Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的评价和反馈

4.8
863 个评分
282 个审阅

课程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

筛选依据:

1 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 25 个评论(共 272 个)

创建者 evens d

Apr 28, 2019

I find the course to be valuable. Video lectures were engaging and very good quality. Practice examples and quizzes were pointed and relevant. The consequence of all this is that I learned a great deal about global warming and gained valuable insights about what we can, and should do to curb some of it's negative impacts. Otherwise, the consequences of inaction is far too great.

创建者 Liu R

May 21, 2019

I've not used MOOC for a long time as well as English, so I took this course as my comeback bufferin. It fulfilled my purpose as the the English taught here is clear and without stress (you can speed up the video whenever you want), to add to that it taught me a lot of knowledge about climate change and scientific findings new to me. The citing skills and reference standards are things I'd always wanted to learn. All in all, it's of great help to me.

创建者 sandipkunwar

May 09, 2019

good

创建者 Sakar C

May 09, 2019

Super

创建者 yuri m p c

May 01, 2019

very useful, for life, for job, for all

创建者 Aness N

Apr 15, 2019

I have learned a lot about climate change and improved my English

创建者 Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent technical information!

创建者 Nguyễn P

Apr 12, 2019

This is a great course, will asked my family member to enroll

创建者 Gaurav M

Mar 29, 2019

not received my certificate

创建者 gowtham

Apr 09, 2019

Well constructed course for beginners.

创建者 Deepak U

Mar 25, 2019

It was good course. Great concepts of emerging science. Reading and Writing Scientific literature was impressive.

创建者 Solongo T

Dec 10, 2018

interesting and very understandable

创建者 ALLENETTE M B C

Dec 11, 2018

knowledgeable and refreshing course. I am learning insights on how to help lessen the global warming.

创建者 jorge a d c

Dec 12, 2018

muy buen curso

创建者 Carlos A V A

Dec 14, 2018

hermoso curso

创建者 S S J E C

Nov 27, 2018

Useful course... Thank you Coursera

创建者 Axi

Dec 19, 2018

I am very grateful to the teachers Alyssa Swanson and Jack Sullivan for this excellent course!

All the material presented in the course is the highest quality, the explanations are clear and understandable, all videos are provided with a review of learning the material, all the tasks are perfectly prepared. In addition, most importantly - the relevance and importance of materials and the positive attitude of teachers! Made cool! Thank you very march.

创建者 Carol L

Jan 10, 2019

I really like how professionals were the instructors and the tematic addressed: the climate change!

创建者 George P

Dec 26, 2018

It is very easy to understand and learn and it is very enjoyable with many quizzes and videos and readings.

创建者 Omar A

Jan 14, 2019

very very useful

创建者 Aayush S

Jan 14, 2019

Thank you for this course.

创建者 JUAN C F F

Jan 16, 2019

excellent

创建者 Sagar S

Jan 23, 2019

This is probably going to help me and my other friends in their future.

创建者 Pavel K

Feb 17, 2019

Good start for those who are entering an university

创建者 Tran N H N

Jan 26, 2019

this is not only useful for non English-speaking country, but this also provide a supportive English-learning environment.