Chevron Left
返回到 Mountains 101

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Mountains 101 的评价和反馈

4.9
747 个评分
261 个审阅

课程概述

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

热门审阅

SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

KC

Apr 27, 2019

Absolutely loved every second of it! Reignited my love for geography and the outdoors with sleek, informative- documentary styled lectures. I found the course holistically enriching and fun!

筛选依据:

1 - Mountains 101 的 25 个评论(共 262 个)

创建者 Annie C

Nov 11, 2018

I've always liked the outdoors, and Mountains 101 provided me a lens with which to view and appreciate mountains. The course delves deep into everything to do with mountains globally, focusing on the Canadian Rockies as a home base. Topics cover the history of mountains in literature and society, biology and conservation, geology and the climate impact of mountains, and even tips on how to explore mountains safely and comfortably. The visuals are stunning and I appreciated the well-rounded approach of this course. Zak and David are articulate, engaging, and easy to understand, and the many on-location interviews with experts only added more to the course. I'm already planning a trip to the Canadian Rockies!

创建者 Yves S

Aug 04, 2017

Good intro course, I just hoped that the focus would have been more on the geological part and a bit less on the cultural part. But still, those parts enhanced the variety and completed the view one has on mountains, so I can live with it :-)

All in all quite a complete intro on mountains - recommended!

创建者 Karnik P

Jun 20, 2019

Gives a deep understanding that how mountain ecosystems works and how to conserve them with keeping various dimensions in mind.

创建者 Kari P

Jun 16, 2019

Informative, engaging and very well laid out material. Big thanks to everyone involved in the making of the this course.

创建者 David P D

Jun 05, 2019

An outstanding applied geography of mountains that deals with the physical, ecological, and human dimensions, with practical advice on how to experience mountains firsthand. The course makes great use of current and historical photography, diagrams, animations, pop-quizes during recorded lectures, and interactive maps. It sets a high bar for self-paced courses in terms of content, pacing, and use of the platform.

创建者 Alondra J L B

Jun 03, 2019

Excellent!!! Very informative and well organized course. Recommended to all mountain lover. Thank you for providing such great materials to us.

创建者 Giacomo M

May 23, 2019

Keep loving Mountains <3

创建者 Peter

May 18, 2019

Excellent course, interesting and wide-ranging in the selection of topics. As a student from Africa I would have liked a bit more of an international flavour, particularly around the dependency of populations on rapidly degrading mountain environments. The course is a bit Canada-centric, which is also very interesting for us foreigners, who envy the resources you can bring to the protection and study of mountains.

创建者 JOSE B M

Apr 29, 2019

Excellent

创建者 Kyle C

Apr 27, 2019

Absolutely loved every second of it! Reignited my love for geography and the outdoors with sleek, informative- documentary styled lectures. I found the course holistically enriching and fun!

创建者 Jeevan G

Apr 08, 2019

fully enjoyed this course and wish there were more in depth lessons associated with what was taught. thanks for a great experience!

创建者 Daniel C

Mar 15, 2019

The best course out there for Mountain aficionados. Looking forward to taking Mountains 102.

创建者 Tara M

Mar 15, 2019

I absolutely loved this course! It was interested, informative, and engaging. I wish ALL my courses were like this one!

创建者 Abby

Mar 12, 2019

Informative and interesting!

创建者 Natalie V

Mar 03, 2019

Fantastic Course! I

创建者 Harry A H

Feb 26, 2019

Besides giving you a thorough explanation of mountains, it opens your eyes to all the famous places ( mountains) in the world. I think you look at the world differently after this course.

创建者 Krish R

Feb 22, 2019

Great introductory course on Mountains. Thank you very much.

创建者 Ryan

Feb 21, 2019

Great course!

创建者 Jingtian Z

Feb 16, 2019

The course is very good!

创建者 Bo P

Feb 13, 2019

What an amazing course. So much time effort and thought was put into this course. The quality of the content was amazing and as a lover of mountains I found this so interesting. Above all, the passion that went into this course made it perfect. Now when I'm in the mountains I enjoy the even more! Oh and the last video...nice touch! ;)

创建者 Joan V M

Feb 08, 2019

Amazing! I enjoyed and learned a lot, thanks!

创建者 Jacquie H

Feb 05, 2019

Beautifully delivered. Very inspiring course. Thank you.

创建者 Christopher W

Feb 02, 2019

Mountains 101 provided a broad, interdisciplinary review of topics pertaining to mountains. The course instructors presented the material in a way that was both informative and interesting. The visual accompaniments to the lessons which depicted terminology or a biological/geological process were outstanding. I would recommend this course for anyone with an interest in mountains.

创建者 David S

Feb 02, 2019

Everything about this course was wonderful! Great information, great instructors, very fun course!

创建者 Amber M

Feb 02, 2019

Loved the course and learning an all around study of mountains from history to preservation to the wildlife and biodiversity. Also appreciated the tech tips! This is a great course for all nature lovers.