Chevron Left
返回到 Social Norms, Social Change I

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Social Norms, Social Change I 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,211 个评分
309 条评论

课程概述

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

热门审阅

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

筛选依据:

251 - Social Norms, Social Change I 的 275 个评论(共 299 个)

创建者 Mira L

Aug 02, 2019

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.

创建者 Miryana V

Jul 12, 2019

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

创建者 Pete B

Mar 20, 2019

Good presentation, accessible reading material, and all easy to digest - but the final lecture on measuring was sort of long...

创建者 Kristi D

Feb 26, 2018

I learned a lot and I enjoyed the professor's demeanor and personality. I will take the next course in this series for sure.

创建者 Nawarerk C

Feb 28, 2020

The content is quite complicated, however, the instructor makes it easier to understand. Case examples are really helpful.

创建者 Isha J

Jul 14, 2019

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

创建者 PRAVEEN R

Mar 26, 2020

One of the best social Psychology course available online, which allowed me to understand various norms around the world.

创建者 Kariwilliams

Jan 19, 2020

Very informative introduction into identifying and measuring social norms. Thank you for sharing this research.

创建者 Janina G O S

Aug 17, 2017

The course was difficult but it helped broaden my horizon on how to bring about positive change. Thank you!

创建者 Rowan K

Sep 16, 2019

The most thing which helped me was the examples after every definition .. thanks a lot

创建者 Victoria H

Apr 23, 2018

It was very interesting. I only wish I were able to highlight things in the reading.

创建者 PHUONG T

Dec 03, 2017

Very useful course to understand about social norm and how to measure it.

创建者 Annu K

Apr 22, 2017

It's really very useful curse. Thanks for taking me in this course.

创建者 Rinki R

Oct 14, 2019

This course is well designed and explained by Cristina Bicchieri.

创建者 Luke G

Feb 07, 2017

Very nice and informative, and practically useful! Thanks Cristina

创建者 Erick O

Sep 12, 2017

Great examples and well crafted methodology for online learning.

创建者 Nadya

Jan 18, 2018

Denied Certificate after successful completion of the course.

创建者 Furqan A

Aug 15, 2017

Very god course especially for the Development practitioners.

创建者 Christina

Sep 06, 2017

I loved it and would take another course from Cristina.

创建者 Rik d G

May 21, 2017

Great course, sometimes a bit hard to follow

创建者 Lillie K

Jun 30, 2019

the terms became quite confusing to follow

创建者 shady m r

Jul 23, 2017

needs more tests, but it's great overall

创建者 Zaid A

Jul 29, 2017

Well laid out, easy to follow.

创建者 MIAWAWANA G F

Mar 24, 2018

super!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

创建者 eslam s k

Jun 04, 2017

very useful thanks a lot