned here to people around me who need to know them.

Thank you so much!

创建者 Jozra G V

Feb 17, 2018

I'm doing a PhD on Physics and Astronomy in prestigious university in UK, so one would think I have mastered learning. Nothing would be farther from true, I spent many years in the usual way of learning, which did not leave me with deep knowledge, it was just for the tests. This course have showed me the right tools for really learning, it has brought to my attention several key aspects I inadvertently dismissed when study previous degrees. More importantly it proved me that no matter how old you are, or how far you have advanced in higher education and academia you can still learn how to be better at learning! Fantastic course!!

创建者 Micheila

Nov 09, 2015

Phenomenal course content delivered in fun, easily digestible chunks. I loved the references to the latest neuroscience and the stories of hard work and perseverance that led to success, like Santiago Ramon y Cajal. The bonus/extra reading was really helpful and entertaining as well (especially about writing and languages).

It was a real pleasure to have taken this course, my first with Coursera. I wish I'd known this stuff 15 years ago when I was in university... I fell into the trap of re-reading as a learning technique.

I'm telling everyone I know about Learning How to Learn, particularly those who are currently in university.

创建者 Huiyi L

Jul 24, 2017

It is really a fantastic course, which I am more than willing to introduce to my families and friends. I have applied some of the techniques I have learned from the course, and they are useful and effective. It also debunks some myths regarding learing. But what I think is the most important is that it have changed my mindset. It alters my conception of learning, and even of other things in my life. I feel lucky having a chance to take this course. And Now I am taking another course of Barb andTerry (Yes, it's Mindshift! ). It's glad to see them again, and to learn something new that will also have a profound impact on my life.

创建者 Lhamo T

Oct 16, 2015

I really wish that I had the chance to take this class while i was in college or before I went to college. I was such a dumb that I didn't have these great techniques and I just wasted my 3 year college life. When I recall my college life, I just didn't learn much. I just went for the exams. It's pathetic honestly; however, now I have learned the GREAT tools from this class that I am going to teach all to my brother who is a sophomore in college now, and learning never ends that I can apply all the tools into my life long learning. Thanks a lot for offering such an incredible class for free.

I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS CLASS.

创建者 Julian C

Nov 29, 2015

Learning How to Learn is an excellent class for individuals wanting to polish their rusty learning skills, and expand their learning tool-kits. I especially enjoyed learning about new ways to learn, how other people learn, the common struggles many of us experience, and the latest in research on learning. The tools, suggestions, and topics have already helped me expand my Chunked Mental Library. Useful resources were also provided; I purchased the book Fluent in 3 Months by Benny Lewis and signed up for the Publicationcoach.com. I can't wait to dive into these resources. Thank you for a fantastic course. Julia, Carlsbad, CA.

创建者 Leo S

Jan 31, 2016

It changes my mind about learning, long term before I encountered this course, I knew it must be something wrong in my learning method which conduct a very ineffective learning-product. This neuroscientific based course enlightens me in scientific learning and makes me start to think seriously about how to learn more effectively. It's really a great honor to encountered this course, and I'm sure it would be one of the most powerful asset I ever had in my lifetime. My sincere gratitude to Dr. Barbara Oakley, Dr. Terrence Sejnowski, How to Learn Team and all the interviewees invited. Thank you for all your great insights on me.

创建者 Tony

Nov 29, 2019

It's a fantastic course. It has shed light on all the learning problems i have been facing in my career. My career needs me to keep updating myself. But I lost track over a period of time. Things I need to learn accumulated over a period of time and when I looked at them it was overwhelming. That's when I started taking this course. It has highlighted all the mistakes I have been doing learning and gave me tools address them .

Thank you so much Professors.

For other learners like me, a piece of advice: Watch the optional interviews given in the course. They are real eye openers. You get to hear a lots of stuff from legends.

创建者 Ostap A

Jan 28, 2016

This course is great. I'd say I became an evangelist of this course. I told about it to lots of my co-workers and I already feel I'm getting better at learning.

One of the main issues I always suffered with was "cramming everything on 1 day". I still believe I did the same during this course. But now, at least, I recalled the material from time to time in various places, explained it to my co-workers, listened to summary videos from time to time and testedmemorizing various stuff using memory palace technique.

