Chevron Left
返回到 Love as a Force for Social Justice

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Love as a Force for Social Justice 的评价和反馈

4.7
339 个评分
113 条评论

课程概述

The objectives of this course are: -To introduce participants to different concepts of love, to empower them to be conscious of the power of love and the possibility of practicing it in everyday life, and to highlight in particular the idea of love as a force for social justice. -To communicate a sense of personal strength and empowerment by actively learning from each other and beginning to define how participants can apply their learning in service to society. This course will explore the concept of agape love (compassion/kindness) as a force for social justice and action and as the inspiration for service and the application of knowledge to positive social change. Biological, psychological, religious, and social perspectives of love will be discussed, drawing on the expertise of people from a variety of disciplines. During the six-week course, the following topics will be raised and discussed: kinds of love/defining love; non-violent communication; love and the biology of the brain; love as a basic concept of religious and ethical beliefs (e.g., Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Gandhian); love applied in action, and poetic expressions of love as a social force. This curriculum aims to foster a sense of the importance of love as a key phenomenon in creating community, connection, and functional societies among humans. Course materials will draw from a variety of sources. One of the goals of the class is to provide participants with some knowledge of the literature of love, and readings for the course are listed in the outline of the course on the pages that follow....

热门审阅

AG
Jun 17, 2021

Excellent concepts, theoretical models and practical applications of social justice work in educational institutions, business and non-profit and health care settings. Anindita Ganguly, Ph.D.

KL
Oct 31, 2019

I learned to find ways to look at how ordinary and mundane moments can be lived extraordinarily. This made me radically change my perspective on love and living life fully.

筛选依据:

51 - Love as a Force for Social Justice 的 75 个评论(共 117 个)

创建者 ELISABETH N

Aug 25, 2020

I truly enjoyed this course. It challenged me, touched me deeply, and taught me so much. I am grateful to all the professors and contributors.

创建者 Robin I

Sep 23, 2020

Wonderful course and great instructor. If everyone practiced what is taught her the world would be a wonderful place to live in general.

创建者 Nigel K

Feb 4, 2018

I've learnt so much about life and myself through this course-- and it's not even done yet, I wish I could rate it higher than 5 stars.

创建者 Andrealiz A

Jul 7, 2021

I​t's the class that EVERYONE should take! Truly a life-changing and mind-opening course. Highly recommend this class to any student!

创建者 Kazi Z H

Oct 2, 2020

I have learnt a lot about love and its force. It is very interesting course. The most interesting part is peer-graded assignments.

创建者 Ava M N

Jun 19, 2020

Everyone should study this course to have a peaceful life and to affect their society , to experience justice and equality.

创建者 Trisha L

Jan 2, 2018

Informative and amazing it is a perfect class for life period! i wish i could have everyone take this class so perfect

创建者 MJB

Feb 17, 2021

Dear Anne,

Thank you for sharing your desire for Love as a Force we can attain, in our environment and social justice.

创建者 Jonathan W

Feb 28, 2018

Very much enjoyed this course. It was well done with great further reading and other resources. Glad I took it.

创建者 LJ

Nov 21, 2021

I had a lot of fun taking this course. I enjoyed the videos, reflections and also reading my colleagues work.

创建者 Dana H

Aug 2, 2021

I​t opened my eyes to a new definition of love and how I could enrich my life through simple acts of kindness.

创建者 DeAnna

Jan 9, 2018

Great fun and supplement to all public health, gender, women's studies, men's studies, history courses

创建者 Toktam T

Aug 19, 2020

I loved the whole process, it was very informative, simple but deep and very well done. Thank you!

创建者 Jacqueline P

Jun 15, 2020

Wonderful course.Deep and thoughtul.Gave me a broad perspective on Agape Love and Love in general

创建者 Ildeblete G M J

Jan 5, 2018

I'm like a lot this course, now I'm getting more learn for me and my thoughts. Thanks for all.

创建者 Paula B

Jan 22, 2018

One of the most well prepared and relavant courses with direct application that I have taken.

创建者 Peggy B

Nov 4, 2021

​i found the journey of this course rich, enlightening and heart-expanding. Thank you!

创建者 Nora M

May 20, 2021

Really enjoyed this course and the professor seemed awesome in all of her videos!

创建者 Frida G O C Z

Dec 10, 2020

A wonderful course to learn new ideas about how to make the world a better place.

创建者 Morgan J

Oct 5, 2020

Loved this course. I think it should be a required class as a general requisite.

创建者 Sham S

Apr 21, 2021

Love is the most powerful tool to change this world for betterment of humanity.

创建者 Alida C

Aug 2, 2018

A great way to productively listen and understand other's views and opinions!

创建者 Magdalena

Sep 21, 2019

Useful in private and professional life. I am very grateful for this cours.

创建者 Ana M S A P

Jul 19, 2021

A unique experience. Everyone should have the honor of taking this course!

创建者 Ayu

Jul 7, 2019

very good lectures, reading sources and links. The topic is fascinating