Chevron Left
返回到 The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work 的评价和反馈

4.6
2,745 个评分

课程概述

The aim of this course is to give you a practical guide to managing people at work. It does not matter whether you are a first time manager in a shop or a middle manager in an office environment; the same skills apply to every work place. In the course you will engage with some HR theories and then see how they translate into every day working life. At the end of the course we hope you will be better equipped to choose a suitable employee, to motivate and appraise your team, to manage conflict in the work place and to lead and make decision on a day to day basis....

热门审阅

PP

Aug 15, 2020

Excellent! The contents are great for any manager that want to make a significant job within any organization. Clear and key concepts for everyday activities. I enjoyed every single lesson. Thank you!

JG

Apr 16, 2022

I enjoyed this course. I learned a lot from it. Although I am familiar with some of the topics, it expanded my knowledge further, and would definitely help me become a more effective manager at work.

筛选依据:

776 - The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work 的 800 个评论(共 839 个)

创建者 Aleksandar M

May 23, 2020

.

创建者 Amanda P

Jul 1, 2017

T

创建者 Bruce S

Dec 1, 2020

Course material was interesting but quality was lacking at times. It's very helpful that transcripts are provided for video presentations but this is undermined when little effort has been put into proof reading these for accuracy. Similarly, links to reading material are very helpful but not if the link takes you to a resource that sits (apparently) behind a paywall. Understanding is checked frequently with plenty of multiple choice questions but often the formatting of these questions and answers is such that they do more to test a student's grasp of English and common sense rather than a deeper understanding of the concepts presented. Overall I found it an interesting primer on concepts I had not put much thought into though I freely admit that as a line manager I should give them more consideration. The course didn't give me any great "aha" moments but I don't resent the time put into the course and hopefully it will lend itself to enhancing my competency as a manager.

创建者 Amol D

Feb 3, 2022

The course talks about various aspects of a manager's job such as hiring, pay, appraisal and conflict management. But it doesn't teach you how to do it. I think I was looking for more example based course where you would show different situations and recommend how to deal with them. Instead the course is more about just putting down what a manager's job is. For example it says line managers should resolve conflicts but doesn't give an example of any conflict situation and how line manager should approach it. I wouldn't say I learned a lot through this course, probably should have left it after first couple of modules

创建者 Olga S

Jul 5, 2020

There is a lot of useful information. However, some ways of evaluation are not that appropriate. I don't get the feeling that I was really tested and can't be sure that I've got all the necessary information as in the test I was asked who said that, or who was the founder of a theory. The course is aimed at being relevant at practice and this doesn't give the feeling of getting useful information for practice as you are asked about certain theories and names. There is also a lot of not interesting and to my mind not useful reading which could be presented in a more interactive way.

创建者 Bogdan S

Apr 15, 2020

The course provides you with very basic knowledge on people management/HRM within the organisation perspective. Topics could be covered deeper and wider and the course materials could be more relevant and updated (we have some articles and textbooks dated 2003).

Could be useful for those who has little or no experience in people and organisational management, otherwise I would recommend to find a more extensive and comprehensive course.

创建者 Thomas L

Jan 19, 2021

The course material is very interesting, but the most value I found in it is the collection of ppt, and scholar articles given as resources. The videos usually are only a quick resume of what is explained in details in the longer articles. The questions are sometimes poorly formulated and contain spelling mistakes.

STILL the overall value of the course make it worth it in my opinion would I gave 3.5 if I could.

创建者 Allie L

May 5, 2020

The course was good for a basic understanding of management and will help frame my approach to management in the future. Unfortunately, a lot of the literature felt dated. For example, it referenced a 1970's paper stating women and men place different values on pay at work. I question the relevance of this 50 years later... In fact, I don't think any of the literature was written in this century.

创建者 Yifen J

Jun 12, 2019

I think this was a good overview of managing people at work, and thought provoking in the most basic of sense- it draws awareness to the multiple facets of managing people that one may or may not have had to think about in their own daily life. I thought the reading was a bit deep and unnecessary to pass the course but it was a good supplement for those who want to delve deeper on their own time.

创建者 Stuart N

Apr 22, 2020

Most of the material presented was pretty much common sense, but still a good reinforcement. The quality of the course materials was pretty low though; there were lots of typos, bad grammar, bad speaking habits on the videos, and broken links for the required reading. I suggest that the program administrators fix these ASAP to reinforce the learning objectives of the course.

创建者 Nicholas R

Jan 27, 2019

Although this is not a bad cpourse, I think there are others out there that are better, and more worthy of your spare time. I have given a more detailed review of this course plus a few others offered by coursera on by blog, as linked below:

https://rubicksjourneys.wordpress.com/2019/01/27/review-2-coursera-org-online-management-and-energy-courses/

创建者 Chris B

Sep 10, 2021

The course is OK but it is very theoretical at times and when you work as a manager within an organization already, there is little new enlightening things to be learned here. I am really missing the practical application of most of the topics discussed in the course. Maybe those are part of the more in-depth follow on courses …

创建者 Narmada N

May 28, 2020

The course has given me a brief understanding of how to manage people at workplace and made me realise the various issues pertaining to the workplace. It's good to know these facts beforehand itself as it will help us do better at our workplace.

创建者 Dean A

Dec 5, 2019

Mostly interesting but some of the readings were very long, waffly and tedious. Week 4 was quite boring. It didn't really say anything useful. Just a framework and vocabulary for thinking about employee evaluation and development.

创建者 Sathyajith M 1

May 23, 2020

For a person approaching this from a political science perspective, this course did provides some interesting insights into how management theory works, though there were shortcoming in the vagueness of Managing Conflict at Work.

创建者 Sejal

May 26, 2020

The concepts are good but the presentation is average. I personally enjoyed only the leadership, decision theory and performance management sections. The questionnaires for other sections are very poorly crafted.

创建者 Julie M

Oct 23, 2018

I was hoping this would be something that I could apply immediately but for me it was a bit more theoretical and not practical. I found it interesting but not something I can apply immediately at work.

创建者 Anand H

Jan 22, 2018

There were links that were recommended reading material, especially ones that pointed to a CIPD site. None of them opened. and despite raising it in forum, there was no response from instructors.

创建者 Kyle W

Apr 1, 2020

A number of grammatical errors and contradictions in source materials. Additionally a number of source materials are no longer available. Overall however, it is a good overview course.

创建者 Matt D

Oct 4, 2021

Some assessment questions and answers (particularly in week 6 - conflict) were grammatically nonsensical which made understanding the options quite difficult.

创建者 Teresita C

Nov 27, 2020

It would have been helpful if all the lecturers had visual aids. I would prefer to see the visual aids rather than watch a lecturer deliver their lectures.

创建者 Dunja V

Mar 7, 2017

The Course was fine. I would have rated it better if there were more practical examples, advice and real-life situations rather than so much theory.

创建者 José E A B

Jan 24, 2021

The Lesseons was great, but it wasn’t accurate and some very slow, non-aggregating cases and some week 5 links were out of date

创建者 Alex A

Aug 24, 2020

Useful content but a very boring teaching style... Needs a better rhythm and more dynamic exercises to practice what you learn.