Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences 的评价和反馈

4.6
842 个评分

课程概述

What is the origin of our universe? What are dark matter and dark energy? This is the first part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Physical Sciences. Scientific research across the physical sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the physical sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. We’ll consider questions about the origin and evolution of our universe, the nature of dark energy and dark matter and the role of anthropic reasoning in the explanation of our universe. Learning Objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the natural sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Reading To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

热门审阅

NJ

Jun 1, 2021

The course was really fun and enjoyable. The course offered a lot of information in a very simple way. All the instructors were very fluent with their explanation and I thoroughly enjoyed this course!

RR

Jan 28, 2017

Un curso muy completo y fácil de digerir sobre la cosmología y el principio antrópico, muy recomendable para la comprensión que se tiene sobre el universo actualmente y la razón de nuestra existencia.

筛选依据:

151 - Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences 的 175 个评论(共 185 个)

创建者 Devashri K

Jun 20, 2022

I will surely suggest this course to any anyone who's at the beginner level in Cosmology. It gave a simple and short overview of the entire modern cosmology and gave an open minded explanation regarding even the most critiqued ideas and theories. However, it would have been better if the course would have been bit more detailed. The speakers of the course are precise with the description of concepts. Enjoyed learning a lot!

创建者 Naoemi M E D W

Aug 20, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting. It taught me about new Philosophical questions and ideas that I have yet to encounter in my undergraduate Philosophy courses. Although, the scient part of the discussion was difficult to understand especially since I did not have a good grasp of the concepts discussed beforehand. Although, it can be understood after a few days of review and studying.

创建者 Marco P

Aug 10, 2021

The only reason that I have given four stars to the course and not five is that I was expecting to receive instructors' feedback or comments on my submissions after each week, but this did not happen. I am looking forward to getting that feedback for my essay in addition to peers' reviews. I have learnt much by attending this MOOC. Thanks a lot!

创建者 Mohamed A

Feb 14, 2020

It's a great introductory course I recommend for everyone who interests in the philosophy of science and its aspects. One of the features, unlike many courses, is that it provides more supplementary related material in each session.

Thanks to all the staff with their beautiful souls.

创建者 Polina M

May 21, 2020

A very interesting and useful introduction, I wish the video lectures where longer, but there's a whole lot of additional reading material after each lecture, so you can go further with learning every theme discussed by lectors!

创建者 Andre A

Nov 23, 2019

I learned a lot about cosmology and it made me think about many aspects of Nature and existence. I was, though, expecting to learn more about philosophy of science than to cosmology. It was nice anyway. Thank you very much.

创建者 Yoram T

May 24, 2021

I liked the start very much. The later physics was not clear enough for me.

Anyway, very interesting material which make you think (which is always a good thing).

创建者 Alejandro N R

Mar 22, 2020

This course was very interesting, many parts of it connected pretty well with my prior knowledge but game me the opportunity to clarify some doubts.

创建者 Leo T

Mar 11, 2022

T​his is a good course to dig deeper into how science is done and how we should question its validity and the correctness of scientific theories.

创建者 Smruti M

Sep 10, 2017

An enlightening course that helps capture a brief history of the scientific method and aims to give some purpose to scientific pursuits.

创建者 Mengyu T

Apr 18, 2017

A bit short. The discussions on cosmology is difficult to understand for someone like me who does not learn anything about yet.

创建者 Deleted A

Apr 30, 2017

It was a really good course. Something very different for me. I just wish it was a litter longer than 4 weeks.

创建者 Steve R

Sep 23, 2017

Great class. Some of the cosmology lectures were a bit hard to understand, but very interesting overall.

创建者 Joana C N T R

Oct 10, 2019

was expecting a more generalistic (not so focused on cosmology) course on episthemology

创建者 Simran S

Aug 5, 2020

its very good but the languages and the words they use are slightly hard and complex

创建者 Gabriel C

May 22, 2017

This course very much helpful to those who are new philosophy of science.

创建者 Samuel F F

Jan 21, 2017

Esperava explicações mais simples dos fenômenos, muitas vezes me perdia

创建者 Alex R

Mar 26, 2022

good, wish they'd go deeper into the evidence and theory

创建者 Simone P

Jun 6, 2017

Astonishing insights. Very well taught.

创建者 Aiza R A

Oct 15, 2020

Mind blowing and informative

创建者 Mohamedali K

Apr 20, 2022

Great course on Cosmology!

创建者 D S

Apr 15, 2020

Really enjoyed it!

创建者 Roy H

May 21, 2022

kind of confusing

创建者 Anuj K

Jul 6, 2020

very informative

创建者 Dr.FAKRUDDIN B S

May 4, 2020

Very Good