Chevron Left
返回到 Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,189 个评分

课程概述

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

热门审阅

JM

Jul 28, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK

Apr 7, 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

筛选依据:

76 - Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age 的 100 个评论(共 284 个)

创建者 Robert F

May 3, 2020

Excellent combination of logic, statistics and psychology which is the minimum amount of understandings you need to make accurate business decisions.

创建者 Gary L

Jan 27, 2018

This is a fantastic course.

Even with two masters degrees I learnt a lot and have recommended it to my colleagues.

It should be taught to all students.

创建者 Виктория Е

Mar 4, 2019

I just finished my first week, but I already can say that it is changing my mind! These skills are extremely helpful in our lives. I am so grateful!

创建者 Julius C G P I

Nov 21, 2021

In my opinion, a must-take course. Hopefully someday it will be included as mandatory curriculum for public high schoolers all around the world.

创建者 Travis J

Sep 13, 2018

A pretty crucial look at the common fallacies and biases that influence the way we absorb information. This is highly recommended to all people.

创建者 Tharmira

Jun 18, 2020

It's just an amazing course, and delivers what the title says. The teacher is amazing too! I might take the course again sometime in the future!

创建者 Wellington S

Apr 10, 2021

The professor was excellent and the whole course was very much easy to follow. I enjoyed the exercises and the information learned was precise.

创建者 David A Q A

Jul 4, 2018

A Clear and Useful course to be a Better Decision Maker. Do you need something else? What you waiting for? Take course it's more than a nudge.

创建者 Mark P

Sep 20, 2019

This has been most excellent.

I found the baserate false alarm rate examples particularly useful and am inspired to use this in a new context

创建者 Paul K

May 28, 2019

Superb. Being able to (begin to) see cognitive biases and errors daily--and realizing that everyone makes many--is enlightening and humbling.

创建者 Sunita A

May 14, 2018

The activities and lectures were really interesting. This is the first course that i started and completed on Coursera. So I'm super excited.

创建者 Sofia G

Jul 21, 2017

I really love the course, and I have recommended it to all my friends. The course helped me to think more clearly and avoid cognitive biases.

创建者 Sergey L

May 11, 2020

Brilliant! I constantly felt a great emotional uplift during this course and I am very grateful to Mr. Nisbett for everything that I learned

创建者 Segizbay A

Jul 31, 2020

Very informative. Thank you! I would want to come back to this course's lectures from time to time to refresh my knowledge. It is worth it!

创建者 Gianluca A

May 15, 2017

This course is really helpful to start thinking in a critical way.

It open your mind to a new kind of reasoning, a right kind of reasoning.

创建者 Haoming L

Nov 25, 2019

Useful course! Dr. Nisbett will quote many cases and examples to help you better understand many interesting concepts and phenomenons.

创建者 Christos G

Sep 6, 2017

Excellent collection of mistakes we make during decision making and logical reasoning. A valuable companion for the rest of your life.

创建者 Carlos R G

Nov 16, 2021

Well structured course, good timing for the lessons, engaging content and highly relevant. I loved it. Thank you professor Nisbett.

创建者 Vijay S

Jul 20, 2020

Great Course

Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice.

创建者 Noemi G

Mar 24, 2020

I loved every part of this course. Enlightening and easy to follow even for people who never or almost never studied these subjects.

创建者 Anand G

Jun 13, 2017

Great course. liked the content as it will help in making decision and understand, analyze situations problem in much better light.

创建者 Prisanti P

Oct 16, 2020

It's a great course suitable for everyone. The course is often bite-sized and interesting, making you want to learn more and more.

创建者 Trevor M

Nov 10, 2021

​A great course that I would recomend to everyone. I am very honoured to have had the chance to take a course from Dr. Nisbett

创建者 Steven B

Apr 28, 2019

The course was very informative and paced just right. It was a light introduction to a lot of concepts that all tied together

创建者 Ameer U A K

May 5, 2020

An excellent course. A handy worksheet like describing all the principles and a small definition of them would be great too!