Chevron Left
返回到 Functional Program Design in Scala

学生对 洛桑联邦理工学院 提供的 Functional Program Design in Scala 的评价和反馈

4.5
3,028 个评分
519 条评论

课程概述

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger Scala applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Finally, you will learn how to leverage the ability of the compiler to infer values from types. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity with using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

热门审阅

RP
Sep 14, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES
Mar 17, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

筛选依据:

76 - Functional Program Design in Scala 的 100 个评论(共 502 个)

创建者 Narek G

Jul 31, 2016

This was just a great continuation of a great beginning after the previous course.

I hope that in the future Martin Odersky will publish more courses.

Thank you !

创建者 haokai l

Mar 6, 2017

Great experience with the assignments. Took some time to get understand all the course materials. Highly recommended. Still can learn a lot after reading fpins

创建者 Tommy S

Dec 28, 2016

I very much enjoyed the course. It was hard enough to challenge me to learn new stuff, yet not too demanding so that I could complete within the alotted time

创建者 Siddhartha B

Sep 17, 2020

Awesome course. All assignments except the last one are super difficult.

Maybe the assignments could be made a little simpler by providing some more hints.

创建者 Anuj S

Jun 15, 2020

The course is really detailed with complex practical issues to be solved. I like the materials and got to know many new things on scala with this course.

创建者 Juan P

Nov 13, 2020

Is a nice course to understand some corner stones of most powerful Scala and its environmental features like implicits and testing with properties

创建者 William H

Jul 26, 2017

Very little spoon feeding in the assignments might place you outside your comfort zone --- but what a blast. Like the 1st course - excellent.

创建者 Lance F

Jun 12, 2017

This is an absolutely outstanding course - far better than I would have believed possible. Highly recommended for anyone interested in Scala.

创建者 Deleted A

Sep 2, 2016

Advantages of Functional programming clearly evident after attending this course and is much easier to follow compared to reading Books on FP

创建者 Andrzej

Jun 9, 2017

The course is very well prepared and easy to digest, while in the same time, assignments are challenging and allow to check acquired skills.

创建者 Marcin Z

Dec 24, 2017

The programing assignment are challenging. However hard they are, it's important to keep on going. I can guarantee you it will be worth it.

创建者 Bruce W

Oct 11, 2017

Great course, quite challenging. I hope to practice the skills and make progress easier in the remaining courses in the specialisation!

创建者 Guixin Z

Jan 11, 2017

nice content and challenging assignment. help me understand and start using some popular tools and libraries in Scala eco-system.

创建者 Andrzej J

Jul 4, 2016

Programming with passion.

Scala needs people who show the beauty of using construction in practice, production code.

Many thanks.

创建者 Marcus V M d S

May 11, 2018

Excellent exposition of many new, interesting ideas. Definitely opens your mind and enables you to become a better programmer.

创建者 Vivek G

Aug 8, 2016

Perfectly organized lectures and challenging exercises as before (With Principles course). Keep up the good work team. Thanks.

创建者 Karthik B

Dec 30, 2016

Very nice course. Had a lot of material to learn and understand. Helped a lot in understanding reactive programming in Scala.

创建者 Leo C

Jan 10, 2018

Differently challenging from first course. This course challenges from learning to utilize tools than from a paradigm shift.

创建者 Mykola S

Jun 19, 2017

Overall, the course is great. More advanced concepts are covered compared to the first course in the specialization. Thanks!

创建者 Krishna A

Jun 12, 2017

This course continues where Part 1 left off and covers some of the advanced concepts of FP - especially the dreaded Monads.

创建者 Mike D

Oct 16, 2016

Great concepts are introduced in the course. It is very educational to get through. I like the Signal Var portion the best.

创建者 Grant N

Oct 19, 2016

Great course. The lecture about actors that were mentioned in the beginning of week 4 would have been a nice addition.

创建者 Stephen E R

Jul 13, 2016

Challenging, well-presented topics! The course has opened the door to many avenues of study well past the course itself

创建者 Onur U

Feb 28, 2017

Functional Reactive Programming (named Signal) is like to able to make every event driven. Thanks for opening my mind

创建者 Michael P

Nov 6, 2016

Great course. Nice and to the point. I wish there were a course dedicated to Scala web stack (ScalaJs,React,etc. ...)