Chevron Left
返回到 Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

学生对 Google 提供的 Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User 的评价和反馈

4.7
14,941 个评分
2,895 条评论

课程概述

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

热门审阅

JA
Jun 21, 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

MA
May 23, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,\n\nUsing commands with Windows and Linux\n\nHow to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot\n\nThanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

筛选依据:

2126 - Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User 的 2150 个评论(共 2,861 个)

创建者 Hélène M

Apr 15, 2020

The course was globally good: the videos were always interesting and the topic was well explained. There was a lot to learn/remember (the commands in both Linux and Windows) so I recommend writing it down! The only thing that doesn't give this course a five out of five ratings is the labs... The time for the last labs was too short and the instructions were not very clear. I know that it was done that way so the learner can work autonomously but I was permanently not sure of what I was doing or why I was obtaining points. It misses, for example, something that shows the learners' progress. I saw that a lot of other learners thought the same thing as me so I think that it needs some improvement in this part. Overall, it was a good course and I recommend to take part in this course :)

创建者 jacob p

Mar 18, 2019

I want to give this 5 stars so much but I feel like it fell short on a few things. Firstly the linux labs with there pkk files were not well introduced so the first lab was a struggle to get into. Also all the other linux labs seemed to have there own quarks such as having to deviate from the parameters laid out. Which if done on purpose brilliant! If not then just a head ache. But the final labs were amazing and just made me wish all the labs had been like that. Because those were the best simulation of on the job work. The instructor was lovely. And the course material was great. Just need a little polish on the labs and an increase in difficulty and it would be exquisite.

创建者 Nicholas D

Feb 20, 2018

Qwiklab assignments are quite slow to recognize actions taken in the VMs (a couple of minutes), which is understandable. Sometimes, however, I would get 50/50 on a lab and then end the lab. I go back and it doesn't show up as completed (or even attempted). Wait a couple of days for the system to work. Nope still not there. Support was able to help quickly and resolve the problem after providing screenshots of the completed lab, but one lab I had to redo because I forgot to take a screenshot at the end of it. I have no idea where the grade gets lost between the Google Cloud Platform/Qwiklabs and the main Coursera system but it happened multiple times for me. :/

创建者 Sébastien L

Dec 22, 2018

This was good. I enjoyed course #2 much more than the other two so far. Many of the references that are given as "Supplemental Reading" in this course are quite boring considering the vast amount of stuff one could learn. Many topics in those sections are simply useless: I don't care about flags and options available for a command, that's what the built-in help command is for. Otherwise, you can quickly Google your way around. You won't be a power user after taking this course, but some notions are very useful and well presented, such as users and groups permissions, process management and troubleshooting with the help of system logs.

创建者 Dionmy A C D

Oct 7, 2018

Parecerá extraño lo que diré pero ha sido el tema que más me ha gustado y disfruté mis logros; pero a la vez, me ha hecho sentir frustración, impotencia, y en ocasiones, ganas de dejarlo. Me sentía como una pelota de tennis donde Venus Linux y Serena Windows me agarraban a raquetazos tirándome de un lugar a otro o Messy Linux y Ronaldo Windows me daban a patadas y me mandaban de un campo a otro. Era como si estuviera haciendo dos cursos en uno. Pero uds. y los del Qwiklab no dejaban que me diera por vencida. Así que, GRACIAS A UDS. lo terminé.

Realmente preferiría ambos temas impartidos aparte con muchos Lab.

创建者 Cynthia D S

Jul 26, 2020

Excellent material. Excellent content. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars was due to QwikLabs which are an astronomical waste of time. I finally found the problem. I did not need a workaround; the chat people are very friendly and entirely not helpful. Sadly, the problem is a simple one and lies directly with QwikLab and connecting to the Secure Shell. No one at Coursera and no one at QwikLab seems to care. The student is left on their own to try to figure it out on their own. After an astronomical 40 hours, I realized QwikLab's error. Otherwise I would give the course 5 stars.

