Chevron Left
返回到 Mountains 101

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Mountains 101 的评价和反馈

4.9
854 个评分
300 个审阅

课程概述

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

热门审阅

SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

KC

Apr 27, 2019

Absolutely loved every second of it! Reignited my love for geography and the outdoors with sleek, informative- documentary styled lectures. I found the course holistically enriching and fun!

筛选依据:

1 - Mountains 101 的 25 个评论(共 297 个)

创建者 Benjamin A

Feb 24, 2018

Great diversity of topics. Awesome collaboration between professionals in the scientific community. Fully appreciate the knowledge and inspiration acquired throughout the course. Thank you!

创建者 Alan B

Jun 22, 2017

This is a very comprehensive and interesting presentation of the place mountain occupy in our social, economical, and spiritual life. I definitely would enjoy visiting the Canadian Rockies.

创建者 Annie C

Nov 11, 2018

I've always liked the outdoors, and Mountains 101 provided me a lens with which to view and appreciate mountains. The course delves deep into everything to do with mountains globally, focusing on the Canadian Rockies as a home base. Topics cover the history of mountains in literature and society, biology and conservation, geology and the climate impact of mountains, and even tips on how to explore mountains safely and comfortably. The visuals are stunning and I appreciated the well-rounded approach of this course. Zak and David are articulate, engaging, and easy to understand, and the many on-location interviews with experts only added more to the course. I'm already planning a trip to the Canadian Rockies!

创建者 Yves S

Aug 04, 2017

Good intro course, I just hoped that the focus would have been more on the geological part and a bit less on the cultural part. But still, those parts enhanced the variety and completed the view one has on mountains, so I can live with it :-)

All in all quite a complete intro on mountains - recommended!

创建者 Wasima E

Dec 13, 2018

amazing lectures with spectacular video classes which provide adequate knowledge with exact visualization !

创建者 Gládiston d S C

Nov 27, 2018

Excellent Course!

创建者 Sara S

Dec 02, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. I recommend it to anyone that has any interest in learning more about mountains. Every lesson is jam-packed with great information. Thank you!

创建者 Sofia K

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

创建者 Kyle C

Apr 27, 2019

Absolutely loved every second of it! Reignited my love for geography and the outdoors with sleek, informative- documentary styled lectures. I found the course holistically enriching and fun!

创建者 Sean G

Jan 16, 2019

GREAT VIDEO AND PHOTO'S, VERY INTERESTING

创建者 Luis s s

Jan 31, 2019

curso recomendado si te gustan las montañas y quieres conocer más sobre su dinámica y ecología-

创建者 Mark

Jan 20, 2019

Very thorough and informative, well presented and thought out course; well done!

创建者 KASHIF H

Feb 01, 2019

I love to learn and this course was awesome and really good learning experience !

创建者 Daniel T V

Feb 01, 2019

Fantastic course, I enjoyed it so much.

创建者 David S

Feb 02, 2019

Everything about this course was wonderful! Great information, great instructors, very fun course!

创建者 Amber M

Feb 02, 2019

Loved the course and learning an all around study of mountains from history to preservation to the wildlife and biodiversity. Also appreciated the tech tips! This is a great course for all nature lovers.

创建者 Michelle O

Feb 01, 2019

Thank you for creating this fantastic course! I loved the interdisciplinary approach, and the many segments featuring experts from various areas of mountain research. Professors Hik and Robinson also did a great job of guiding through the course material. Overall I learned a great deal about mountains, which will inform my own projects going forward. I recommend this course to everyone!

创建者 Christopher W

Feb 02, 2019

Mountains 101 provided a broad, interdisciplinary review of topics pertaining to mountains. The course instructors presented the material in a way that was both informative and interesting. The visual accompaniments to the lessons which depicted terminology or a biological/geological process were outstanding. I would recommend this course for anyone with an interest in mountains.

创建者 Xiang J

Jan 11, 2019

if you like outdoor activities, It's pretty good.

创建者 Ryan

Feb 21, 2019

Great course!

创建者 Krish R

Feb 22, 2019

Great introductory course on Mountains. Thank you very much.

创建者 Bo P

Feb 13, 2019

What an amazing course. So much time effort and thought was put into this course. The quality of the content was amazing and as a lover of mountains I found this so interesting. Above all, the passion that went into this course made it perfect. Now when I'm in the mountains I enjoy the even more! Oh and the last video...nice touch! ;)

创建者 Jingtian Z

Feb 16, 2019

The course is very good!

创建者 Natalie V

Mar 03, 2019

Fantastic Course! I

创建者 Abby

Mar 12, 2019

Informative and interesting!