Chevron Left
返回到 Simulation and modeling of natural processes

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Simulation and modeling of natural processes 的评价和反馈

4.1
158 个评分
48 条评论

课程概述

This course gives you an introduction to modeling methods and simulation tools for a wide range of natural phenomena. The different methodologies that will be presented here can be applied to very wide range of topics such as fluid motion, stellar dynamics, population evolution, ... This course does not intend to go deeply into any numerical method or process and does not provide any recipe for the resolution of a particular problem. It is rather a basic guideline towards different methodologies that can be applied to solve any kind of problem and help you pick the one best suited for you. The assignments of this course will be made as practical as possible in order to allow you to actually create from scratch short programs that will solve simple problems. Although programming will be used extensively in this course we do not require any advanced programming experience in order to complete it....

热门审阅

GS

Sep 28, 2019

Extremely good course with excellent python codes for interesting applications

BS

Jul 25, 2019

In depth analysis of simulating processes, from mathematics to algorithms.

筛选依据:

1 - Simulation and modeling of natural processes 的 25 个评论(共 48 个)

创建者 Simon C

Jan 17, 2018

Much of the content is excellent. I think the introductory lectures were good for someone who hasn't studied the topic before, and I found weeks 4-6 to be very valuable. Some other parts were not so strong: lectures on Discrete Event Simulation introduced data structure that weren't explained well, e.g. Calendar Queues. On the whole, a competent first course.

Lectures were presented professionally. Participation in the forums was patchy, compared to some other Coursera courses. There doesn't seem to be evidence of Mentors/TAs getting involved when students are stuck.

I would have liked to have had more reference material for those who wish to follow up topics further.

创建者 Johannes W

Jan 06, 2019

Nice introduction in various topics. Further studying is required to use any of the topics in a practical way, but it helps to get started looking for more advanced literature.

Unfotunately I found the Quizes and Projects of little help to further understand or deepen any of the material. They are way to easy to solve and, in my opinion, mostly do not require a good understanding of the material to solve.

I would recommend to watch the videos and skip the quizzes.

创建者 Qingfeng L

Feb 18, 2019

I really doubt about whether those lectures have carefully prepared this course or not.

First, there are several typos in the slides.

Second, sometimes the logical connections from one section to another section is weak. I can understand the content of each section, but when I ask myself why they introduce this section... I lost...

创建者 Martin B

Jul 24, 2019

Very poor presentation of the course.

创建者 Lucas J

Mar 07, 2019

Not enough challenging problems. Too many poor quality videos. The presenters didn't care, couldn't speak english, or were too shallow. Too many typos, and errors.

创建者 Ruedi G

Dec 19, 2018

Moocs are valid if they involve better than average teachers. The current teachers do not fulfill this criterium. In particular, some of them have very poor diction and knowledge of the English language. The texts in the quizzes have elementary language mistakes. It would not have been too much effort to at least have them checked by a native speaker.

创建者 Gopalakrishna R R

Apr 30, 2019

A very good coverage of the range of computational modelling techniques available. The lectures were both interesting and informative, and the quizzes and coding exercises well designed to facilitate learning. My thanks to the lecturers and researchers at the University of Geneva and associated organizations for developing an excellent course.

创建者 Joris R

Dec 06, 2019

In my opinion some of the exercises were testing computing rather than understanding. I would have liked to work on completing the codes of the simulation models. The examples that were discussed are very appealing and interesting. Overall level of content is very good, good explanations and goo level of difficulty in the content

创建者 Alberto D M

Apr 25, 2018

I am a bit disappointed by the last two weeks, especially week 7, not because of the errors but because they have not been fixed yet. I would say that not all the instructors have put the same effort in giving and preparing their own lectures. Anyway, interesting topics and good introduction to all of them.

创建者 Ulrike H

Jan 30, 2019

Overall, it is a very good class in which one gets a broad overview of modeling and simulation of processes. Very recommendable! I drop a star, because some lecturers don't have a fluent language and therefore it is sometimes difficult to follow the content (e.g. using many filler words).

