Chevron Left
返回到 Applied Machine Learning in Python

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Applied Machine Learning in Python 的评价和反馈

4.6
7,522 个评分
1,372 条评论

课程概述

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

热门审阅

AS
Nov 26, 2020

great experience and learning lots of technique to apply on real world data, and get important and insightful information from raw data. motivated to proceed further in this domain and course as well.

FL
Oct 13, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

筛选依据:

101 - Applied Machine Learning in Python 的 125 个评论(共 1,357 个)

创建者 Tsz W K

Jun 9, 2017

I completed the Machine Learning Specialization Certificate before taking this course. This course is an excellent applied course that quickly gets into the key aspects of using sklearn. This course is ideal for both new learners and experienced learners who just want to learn more/revise about machine learning. For the final assignment, it requires substantial data cleaning techniques covered in Course 1 in this specialisation. Overall, I feel very comfortable with using Python for any reasonable size of machine learning problems after taking this course.

创建者 Guenael S

Jan 19, 2018

The class provides a perfect introduction to the scikit-learn Python module. The videos are engaging and insightful. The quizzes are challenging while not requiring too much time writing out solutions (it does take time finding some of the more subtle answers, by reviewing details in the videos). The executable modules are perfect to bootstrap machine learning projects. Homework assignments can get complicated, and you should be familiar with advanced data structure manipulation in pandas and numpy to make progress. Assignment grading is very well done.

创建者 César R P

Aug 11, 2020

Great course on the basics of machine learning. I'd say this course is a great dive into sklearn, which is actually great for many purposes. It barely covers Neural networks, which are the hot topic right now, but it gives you a lot of tools that will suffice in the vast majority of cases, and teaches fundamentals that are also applied to deep learning if one decides to go forward and learn other libraries like tensorflow. All in all, a great addition to anyone's toolbelt, be it engineers, scientists or people trying to jump to a data science career.

创建者 Anad K

Mar 28, 2018

Excellent course for Machine Leaning. Discusses wide range of Supervised machine learning and gives a very brief introduction on Clustering algorithms(Unsupervised). Users can immediately put to use the knowledge gained during the course.

Some more briefing about feature transformation and other such elements can be included in the course material to make it better. Also unsupervised machine learning could have been included with grater depth. Overall this course is highly recommended to aspirants interested in ML with some python knowledge.

创建者 Matt C

Feb 15, 2018

The course was very well prepared and the instructor presented the material clearly and informatively. I've seen some courses where you spend more time trying to understand and keep up with the instructor. In this instance, this was not the case and you could spend more time understanding the material. The instructor spoke slowly and clearly.

I do have to say I purchased the corresponding book as recommended but I didn't feel it was necessary. Good book, I just think the material in the course was presented well enough on its own.

创建者 Abhi B

Oct 3, 2020

The course provides a good overview of ML techniques and potential gotchas, and then goes into a real life example which helps round up the theoretical overview with application to real world data and their challenges. This provides a great introduction to ML which positions you to delve into it in much more detail and help in your journey as a Data Science practitioner. Must commend University of Michigan on coming up with the fine balance of theory and practice, which is essential in this rapidly changing space.

创建者 Ankur C

Nov 13, 2019

Great course for Machine Learning Algos. This series of lectures also helped me in understanding two beginners books for ML -

1. Introduction to Machine Learning

2. Hands on to Machine Learning.

Professor taught in a very informative and easy to understand way. Really thankful to the professor. Each and every algo is well explained with strengths, weaknesses.

questions in Quiz are very good these were not so easy and not so tough.

I will recommend this course if you want to learn ML using Python.

Thanks a lot, sir.

创建者 jliu120

Jan 22, 2021

It is such an interesting and practical course for machine learning. If you are looking for courses which allow you to apply what have you learned in practical problems, this is a very good option to consider. I liked how this course is structured, it teaches you the theory first, and then ask you to use what you have just learned (of course, not 100% coverage), which definitely provides a valuable learning experience. Highly recommended for someone who is interested in data science in general.

创建者 Zhu L

Oct 23, 2017

The course is very well-designed, with the first three weeks learning basic know-hows of all the tools we need, and the fourth week make full use of every model we've learned.

Even people with no prior CS background can get along well enough.

Getting 100/100 out of the final problem is actually a passing grade, very easy if you use what you've learned so far the right way.

When you're willing to spend more time exploring the models, methods and parameters, the reward will be worth your efforts.

创建者 Refik E

Sep 20, 2017

I thank Dr. Kevyn Collins-Thompson and Coursera team for the excellent course. I have learned valuable skills from the course. Dr. Thompson explained ML concepts very skillfully and made the course fun to follow. Assignments are very well selected and reinforce the class concepts. Over-all the course encourages learner to investigate and apply different ways to do same task. I recommend this course to those who are willing to learn machine learning and can't decide where to start.

创建者 Tony K

Jun 5, 2020

A solid course. The help found in the forums was also way more useful than the first course in this series. While course two was generically useful, this third course was technically useful. A very good introduction into sklearn. The video instructor/professor was also very clear and methodical in presentation. The assistance by the class monitors was leaps and bounds more useful in this course than course one (I almost quit after course one because of it, so glad I didn't!)

