Chevron Left
返回到 Preparing to Manage Human Resources

学生对 明尼苏达大学 提供的 Preparing to Manage Human Resources 的评价和反馈

4.8
6,596 个评分
1,823 条评论

课程概述

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

热门审阅

MG
Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

SH
Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

筛选依据:

51 - Preparing to Manage Human Resources 的 75 个评论(共 1,804 个)

创建者 Dr. C

Dec 17, 2020

I thank Professor John W Budd, for his excellent insights in human resources subject and the way of teaching is excellent. the course was very informative and interesting.

创建者 Pimchat P

Oct 28, 2020

This course is really useful for any managers who would like to know how to efficiently manage their teams or employees. It’s also useful for the one who would like to know the meaning of HR, how HR people work, the process behind the scene, and other things that one needs to know about HR.

After I finished this course, I realized that HR is a lot more than I thought and it’s really interesting. I can also extent my knowledge and continue searching for more resources and studying by myself easier since I’ve got all the basic knowledge from this course.

创建者 Melissa P

Oct 28, 2020

This course was harder than I had anticipated. I learned a lot and definitely could have benefitted from a vocabulary outline/key.

创建者 Yue P

Mar 9, 2020

First of all, I am so sorry I have to give a one-star review for this Human Resources lesson. Those lecturers are experts in the HR field, their lectures are clear and helpful. It is such a pleasure to learn from their lectures.

The reason why I give a one-star rate is I believe Coursera's "peer review" assignment procedure is really problematic. "Discussion section" is supposed to be a place that all student share their ideas and experiences, however, it is filled with "Please review my assignment and I will review back with the highest marks" now. I totally understand why this happened now, due to the "peer review" procedure.

For me, I have an assignment requires a minimum of 80% to pass the whole specialization. My first attempt got 77% and I thought "Sure, there is definitely some improvement I can make". My second attempt got 79% and guess what? I canceled the subscription and find a real book and some videos from youtube. I believe I can learn from CPHR's NKE materials as well. I just don't understand why I need my classmate's review, especially some of them don't give a shit about assignment quality, to pass the course.

Overall, the one-star review is targeted to the problematic "peer review" assignment rather than those respectful lectures.

创建者 Niwech H

Dec 6, 2016

It is not what I was expecting to learn from this course. The course syllabus seems very good but the actual lectures are not good. I would not recommend this course to any one. I don't think we can call this as introduction of HRM because it doesn't give us any knowledge related with HRM. The only new term to me is the high-road vs. low-road, the rest is the common sense to me.

创建者 Shaniqua P

Oct 20, 2020

There is no hands on activities with this course. It consist of watching videos and answering quizzes. I am more of a hands on learner so I got very bored with the course.

创建者 Valerie V M

Jul 24, 2020

I am unable to rate this since I feel that this course if more theory and concept oriented and I was looking for actual guidelines on hiring and onboarding.

创建者 Nisal L

Oct 31, 2020

It is a good learning ...what I did to have a beter comprehension I rewrite all the subject matter on papers sothat they may help me oneday to remind my lectures at works. I got to know about the people managing in addition, people are the most valuble thing on earth to deal with. All the things take place between humanbeings throughout this human living circle so therefore this coirse values not only for when we deal with workers in a organisation but in our lives also this can be applicable. At last I want to thank for your encoragous teaching and for the cultivation you as a teacher who plant a tree ( specific knowledge) in me. So now it is my turn to harvest it. Thank you very much.

创建者 Mónica A S

Jan 28, 2021

Really great module, I learned a lot of new concepts, a lot of things that have an influence on HR, the different things that a manager should consider in order to be a great manager and so much more. I personally think that the interviews and "speed-dating with HR executives" were amazing and really helpful. As an undergraduate looking forward to specializing in HR, this introduction was amazing and I'm looking forward to complete the whole specialization course. AMAZING PROFESSOR and amazing explanations. Thank you very much.

创建者 Apurva H N

Aug 24, 2020

This is a best course for someone who wants to learn what HR is about or explore the field. The course gives flavor of all the different areas in HR in a very easy to understand way. There are frequent quiz and assignments which actually helps to check our understanding a lot. The best part was indeed the peer graded assignments, which encourages to think creatively and helps to connect the theory into practical application. Plus, it allows to read responses by other students, which gives so many new perspectives.

创建者 K V

Nov 23, 2020

Professor Budd is definitely a fun teacher. Everything is explained in detail without that much nonsense talk. Being someone who likes taking down notes, I actually filled up a whole notebook with all the awesome information he has taught. I definitely have a better understanding of what HR does now. I took his course so I can manage people better, and will definitely finish and do all the other courses under HR for People Managers Specialization, so I will be a better leader and manager.

