Chevron Left
返回到 了解研究方法

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 了解研究方法 的评价和反馈

4.6
4,926 个评分
1,637 条评论

课程概述

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

热门审阅

AG
Jul 26, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

AB
Sep 9, 2019

very good course. The last e-activity was proposal preparation. It will be good if they add something about sampling in reading materials. Very good experience for me.....I will recommend this course

筛选依据:

1551 - 了解研究方法 的 1575 个评论(共 1,617 个)

创建者 Dissanayake M B D D

Aug 8, 2020

great work. loved it.

创建者 Francisco P

May 29, 2018

It is a basic course

创建者 Moetaz s

Aug 22, 2017

Good For Beginners

创建者 CALIMANUT I C

Feb 28, 2019

too basic I'd say

创建者 Meroona G

Oct 21, 2017

Need improvement

创建者 Nicolas-Patience B

Oct 6, 2015

Helpful insight.

创建者 MAHIMA

May 19, 2020

Good initiative

创建者 Vaishnavi.N

Jun 19, 2020

Good learning

创建者 Dr. S M A T

Aug 13, 2020

Good Course.

创建者 Alfredo C M

Sep 23, 2016

esta bien

创建者 Idbahamad H

May 10, 2020

was good

创建者 Varghese J

Nov 8, 2019

Average

创建者 jaime v s

Dec 16, 2019

I found the course useful because it made me think of a project I am working on. How ever, I found it way too short, I completed the four weeks in for days of light work (between 1-2 hours). I found the feedback I received a disappointment, with usually just a line of writing saying "good job", which seems to me that students just fill it up as a requirement. I found the chapters most useful, and I think it was a good call making the tasks around them; that being said, most of the work I reviewed (about this chapters) wasn´t about the chapters or the task at hand. I don´t know how others reviewed but I suspect they didn´t care and put up a passing grade. I would´ve liked more serious evaluations, and more tasks for that matter -maybe two for each week, one for the videos and one for a chapter-. Talking about the videos, I found them interesting but mostly too short and on the surface. I know the price is low because of the limitations present, but I don´t think that's excuse for the lack of content.

创建者 Elsa N G

Sep 7, 2020

I believe the information provided in this course is very poor and misplaced. The articles chosen are difficult to understand and barely make sense with one another, the theory that one needs to understand regarding research methods is poor and it does not link well with each module. The questions asked in the excercises are not well posed, leaving the student s with doubts on what actually has to be answered. Sometimes in the instructions section a different question appears from that of the box where the answer has to be written.

In general I believe it is quite messy. It does help you acquire some basic knowledge, but I believe there are better sources for this, like books or articles that explain everything about research and the methods that can be used.

创建者 Tomasz L

Sep 3, 2019

This course is not exactly a course in the classic sense - there are no lectures, the only videos are a few very short interviews with researchers each week and there is a little reading. The biggest focus of this course is on some kind of collaboration/social learning. I don't feel that that's the way to go with courses, especially if the only feedback that is available is this of students - necessarily not of the best quality (because they are still learning) and sometimes even misleading (because they do not understand the subject yet). I don't think that this type of courses works well, and I must say I was disappointed with this course - I expected to learn much more.

创建者 Claire H

Aug 5, 2020

The information was there, and the insight into researcher opinions and methodology via the interviews was interesting. The videos felt drab and uncharismatic, the presenters seemed unconfident but the interviewees were excellent. I worked hard to produce my work, and to review the work of others, however the feedback I received from peers has been unhelpful, with one person writing 'It was good'. Since the peer review should be at least 50 words, it would be helpful to have a word count, and also the student should not be able to submit until their review reaches 50 words. This would support students like myself to improve. Thank you.

创建者 Isaac G Z M

May 27, 2020

Its a very simply course, i more like for undergrade students. Someone who has already taken a course of methods of research, this course has little few things it can handle. And if this university is more of social research, it would be better if you make a course of qualitative methods. In the end, the final thoughts are: more knowledge of other subjects, particularly qualitative study and how they make it and their methods of research and how they describe the phenomena

创建者 Maksim M

Apr 26, 2020

Simple introduction giving you the basic understanding of the importance of research planning and time management. Does not meet the expectations. The course should be called "One minute interviews with random scientists where we ask them what do they think is important in a scientific research". The authors of the course don't really teach anything about HOW one should plan and manage the project, make a solid literature review, or measure the outcome. Worthless.

创建者 Vithika S

Sep 20, 2020

The only informative part I found was Literature Review. Apart from that, rest was not really helpful. When I signed up, I thought I will get some good insight into research entire process, at least, the method part of it (since the course is named Understanding Research Methods). However, except from one PDF on Research Approach (which was fine), I did not find the talks by experts helpful. The format of experts stating their views didn't really work for me.

创建者 Suzanne T

Jan 23, 2016

This course is nicely organized and has manageable readings & videos. The video quality could be better. It's very very basic information about research. It might be useful to someone who does not know anything about it at all. The title might lead one to expect that methods of research such as qualitative, quantitative, and mixed method would be explored. Rather, this course is a general overview of what research is.

创建者 Dylan W

Jul 6, 2017

The instructional videos were short and generic. The few assigned readings were better. To improve the course I would have asked the interviewed researchers to explain the details of their studies and why they had to make certain changes to their research design when they came to commonly encountered impediments. Not worth US $50; US $20 would have been a fair price for a course of this length and time commitment.

创建者 Katja T

Jun 2, 2020

The course gives some good literature on the topic. The videos are interviews and personal opinions only. A lot of the content could have been delivered with videos instead of readings - especially because the key learning are in the readings and not the interviews (at least for me). The peer review was, unfortunately, not really helping. I would recommend the literature provided but not the course itself.

创建者 Yash Y A

Oct 16, 2020

The course is very simplified version of Research Methodology. In my opinion it would have been better if the course contained actual lectures rather than mere interviews and talks. Apart from that the assignments are lack-luster and provides no incentives to someone who actually put in time and effort into reading material. Peer community for the most part seems average at best.

创建者 Enrico P

Apr 26, 2020

Pretty shallow content, not really going in depth on anything. Parts of videos are repeated multiple times for no apparent reason. Errors in the wording of weekly tasks has existed seemingly for years and no effort has been put in solving the issues. I have paid for a certificate and earned it, and I do not think I am going to even download it.

创建者 Juan C V G

Jun 28, 2019

Podria tener un enfoque mas amplio. Ya que solo se centra en investigacion en el are social. No abarca investigacion cientifica o de otrras ramas del cobnocimiento. Pudieron convocar expertos en estas areas para asie rniquecer en gran medida el proceso de aprendizaje, y hacer de este un curso mas global.