创建者 krishna c

Jul 4, 2017

excellent course for following reasons:

1. Excellent i python note books. What ever a student must know is kept in it.

2. every topic is explained simply and well upto what ever we need to know.

3. if you are not in academic field(not planning to do phd on this stuff). Trust me how ever advanced courses you do but after a week or month. these are the points which one need to remember.

4. Course and programming labs are in perfect sync.

Thank you very much for keeping this course

创建者 SHAILESH K

Oct 21, 2019

Great intro course to Machine Learning. Gives you a good overview of the main models and Python needed to code. I liked the fact that it did not get too detailed into the Math foundations of ML. There are other courses for that.

I can apply what I have learnt right away on my job.

Highly recommend.

One Note: this course is over 2 years old and the Staff is pretty slow to respond. But the Forums have enough information to get you to self-solve your problem.

Good luck.

创建者 Kedar J

Sep 25, 2018

Great course filled with a lot of details. The course does a great job in teaching all the important concepts. I felt the feature engineering should have been a dedicated topic. I got a lot of hints from the discussion forum and surprisingly there are even more concepts you have to learn for building a pipeline, treating categorical and numeric features differently. Overall challenging week4 assignment gives you confidence to deal with real world problem.

创建者 Mario H

Oct 26, 2020

I have done several of Coursera Courses and also from Udacity (Deep Learning Nanodegree) and I find the courses from the University of Michigan really good. This one for Machine Learning is really specialized for the Application of Machine Learning Algorithms. Sometimes a little too superficial, but it is enough for start working with Machine Learning. The Test at the end of the week are a little difficult but you learn alot from them :-)

创建者 Mohammad M T

Jul 25, 2020

I think there were some small problems in the assignments and quizes but all in all those problems made this course assignments even more powerful because it demanded more effort to answer those questions properly.

Totally if you want to get a good sense of machine learning and step into AI , this course will not only give you basics and principals but also you will be able to build and understand different models using python.

good luck!

创建者 Erick S G P

Dec 7, 2020

All the exercises were very challenging and allowed me to apply all the knowledge acquired during the lectures and even more. I loved the fact one has to search for extra information for doing the exercises, because that pushes me forward to learn to search in other sources. Also loved the freedom that there is when solving the final assignment. That is the best expression of a real world challenge and allowed to exploit my creativity.

创建者 Illia K

Dec 18, 2017

This course gave me some tools to use in real life. It's pretty abridged in time because they are trying to cover a very big topic in only 4 weeks. It won't give you a comprehensive set of knowleadges, but a good basis to proceed by yourself. Also some basic knowledges are reqired in computational mathematics, statistics and programming for applying this course. I highly recommend this course as a first step into machine learning.

创建者 Ammar A M

Sep 2, 2018

One of the best ML courses on the platform. I highly recommend it to all data-science enthusiasts. It would be nice to have pandas data-wrangling skills before tackling the final project as it is a must. Totally enjoyed the final project! was a great learning experience seeing my classifier AUC going from 57 all the way to more than 76 and the impact of feature importance and cleaning on the model performance was eye-opener!

创建者 Michael T B

Dec 19, 2018

Great class! I had fun learning many new things in this course. The professor did a very good job at taking a complex subject and making it simple and easy to understand. The code and assignments were straightforward and not overly difficult. The real quizzes/tests in this course were appreciated as this felt more like a "real class" where one can really learn a lot. One of the best online classes that I have taken.

创建者 Parvathy S

May 13, 2018

Very useful and true to the name, it teaches Applied Machine Learning - how and when to carry out the various algorithms on a dataset, how to tweak the parameters and tune the model. Really Really helpful if you're looking to finally get your hands dirty on data after reading all that theory!

Also gives brief but necessary summary to all the different algorithms with intro to deep learning as well. Highly recommended!

创建者 Benjamin S

Oct 26, 2017

I thought this was a very good course in Machine Learning using Python. I took Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course before this one, which I would highly recommend! I enjoyed this course because it taught me about scikit-learn, which I plan to use in my career. I also purchased the recommended textbook "Introduction to Machine Learning with Python" from O'Reilly, which I found to be a very useful reference.

创建者 Fabio C

Jun 22, 2017

The course is well done and both the lectures and the practical assignments have generally a high quality. If you come from a theoretical background, be aware that this is a very "high level" course, meaning that a lot of attention is put on the practical application of the different ML methods (using the sci-kit learn library in python), but very little is said about their mathematical foundations.

创建者 Zhuohan X

Nov 4, 2019

All complicated math acknowledges were cut off and fully focused on applying ML using python. As an energy engineering master student who doesn't have much programming experience, I find this course very useful. PS. I've previously taken the specialization 'Python for Everybody' to get familiar with python. I suggest doing the same if you also have no idea of python just like I did when I started.

创建者 Perry R

Jun 30, 2017

Excellent instruction and challenging assignments! Sophie from the teaching staff was very helpful and responsive to forum posts. Thanks to Kevyn Collins-Thompson for a great survey course in machine learning. The only downside was that the auto grader has limitations which inhibited some exploration (one can not keep plots in the submission is an example), but I'm sure that will get worked out.