创建者 Christopher M

Jul 29, 2018

I learned a bunch of new material in this course! I am especially happy with the labs at the end. Finally, a challenging lab. I actually had to use my head and my notes. I find the walk through labs interesting and helpful, but not nearly as much as having to try and figure things out based on what I was taught. My only gripes are the instruction seems to breeze past or gloss over certain details while going through things and there is an awful lot of "suggested reading" of things that probably should be covered. I hope to see more on those things, as promised in the videos, in the next courses.

创建者 Justin W

Apr 3, 2019

Check those last two labs(Windows and Linux Logs) for grading errors. I completed all of the assigned tasks, but only received a score of 80% for each lab. I completed both of the final labs a second time, and still only received an 80% score. All of the tasks to be completed in these labs are simple, and I know that I completed everything correctly, as I've been an IT Support Manager for 5 years now, and a Support Specialist for 10 years prior, and have performed all of the tasks in these labs about 300 times. Something is wrong with the Qwiklab grading system...

创建者 Wm. T W

Dec 2, 2020

I enjoyed the class and found that it covered a ton of information (thank the gods for OneNote). My only issue is that is seemed like Linux was often sort of tacked on to the program. We would spend 7 minutes of more going over how to do something in Windows and then Linux would barely get 2.

Now, I realize that some of this is because WIN is so common out there and because Linux can simply be easier to use once you understand some commands, but, if I wanted to learn Linux by studying web sites and trying to work it out, I would have done that.

创建者 Brooke F

Jun 19, 2018

I wish more examples (even if a quick in passing example) as to how some of this stuff will be used, or is important. Having never worked with a virtual machine I still don't know why that would necessarily come in handy when I think about my experience in Corporate America. Overall a lot of really good information but I wish more of the Linux labs were like the last one. I struggle the most with CLI and Bash. Having the chance to use my brain and being guided a bit better to figuring out some of these commands would have been nice.

创建者 Matt M

Jan 19, 2019

Finally, they start to deliver on some of the "we'll talk about that in a later video" that were given out like candy back in Course 1. Not too sure why they chose to use powershell for the windows command-line classes. Surely, it'd be easier to just teach linux and say 'also, most of these commands work in windows powershell'. Also, several of the videos could be combined together. combine creating directories, and files, with deleting and renaming directories and files. Only benefit to breaking them up is a touch of suspense.

创建者 Sandra E

Aug 2, 2020

This course was amazing! So many useful tools in Windows and Linux to troubleshoot problems! Highly recommend taking this course to become a power user.

My only problem, is that I don't own a Windows PC so hands on practice was challenging. If you want the most out of this course, I would STRONGLY suggest to use a Window 10 machine. That way to can play around with the many tools provided for you in this course. Oh! and downloading Linux too! I've been using a Mac to take the course, but I just don't get enough hands on :(

创建者 John O R

May 20, 2020

I would have loved to have given 5 stars but the instructor needs to improve her delivery. There were too many times she should type something in a command line without speaking and then hit enter before I could see what she typed.

I also wished that I had the files on my system that she was playing with in the CL so I could play along with her. (I am pretty sure that I am not the only person who needs to learn this way)

It also would have been nice to been give cheat sheets in a handout for the CL commands.

创建者 David B

Feb 11, 2018

Continue to be disappointed with the labs not working properly. It often takes multiple attempts even to log in (Windows labs), and the score card (Windows and Linux labs) frequently doesn't even display a score at all, despite completing the labs successfully. Course material is generally okay though.

It would also be nice if someone involved with the course was involved on the forums. There often seem to be questions, but rarely does anyone from Coursera or Google seem available to assist.

创建者 KIRAN V T

May 13, 2019

The course as a whole is absolutely informative. Ms. Cindy is no-nonsense to the point instructor.

Her lectures are good and she follows those up with an example. I was recommended this course by my boss, I would recommend it to others too.