This is a great course! Barbara & Terrence, thanks a lot!

Best wishes & thanks for learning how to learn!

Ostap Andrusiv

创建者 Peter K

Jul 19, 2019

I have been struggling with reading, and the more I read the better I have become at reading. Problem solving has improved greatly!

I am 67 years young, and look forward to new challenges everyday!

My hobbies include Photography, tinkering with devices [fixing them] also gardening, if it does not grow this year try next year! I consider failures as successes as long as I learned from the experience.

My deep appreciation goes out to Barbara Oakley [I am also a veteran US Navy I crossed the Pacific and Indian oceans] so I also have a deep respect for all the people who have taken this course no mater where they live and reside!

创建者 Shubhra S

Apr 12, 2017

This course has been a wonderful resource about learning and I feel it has equipped me with many efficient tools of learning such as The Pomodoro technique, the importance of sleep, the importance of subconscious mind and the diffused mode of thinking and various ways of grasping the material and retaining it in our long term memory such as recall, testing, and spaced repetition and all of this has only made me a better learner. So I am really grateful to Coursera for giving us the opportunity to learn, and to our instructors, Barbara Oakley and Terry Sejnowski for dedicating their time and compiling such an amazing course.

创建者 Jennifer M

Dec 10, 2015

This class is wonderful! I learned so many different things about the brain, thinking, memory, tools, tips for more efficient studying, and the list goes on. This is the first step in my journey, and I will take all that I've learned here and apply it not only in my future studies, but my daily life as well. Thank you Coursera for offering such wonderful opportunities for people to gain knowledge and understanding on many levels. And finally, ( the best for last ) Thank you so much to the fantastic professors for making it fun and funny at times, for all the wonderful tools and for the opportunity to Learn how to Learn.

创建者 Kerim G

Aug 04, 2019

I came into this course skeptical and worried that it would be a waste of time. That it would be geared too much for young adults. But the information presented (and presented well) was very informative and useful even for more mature lifelong learners. Both me and my amazing girlfriend took this course together and will surely take the lessons with us and use them to learn more efficiently in our lives! Thank you very much to the professors.

What I really appreciated were the sources at the end of every video. I'm the kind of person who actually goes through them and sees if there's anything that could pique my interest.

创建者 Matthew G

Aug 21, 2017

This course is very informative and insightful. There are so many useful hints and tricks that, even though very small and almost insignificant, have made a huge impact on my ability to learn new things, and how proficient I am at learning them. Understanding what's happing "under the hood" helped rid me of the guesswork that's associated with learning new things - that is, it gave me a tool that I'd been trying to find within myself for many years. The video-nature of this course, and the informative visuals helped to make the experience interesting, inviting, and stress-free. I plan on recommending it to all my friends.

创建者 Oliver C

Mar 16, 2017

Simply: this is the single best and most important course of learning I have ever done.

Not only has it inspired and uplifted me, it has given me real and concrete methods and techniques for becoming a much better student (of life!). For all people of all ages, backgrounds and interests I tell you: take the opportunity to do this course and you will not look back.

I wish I had this course when I started university; it should be compulsory material for learners and students everywhere. In short, this course is OUTSTANDING.

I want to thank Barbara Oakley in particular for teaching me how to be a much more capable human being.

创建者 Hong W L

Jan 22, 2017

This is a course that is truly about learning which applicable and practical knowledge and techniques are taught. Each video have visual aids and analogies with some comedy added in that helps to retain information. Questions at the end of the videos test your understanding on the lectures and a summary at the end of each week is useful in recalling and retaining information. I feel that most presentations and lessons taught in school can definitely learnt from this course in teaching more effectively. The tremendous efforts put into interviewing successful people in different careers and hearing tips are very enriching.

创建者 Binsheng L

Dec 05, 2017

I love methodology of doing things. This course teaches me the systematic methods of learning, some of which are what I have already known and applied successfully. It provides me a systematic perspective to review and reinforce the methods. Additionally, it not only provides insights on how to learn but also the scientific evidence that underlies the methods. Understanding the rationale helps me applies the techniques better and more flexibly.

The course is not limited to any particular subject. It tells us how the brain works. It's helpful in learning anything. Anyone interested in learning should take this course.