Chevron Left
返回到 Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta

学生对 巴塞罗那大学 提供的 Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta 的评价和反馈

4.5
92 个评分
27 条评论

课程概述

In this course you can learn about the mechanics of global weather, the foundations of ocean meteorology, predictive modeling and how sailors receive data via satellite and use high-performance navigation software. This course looks at oceanic meteorology and climatology through the lens of the sport of sailing. You will gain a basic knowledge of meteorology needed by sailors to take part in a regatta such as the Barcelona World Race, the only double-handed, round the world regatta with no stops. You will learn about the strategies employed during a round the world regatta and how these are put to use on board the latest ocean racing yachts....

热门审阅

筛选依据:

1 - Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta 的 25 个评论(共 27 个)

创建者 Kristina F

Sep 15, 2017

Awesome course. If you're into sailing or meteorology there is nothing better. The amount of knowledge conveyed in this short course is immense, yet it's fun and captivating the whole time.

创建者 Matt M

Aug 30, 2017

interesting course, sometimes the subtitles are not correct. But overall it is easy to follow. I had sometimes some difficulties to see the boats on the screen behind Marcel in the case studies.

创建者 David W

Jun 3, 2018

Instructors did a great job introducing not only Meterology, but the basics of sailing equipment and technology for taking a boat around the world. Excellent!

创建者 Clare E H

Aug 16, 2020

I loved this course, as sailors with a 28ft blue water boat this has relevance as one day we would like to sail the world... until we do, this has added valuable meteorological and sailing knowledge.

It was difficult to see the screen sometimes and I found it useful to have google maps open too.

I also had to research the difference between high and low pressure and how they are formed as I didn't find this clear.

Not speaking spanish the subtitles were invaluable.

Many thanks, Clare

创建者 Fethi O Ö

Jun 26, 2017

''No man will be a sailor who has scheme to get himself into a fence,for being in a ship is being in a fence, with the change of being overwhelmed.'' Said James Boswell in 1759. It's not good enough to become a sailorThis course telling us how to use winds when you on the sea surface.Thanks for the creators and all sailors teached us which kind of subjects the meteorology included.

创建者 Luis A R A

Jul 6, 2018

Curso muy interesante para planificar navegaciones a la vuelta al mundo. Guía práctica y bien explicadas de las condiciones meteorológicas reinantes en cada área en donde se desarrolla la BWR. Material didáctico muy útil que hacen más entretenido y fácil el aprendizaje de todos los contenidos.

创建者 John B

Jan 14, 2018

This is my first MOOC and it lived up to my expectations. The material covered was well presented by great instructors. That some of the lectures were in Spanish (which I do not speak) was not a problem. I would recommend this course for anyone interested in

创建者 AUBIN N

Dec 15, 2018

Really interesting course to have a really good idea about what system can be expected on a round the world regata. Also really good material for local effects and tactics.

创建者 Joseph B

Mar 11, 2018

Great course for any aspiring navigator or anyone who wants to learn about weather.

But, a majority of the course is in Spanish but, there are subtitles.

创建者 Christian A M B

Jan 20, 2020

Disfruté mucho aprendiendo acerca de regatas alrededor del mundo y cómo los distintos componentes del tiempo afectan la estrategia.

创建者 Patricio M

Sep 8, 2020

Muy ilustrativo, entretenido y finalmente entnedí bastante más de como funcionan lo vientos. MUchas gracias

创建者 Iustin T

Apr 3, 2018

Very interesting material, nicely explained. I have learned a lot from this course. Thank you!

创建者 Pedro R

Jul 26, 2019

Curso focado bem na rota da Barcelona World Race com ótimos conhecimentos e boa didática!

创建者 JOHN Q

Jul 26, 2017

Not only interesting, but a hula lot of fun to take. I felt in the race!!

创建者 Daniel C P

Mar 13, 2018

Great info and clearly presented! Very usefull!

创建者 Adell V

Jul 23, 2020

Super! Very interesting!

创建者 Sandip D

May 12, 2020

Great course

创建者 Conny R

Jun 7, 2020

it would be useful to see the questions and selected answer for the incorrect ones in the quiz, as it is hard to remember what one needs to review.

The translation from spanish to english was often hard to follow, and the whiteboard drawings hard to see due to a weak contrast.

Overall though a great course, informative and well presented.

创建者 Joseph R

Aug 26, 2020

This course gave a good basic insight into meteorology and how it is used by Sailors. I particularly liked the case study section as it explained how the weather affects the Sailors tactical decisions. Using the case study to show meteorological effects on the BWR was very interesting.

创建者 Ioannis K

May 1, 2020

Thank you for the valuable information. Very interesting, educating and yet fun to complete.

(-) The maps on the screen were difficult to watch, subtitles in English moderate.

创建者 Federico S

Jun 29, 2017

Muy interesante! Seria ideal contar con los subtitulos en español para los audios en id

创建者 Pier L G

Dec 26, 2018

Very useful and practical. Sometimes the audio quality is low.

创建者 Ian F

Jan 14, 2019

Good introduction to ocean sailing meterorology

创建者 Doris G

Feb 9, 2018

The material was insightful and useful. Unfortunately it mainly covers the route for the Barcelona World Race and I was ultimately more interested in the weather patterns for the North Pacific. I think the overview of the weather (first sections) with the latter sections chockfull of examples were great and I better understand the weather systems in sailing terms on a broad base. Thanks!!

创建者 dan h

Aug 17, 2019

Somewhat deceptive that the course is advertised in English but given in Spanish.