I wanted to give 5 but will stick with 4, as in first week lab assessment linux lab instructions are al over the place and a bit confusing. I had to redo it twice to get it right. So since there is no 4.5 i will give a 4.

Keep it up Cindy and Google.

创建者 Victor A L

Sep 13, 2020

Very interesting, and well done videos, my only disappointment is with the labs, specially the ones for windows that had many issues from using power shell (which don't execute the commands) to labs who are slow to show the login info or simply won't credit the points earned when completing a task.

Videos from the instrustor are pretty good an the instructor is awesome. But please work a little bit to improve labs and make them faster and credir points when a task is completed.

创建者 Angelo F

Dec 19, 2020

I've learned some Bash commands and I've learned a bit more about Powershell and some new Windows tools. The course is very comprehensive, but fails into put all these informations in an organic way. I know that mastering these tasks require a lot of practice and research, but sometimes it seems to be a bunch of disconnected informations that you should learn in a week interval. Anyway, I think it's worth taking these course. Thanks to Google, Coursera and Cindy.

创建者 Robert H

Aug 7, 2019

Gave a good understanding of the concepts and use of the command line. Being given the commands in most assessments was nice in order to successfully complete the assessment. But there could have been more assessments like the final one, where we had to really think about what commands or actions to take. I had to research my notes to find the right commands for that one. This type testing would seem more effective for a real world scenario.

创建者 Meghan B

Nov 18, 2018

The final test (Windows section) was a bit more difficult than I expected. I wasn't expecting to be using the Gui as much as it actually required us to use. I think you definitely should explain that the Gui will be as big a part in the final as the Powershell. I ended up writing down all the code I knew to complete all the tasks and I ended up failing it twice. No where did it state that I would be using the Gui except for the example task.

创建者 Don G M

May 1, 2019

The content was great, with explanations about the commands and examples.

However, not much opportunity to practice using them (which is essential in this course since it's 99% about using commands), unless you have access to both Windows and Linux. They should set up a Qwiklab environment which can be accessed anytime during the course, so we can experiment and practice commands, without the risk of bricking your personal systems.

创建者 LELA M

Jun 1, 2020

It would really help to provide a list of downloads (OS, software, etc) that would help facilitate learning throughout the course and encourage students to have those all ready installed and ready to use, if they choose. It was a bit frustrating when you get to a video where I am ready to dive in and watch all the videos to be told theres a link after that video to something that could have helped me during the video.

创建者 Julio F

Apr 13, 2018

Really good course for those who do not have any experience using GUI in windows as well in powershell. This courses touches also the foundations of linux. So I think it is an essential course that you should definitely take. The only reason I gave 4 stars is because Labs were a bit confusing and sometimes, extremely slow. But don't let that stop you from taking this course. LOTS OF THUMBS UP FOR THIS COURSE!

创建者 Michael V

Dec 16, 2019

Week 1 Linux: List Directories pop quiz at the end is configured incorrectly. I'm not sure if it is my browser. But the question is: In Bash, if you need a little help with how a command like ls works, which of the commands can you use to get more information? Check all that apply.

Obviously the correct answer if ls --help

But it prompts that manual help and help ls are also correct when they are not.

创建者 Drew H

Mar 26, 2020

Originally I thought the layout was a little clunky, but when I wanted to go back and review something that I was struggling with it I was incredibly appreciative of the layout. My only real problem with the course is that it was so basic for intermediate users. I'm not sure I learned anything on the Windows end of things, however I did learn a great deal for Linux and it helped me tremendously.

创建者 Ronald P

May 13, 2019

as someone who is just moving from centos (RHEL) linux to Ubuntu (Debian) linux this course was something i needed. however there should have been some things on mac. lots of graphic and cad companies mainly use macs not windows or linux. audio processing is also best done with macs. walking in or getting a support line call and not knowing the system can lead to many more issues.