Chevron Left
返回到 Physics 101 - Forces and Kinematics

学生对 莱斯大学 提供的 Physics 101 - Forces and Kinematics 的评价和反馈

4.5
32 个评分
12 条评论

课程概述

This course serves as an introduction to the physics of force and motion. Upon completion, learners will have an understanding of how mathematical laws and conservation principles describe the motions and interactions of objects all around us. They will gain experience in solving physics problems with tools such as graphical analysis, algebra, vector analysis, and calculus. The course follows the typical progression of topics of a first-semester university physics course: Kinematics, Newton’s Laws, Energy, and Momentum. Each of five modules contains reading links to a free textbook, complete video lectures, conceptual quizzes, and a set of homework problems. Once the modules are completed, the course ends with an exam. With 100 brief lectures and over 100 problems, this comprehensive course is similar in detail and rigor to those taught on-campus. It will thoroughly prepare learners for their upcoming introductory physics courses, or more advanced courses in physics....

热门审阅

TK
Sep 26, 2021

Excellent course! very well explained, and the homework and final exam are at a good level.

SY
Oct 27, 2021

A very nice introduction to forces and kinematics with many interesting questions!!!

筛选依据:

1 - Physics 101 - Forces and Kinematics 的 12 个评论(共 12 个)

创建者 Jack

Dec 23, 2020

Dr. Hafner is a fantastic teacher, he illustrates concepts with concrete examples and provides demonstrations and historical tidbits that reinforce them instead of leaving you only with a mathematical treatment. He does this in an entertaining and funny way too, but don't be fooled, the treatment is fully rigorous and is similar to what you'd find in a freshman calculus-based physics course at a respectable university. For this reason, you should come already knowing things like trigonometry and rudimentary calculus (basic derivatives/integrals). The course loosely follows a free text book online which offers readings and additional exercises, it's optional, but if you are seeing physics for the first time you might need this resource.

The production quality is very high, and you are treated to silly demonstrations each time you complete a problem set. A fantastic specialization, much better than the competition from other top schools (I've used them too), you come away with a stronger conceptual understanding and the rigour to back it up. You'll only wish your future physics courses were taught this well.

创建者 Gabriel G

Feb 2, 2021

Course was excellent, but a few of the questions in the problem sets had a wrong answer coded into the parser, making it very frustrating to try different options until finding the one that worked, even though it was wrong. I made sure to point out those mistakes using the feedback option in the questionnaires, so they can be fixed in the future. Also, the parser when working with symbolic answers was wrong in several answers, working for example with "mg" instead of "m*g", which should not happen, since "mg" is nothing but a constant. I hope these are fixed for future courses. But all in all, it was very satisfying.

创建者 Sylvain M

Feb 3, 2021

A great course. As the professor says, real learning happens when one is confronted with challenging problems, and this course provides many interesting ones. I learned a great deal, not only in physics but in problem solving in general. Looking forward to the next course ! And I hope the complete series (mechanics + electromagnetism + waves and optics) will make it to coursera this year.

创建者 Timothy H

Jan 17, 2021

I found this to be a really interesting and well delivered course. A real step up in complexity as you head into the exams, so be careful on that. But we're here to stretch ourselves, not just repeat what was said in the lessons.

A nice piece of light heartedness with the stupid physics tricks at the end of each week. Gives us something to look forward to!

Looking forward to doing the other courses on this specialisation.

创建者 Nguyen D L

May 16, 2021

Thank you Professor Hafner,

You made Mechanics clear and fun to learn. I am taking this class again after 30 years out of school to help tutor my son in High School. I am especially impressed with how you make time dilation/relativity so accessible.

Looking forward to more Physics classes,

Best,

Nguyen Le

创建者 Reshmi T

Jan 12, 2021

The course was pretty fun! All the quizzes were pretty hard and I didn't manage to get all the answers (Infinite no of tries with no waiting time-i will be trying again), but all the videos were pretty fun and interesting to watch. Not the usual dull lectures :)

Thanks, Prof.Jason!

创建者 Tal K

Sep 27, 2021

Excellent course! very well explained, and the homework and final exam are at a good level.

创建者 Ogweno E

Sep 11, 2021

A very informative and challenging course!

创建者 SHASHANK P

Apr 28, 2021

it was a fantastic course

创建者 CARLOS I A J

Jul 27, 2021

Excellent course!

创建者 Estefano Y

Oct 27, 2021

A very nice introduction to forces and kinematics with many interesting questions!!!

创建者 Panatchai B

Dec 1, 2021

Very great course on Physics 101, Funny and enjoyable