创建者 MOHAMMED R M

Apr 22, 2020

It is good course.I learned so many models and simulations processes in natural things and our surroundings.This gives you best impact on your computing skill.thankyou coursera for this opportunity to study this 😊

创建者 Franklin A

Oct 05, 2019

More reading materials need to be uploaded onto the website because it becomes difficult to complete assignments without any prior knowledge. Aside that, the course is great and be educational. Thanks a lot

创建者 Кузьмич В А

Feb 08, 2020

I get really good base knowledge in modelling and simulation. But, this course would be better, if more tests and exercises about algorithm implementation were.

创建者 Rihouey M

Apr 21, 2019

Week 5 and 6 where harder to follow and the projects where more complicated to understand (even though it shows that effort were put into them)

创建者 GIRISH B

Sep 09, 2018

Very systematic and detailed introduction. Good way to start off into the science of simulation and modelling.

创建者 杨名

Apr 25, 2018

Introduce many interesting topics. The Lattice Boltzmann Model is the most challenging one. Implementation examples are demonstrated all through the class and there are chances to experiment and execute the code. However, the projects are already half-finished. Although building the code from scratch is a bit hard, I still think it's a really crucial step.

It would be better if more challenging questions and topics are introduces and there should be more explanations on a more fundamental level. The homework is somewhat ambiguous in some weeks and guessing the REAL meaning of the problem was quite annoying.

创建者 Andrew E

May 19, 2018

There are a frustrating number of mistakes in the questions and sometimes in the lecture slides. I think the course gives a good grounding in the types of simulation required for different problems and I like the examples used. I'm not a huge fan of the style of lectures as it's incredibly different to learn from flicking through slides. Lectures where examples are worked through in a more interactive way (such as on white boards) are far more effective for teaching.

创建者 Sean B

Sep 04, 2019

Overall a good course, but looking through the forums I see that plenty of other learners were confused and frustrated about the same problems I encountered. There are too many unresolved questions and errors.

Before you enroll in this course I recommend enrolling in "Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python". It's more introductory than this course, but it gives a solid foundation of simulation and Python.

创建者 Pedro P R

Mar 07, 2018

The topics covered in the course are extremely interesting and its a great place to get the fundamentals right. Special mention to the cell automata and the LB method. Although, I feel extra exercises would be needed to further deep the material. Overall, a great course if you are looking to learn fundamentals but exercising what is show is much dependent on your own imitative.

创建者 Vinicius M d C

Sep 10, 2019

I believe this course has a great content. I had almost none background on this subject and I was able to go through the end and learn new things. I don't think it has as many errors in language as the other ratings make you think. But the course is abandoned. No interactions from the tutors.

创建者 Zhixia L

Nov 11, 2017

Some slides have mistakes, please review it!

Some quizzes have wrong answers, please correct them, they are confusing!

Some instructors made mistakes in the video, why not record it again?

创建者 Xihan Z

Mar 01, 2018

The course is useful, but there're too many mistakes in the quiz and assignments

创建者 Persistent L

May 02, 2020

This is a wonderful, industrially very relevant subject. The course content is good; except that the delivery is very lousy. It is apparent that the faculy are not native speakers of english. They seem like they make up their sentences in their native language and then translate it in their minds to english and then speak. This results in annoying time lag from sentence to sentece, due to which it is more challenging to conceptrate on the topic. When they are not taking this path, they are reading the slides, without much sights are explanations.

Some questions were very difficult to understand because the translation was bad. Again, first thought in or even written out in another language and translated to english with some essentials lost in translation.

All in all it was a disappointing course for me.

创建者 ffpffp

Mar 11, 2020

If you paid for the course, sorry you might find it below your expectations. However, regardless of all the language issues, errors in slides and quiz, lacking of instructor interaction, you might still be available to learn something. Take good use of the slides and make sure that you have completed all the projects. Refer to the discussion forum in case that you encounter any challenge.

创建者 Kiril K

Aug 18, 2019

Poor presentation of the course.