Chevron Left
返回到 Social Norms, Social Change I

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Social Norms, Social Change I 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,774 个评分
459 条评论

课程概述

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

热门审阅

PE
Mar 5, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC
Aug 4, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

筛选依据:

376 - Social Norms, Social Change I 的 400 个评论(共 450 个)

创建者 Maryann F

Apr 28, 2020

Helpful framework for determining how to shift social norms. The detail in which the instructor teases out the nuanced ways to assess why individuals act the way they do is very helpful

创建者 Mai A

Jul 5, 2017

It's useful , it help me to know more about spreading of any norm,custom ,etc and help me to know ways of distinguish it and helping people to differentiate between good and bad one .

创建者 Ricardo R I

Oct 9, 2016

It's very useful. I think at first lectures there is neccesary a synopsis about the concepts and their classification or relation, because as you deep the relation is more confused.

创建者 Sezin I

Jan 9, 2017

I enroll the course just for listening videos and following the readings,

I really enjoyed it, and learned it, it gives another perspective to see the whole community

thanks a lot

创建者 NEHA P

Apr 28, 2020

Good insights about social problems and how various organisations working hard to change mindset of people living in rural areas. Learned new concepts about norms. Good Work!

创建者 Mahesh J

Nov 8, 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

创建者 Natasha

Feb 6, 2017

The course is very detailed, with a strong methology and useful examples. Nevertheless, it wasn't always simple to follow and the last week was very demanding.

创建者 Armand B

Jul 17, 2019

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

创建者 Amelie D

Jul 1, 2021

The course was easy to follow, and the concepts were well explained. The combination of videos and learning material was a big help.I learned a lot.

创建者 Florence O

Jul 20, 2021

T​his course was very useful and inciteful. The course content is very detailed and intermittent quizzes very useful in facilitating learning.

创建者 Mira L

Aug 2, 2019

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.

创建者 Miryana V

Jul 12, 2019

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

创建者 Pete B

Mar 20, 2019

Good presentation, accessible reading material, and all easy to digest - but the final lecture on measuring was sort of long...

创建者 Kristi D

Feb 25, 2018

I learned a lot and I enjoyed the professor's demeanor and personality. I will take the next course in this series for sure.

创建者 Nawarerk C

Feb 28, 2020

The content is quite complicated, however, the instructor makes it easier to understand. Case examples are really helpful.

创建者 Isha J

Jul 14, 2019

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

创建者 PRAVEEN R

Mar 26, 2020

One of the best social Psychology course available online, which allowed me to understand various norms around the world.

创建者 Mohsin A

Dec 26, 2020

Its been a long time I have completed course on social norms, social change, well I think it's quite long but good.

创建者 Martin E

Apr 19, 2020

This course enhanced my understanding of human motivations and behaviors including how to determine causal factor

创建者 Kariwilliams

Jan 19, 2020

Very informative introduction into identifying and measuring social norms. Thank you for sharing this research.

创建者 Janina G O S

Aug 17, 2017

The course was difficult but it helped broaden my horizon on how to bring about positive change. Thank you!

创建者 Sergio A P V

Jun 24, 2020

The feedback of the exams can improve more and put more examples in the videos, thanks for all.

创建者 Jessica M

May 4, 2020

Well presented and points made very clear. Great real world examples. Thanks Christina :)

创建者 Rwan K A

Sep 16, 2019

The most thing which helped me was the examples after every definition .. thanks a lot

创建者 Victoria H

Apr 22, 2018

It was very interesting. I only wish I were able to highlight things in the reading.