创建者 Douglas I

Feb 20, 2021

My review is based on what I have learned so far, bearing in mind that there could be a lot of details that I'm yet to know about, being new to the course. However, Professor Budd did a good job in the way the course was presented. He defined the subject, gave a good background of where economics, psychology and sociology come together in human resources management. He talked so much about strategy and how to be successful, and the pit-falls to avoid. Again, a very good start.

创建者 Sucheta C

Aug 7, 2019

I feel that this course is an absolute commendable course as an basics to know what HR is all about. It can basically give an bird's eye view on how things work in an organization both from the worker's and the HR manager's side. By going through this course you'll realize how vast and dynamic this field is. I would definitely recommend this course to all the beginners like me who aspire to become HR as this would act as an introductory foundation class for your higher studies.

创建者 ONI, T O

Sep 16, 2020

I am ONI, Thomas Olatunde a Nigerian and a Postgraduate Degree holder working in one Private University in Nigeria. The course Preparing to Manage Human Resources is a course that is loaded and contribute an educative impact to the live of learners. I really benefited from the course as it exposes me to many things which I dont know from onset. The facilitators of the course really did an impactful knowledge and I am grateful to them all.

Thank you.

创建者 Shivam C

Oct 26, 2017

Dear Professor John Budd, thank you very much for this excellent course indeed! It is really interesting and very helpful. It helps me to improve my knowledge. Basically I am from mathematics background. This course contains all basics of HRM which is good for those students who are from different backgrounds This course provide interesting overview in very practical way . I would recommend this course to my colleagues who are interested in HRM.

创建者 Diana N

Jan 25, 2021

Prior to pursuing this course,I had little knowledge and experience on the legal aspects of work and to understand that different approaches matters when it comes to managing people. I love the methods provided by Professor John Budd for his extensive teaching and materials provided,now I walk away with a vast amount of knowledge that can better assist me as a person and employee, thank you so much for this oppurtunity

创建者 Ariane M

Dec 28, 2020

I am very happy you permitted me to learn this course. It was very beneficial to me. Now I have one of the element to look for a job. I found no difficulties with the course. What you people are doing to help people like, is very great. One thing I can say is , keep on and may the good Lord continue to bless you people for this.

Now I will like to continue and finish with the three remaining courses. What can I do?

创建者 Win W S

Nov 9, 2020

I am not native speaker , so to learn with English I need more time. And would like to request to get the hand out and video what I have learnt because some lesson I forgot to download and I need to study again and read again. It will be great if I could get this. Thank you so much Coursera team for your course and teacher Mr.... . I really appreciate. Hope I could join next course with discount price.

创建者 Sandra V P

Oct 30, 2019

Sandra Viviana Paiz Argentina

Es un curso de mucha importancia, que brinda una excelente preparación y despierta un gran interés para seguir incursionando en nuevas experiencias. Hubo mucho respeto entre compañeros, sus opiniones fueron muy valiosas, para poder llegar al final. Me siento muy feliz y agradecida a Coursera por haberme dado esta posibilidad.

创建者 Carlos A

Mar 26, 2021

Prof. Budd is amazing, clever, creative and nice. Very straight forward in each video but without making it boring. I genuinely enjoyed his classes and think is very important everything this main information on HR subject. I wasn¿t thinking on taking the other 2 courses but now for sure I will and hope his orher colleagues keep this level he established.

创建者 Anton M

Nov 1, 2018

Great material. Detailed videos. The tests and reading really reflect on the materials given to us thru out the lessons. And the peer graded assignments felt great because there are actual others that are also interested in the same activities as this course and helped me understand more about their views as much as a more in dept understanding of mine.

创建者 INDRANIL C

Feb 27, 2021

The course is really very helpful for front line managers . It helps to develop in depth knowledge on peoples, organizations , & legal framework which will help the manager to become good leaders.

Even if there is emphasis on HR strategies and practices but this is very helpful for any Manager in any field to accomplice hands on expertise.

创建者 Daniel R

Jun 6, 2020

I thought this was a very informative, well-organized and useful course. I liked the way outside learning options were suggested as well. As a newbie to HR and Business in general, this was a perfect starting place for me. I was able to get the lay of the land and start to think about how my own experience could transfer into this realm.

创建者 KAMMARI P

Jul 28, 2020

I've learnt many new skills from this course

1.Understanding alternative approaches to managing human resources and appreciating the diversity of factors that motivate workers.

2.Applying best practices for hiring and rewarding employees, and for managing employee performance

3. Avoiding key mistakes in (mis)managing human resources

创建者 Donna M C

Sep 2, 2017

This course provide a comprehensive introductory overview on the basics of HRM. I very informative and started to apply the lessons learned right away. As a non-HR manager the course helped to be better understand the driving principals of HR and various theories upon which the discipline is built. I highly recommend this course.