Chevron Left
返回到 Social Norms, Social Change I

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Social Norms, Social Change I 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,514 个评分
382 条评论

课程概述

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

热门审阅

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

筛选依据:

76 - Social Norms, Social Change I 的 100 个评论(共 373 个)

创建者 Mohamud M

Jun 06, 2020

The course materials, videos and readings are quite detailed and appropriate to enable one easily understand the subject, participate in discussions and answer the quizzes questions.

创建者 Sarah S Y

Jun 15, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Insightful. Professor clearly communicates course content. Could do without all the opening jingles/intros since the video clips are really short, though.

创建者 Tamoghna A

May 16, 2019

Was a fascinating course that highlighted we human beings are driven by norms and societal expectation. Negative norms can be turned positive with the right kind of intervention.

创建者 Melissa P

May 04, 2017

I loved this course so much! It discussed important topics within Social Norms and Social Change at length, and really strengthened my understanding of each! Thank you so much!

创建者 Sergio A A

Jul 29, 2020

This course was important to me because offers really good categories to understand the behavior of people in a community. The explanation and the support material were great.

创建者 Sabeen a

Jul 05, 2020

excellent teacher and videos , helpful literature and easy to comprehend .. thank you .. if possible please provide online certificate for those who cant afford .. bless you.

创建者 Rochelle V

Mar 05, 2020

It is mind blowing to know that the norms we grew up with could be explained scientifically. It gives me a refreshing view on how we can strengthen or abandon social norms.

创建者 Rex L

Aug 02, 2019

thank you very much. from this course i have learned a lot, this basic understanding of norms and social behaviour will help you to understand what happening around your.

创建者 Lisa k

Jul 19, 2017

i really like this course as it showed the root of some social norms in the community that i live in and i was able to analyses people's motives for behaving in such way.

创建者 Saúl A

Jul 10, 2017

It is a great course that allow to learn the importance of social norms in order to propose change mechanisms and promote social development and human rights achievement.

创建者 Diana F

Aug 15, 2017

This course was very interesting. It helped me understand about how to proceed in the intervention of some of the company employees behavior and expectations. Thank you.

创建者 Michael T D

Mar 06, 2019

It is a very educative course that provides the learner with the technical lens, and gives ways problems could be solved best. I'm hoping to start the part 2 soon.

创建者 Damini B

Apr 09, 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

创建者 umar f

Apr 21, 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

创建者 Diego P L

Oct 03, 2017

Excellent course, clear and structured. Well based in rigurous references.

To understand social norms and a first approach to measure them. Highly recommended!

创建者 Lilen Q

Feb 10, 2019

It has been one of the best and most useful courses I have taken in my life. Without doubt, I will be able to put this knowledge into practice in my work.

创建者 Gilbert A A

Apr 22, 2018

The course was very interesting. Provides an excellent insight on understanding social norms and developing intervention strategies to bring about change.

创建者 Ajay V

Apr 25, 2018

It was a fantastic course that concisely taught the different expectations that we face in society. Whether it may be our own or of society in general.

创建者 Erme S

Jun 16, 2017

Very useful to me, a undergraduate student of computer science who love HCI and want to understando complex social domains. Very clear, a nice teacher.

创建者 Varun K S

Aug 14, 2017

I absolutely cherished whatever I learned through this course. It gave me a perspective to view things from critical, rational and shared perspective.

创建者 Lourdes C

Mar 14, 2020

Excellent course, fantastic Lecturer, lots of new learning and interesting pointers on social norms and beliefs. Very well taught and structured.

创建者 Keith S

Dec 10, 2017

I thought that the course was both practically relevant to international development work, and also well supported by theory - a nice combination.

创建者 Kamrul H

Nov 07, 2017

All the topics are elaborated with real life examples. Also designed to be very interesting. I enjoyed every bit of it while learning new aspects.

创建者 Maria J S C

Jul 09, 2020

Cristina is amazing. Everything is very clear and ordered. I believe this should be a compulsory course for anyone interested in public policy.

创建者 Diana M

Sep 04, 2017

I think is a great course, is applicable to any society and very well explain, also Cristina is very nice. I definitely will enroll to part II