Chevron Left
返回到 计算原理(第 1 部分)

学生对 莱斯大学 提供的 计算原理(第 1 部分) 的评价和反馈

4.8
455 个评分
74 个审阅

课程概述

This two-part course builds upon the programming skills that you learned in our Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python course. We will augment those skills with both important programming practices and critical mathematical problem solving skills. These skills underlie larger scale computational problem solving and programming. The main focus of the class will be programming weekly mini-projects in Python that build upon the mathematical and programming principles that are taught in the class. To keep the class fun and engaging, many of the projects will involve working with strategy-based games. In part 1 of this course, the programming aspect of the class will focus on coding standards and testing. The mathematical portion of the class will focus on probability, combinatorics, and counting with an eye towards practical applications of these concepts in Computer Science. Recommended Background - Students should be comfortable writing small (100+ line) programs in Python using constructs such as lists, dictionaries and classes and also have a high-school math background that includes algebra and pre-calculus....

热门审阅

SN

May 07, 2019

This course is very good for beginners and intermediate coders. Gives important basics about computer science from 3 very good professors.

JH

May 16, 2018

very wellmade assignments! that goes a long way!\n\nplotting seemed a bit superflous and not much learned.\n\nThank you professors!

筛选依据:

1 - 计算原理(第 1 部分) 的 25 个评论(共 70 个)

创建者 Aynur Z

Dec 28, 2017

Excellent course. I tried several similar courses on Edx and Coursera platforms and found this as the most efficient. The lectures are clearly stated and always accompanied by reading material, which makes it easy to repeat the material.

Practical tasks are very interesting and help to develop practical skills.

It is a wonderful opportunity to learn Python and fundamentals of computing. I highly recommend this course to everyone interested in this subject.

创建者 Peyman P

Dec 18, 2017

You may have felt pretty good about your coding skills after finishing IIPP, the pre-requisite to this course. Get ready for a big dose of humility in this course. You will do a whole lot more thinking to produce fewer lines of code. You will come out of this course a more thoughtful programmer and will be writing code that is better-structured and more efficient than what you were used to. The path to this end is not an easy one. Bring along plenty of patience and be ready to let your mind explore.

The instructors make a distinction between computer scientists and coders. If you are planning to pursue a formal education or career in computer science , you will find this course indispensable. If you are a hobbyist-coder, there will be times when you will question why you are continuing with this course. Hang in there. The intellectual reward alone will make it worthwhile.

创建者 Jeremy L

Feb 07, 2018

I'll start by saying that PoC Part 1 is a good course. I took it after completing IIPP Parts 1 and 2. If you are coming from IIPP, you'll find the organization of PoC familiar: there are weekly lectures, a few practice problems, a quiz, and a mini-project. I found this course far more difficult than either of IIPP offerings. In part this is unavoidable since the concepts are more complex and the problems students are asked to solve are correspondingly more challenging. The course introduces various mathematical/statistical concepts that are useful in programming. I had to spend time elsewhere online reviewing these concepts. If you are not familiar with the concepts, I suspect you'll have to do the same as the professors spend little time explaining them. As for the coding: if you took IIPP, you'll know that the professors provided a step-by-step guide for the mini-projects. For the most part, these guides have been jettisoned in PoC. Unless you have programming experience beyond IIPP, you'll likely have a hard time writing the required programs. The only programming experience I had was IIPP, and I found the programming problems in PoC difficult. But at the same time I am a much better programmer now because I was forced to learn lots of stuff on my own in order to get my mini-projects right (I spent lots of time on coding forums and reading through the official Python documentation). If you take PoC after IIPP, you'll also find that the quizzes (now called homework) may well take a considerable amount of time to complete when compared to IIPP. One annoying thing on these quizzes is the "test case" question at the end: the professors ask students to find test cases to check for bugs in various programs. This is doubtless an important skill, but they spent almost no time discussing methods for developing test cases, and if you get the question wrong on the quiz, you'll never know what the correct answer is and hence you don't really learn much from your mistake. Overall, I learned a lot and enjoyed the projects. As I say, PoC is more challenging than IIPP. I enjoyed the class enough that I've just enrolled in PoC Part 2.

创建者 Abirvab D

Dec 27, 2018

Definitely one of the best courses I have taken introducing Computer Science fundamentals while using Python as the language of choice. I highly recommend to anyone looking to learn CS concepts while picking up a very popular higher level language.

创建者 Rudy H

Feb 14, 2019

Great course, gets very tough but worth it.

创建者 Maksim U

Feb 22, 2019

I have never had any programing experience before taking this specialization from Rice. I love it! At times I have troubles doing things from the first time, but I never get stuck forever and still learn a lot. It is a bit on the difficult side for me(with zero knowledge before the previous courses), but I enjoy it.

创建者 Frank V

Feb 28, 2019

Very good course, with challenging projects. These projects help you also to improve your Python skills.

创建者 Jesús A P T

Mar 06, 2019

Excelente curso

创建者 Milos P

Aug 05, 2018

Overall, another great course in the sequence!

创建者 James B

Aug 07, 2018

Challenging, rewarding, well-designed.

创建者 AN-HUNG ( T

Sep 10, 2018

Amazing course. Spend lots of time thinking how to code in Python Lol

创建者 Rita I G

Sep 29, 2018

Funny, difficult and well structured, at the same time.

创建者 ankush k

May 20, 2018

Extremely well structured and highly recommended as a beginner course for computer science!

创建者 Jason M

Apr 06, 2016

Amazing. Way better than my community college CS courses.

创建者 Ugo N

Oct 24, 2017

Very challenging and interesting so far. I'm only in the second week!

创建者 Ivana L

Sep 29, 2017

Very well structured course. The concepts are explained in detail, the videos are of great quality. The assignmenets give good mix of challenge together with not being overly difficult and discouraging. One of the best courses I've ever had.

创建者 Ian B

Jun 12, 2017

Yay, no more peer grading! This course felt easier than intro2. Less fiddling with your programs and more about concepts.

创建者 Sergey V

Jun 12, 2017

Nice and challenging!

创建者 Hanqi Z

Jul 18, 2017

Another fascinating course by Rice.

创建者 Tsz W K

Jun 28, 2017

Really great!

创建者 Ashiti K

Sep 09, 2017

This specialization is helping me improve a lot.

创建者 pierre j

Nov 12, 2016

Great as usual.

创建者 DAVID P P

Apr 30, 2017

Really great course, understanding deeper some principles of computing. Great staff too.

创建者 Stephen J W

Apr 04, 2018

Yet another brilliant course in a brilliant specialization. On to part 2!

创建者 Atreyee D

Dec 21, 2017

Awesome assignments!